Showing Collections: 1 - 15 of 15
Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 B31
Scope and Contents
Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...
Dates:
1968-1982
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Campbell Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C16
Scope and Contents
Papers of four generations of the Campbell family of Orange Co., Va. including correspondence of William Campbell (1755-1823). His papers pertain to Revolutionary pensions, bounty land claims, the War of 1812, his superintendency of the Virginia State Penitentary, and his estate and includes a diary of a trip to Kentucky in 1798. There are also papers (correspondence and accounts) of his wife, Mrs. Susan Campbell and their children. The collection includes papers of the Graves family and...
Dates:
1726-1920
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
College Papers Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 14
Scope and Contents
This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.
Dates:
circa 1880s-1990s
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the Dean of the College Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 104
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1979.031: This accession contains office files from 1920-1942. Acc. 1983.085: This accession contains office files from the 1940s and 1950s. These include reports of the Curriculum Committee, correspondence with the President and others, materials from the faculty protest of 1951, letters of faculty appointments and salaries, and selective service classifications of faculty members. Acc. 1998.091: Records of Kremer Jacob Hoke, 1920s-1930s. This accession contains...
Dates:
1920-1968
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the Dean of Women Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 24
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1983.074: Student Activity Notebooks, 1936-1948. This accession contains loose-leaf notebooks with the names of female students and the activities they took part in. It also contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs about women's activities, arranged by year.Acc. 1983.094: Office Records, 1928-1936. This accession includes correspondence and reports. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.The collection also includes memos,...
Dates:
1928-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
School of Education Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 25
Scope and Contents
This collection contains subject files, publications, reports, and other material related to the School of Education at the College of William and Mary. The collection includes correspondence from the Dean's Office, photographs of special events, committee reports, and records of the Historic Triangle Substance Abuse Coalition (HTSAC).
Dates:
circa 1930-2008
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Faculty Women's Caucus Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 36
Scope and Contents
The collection of the Faculty Women's Caucus at the College of William and Mary includes correspondence from 1973-1996 related to women faculty salaries and tenure; maternity leave and childcare; EEO and Affirmative Action; women's athletics, dealing mostly with Title IX, both within the College of William and Mary and the National Collegiate Athletics Association (NCAA); sexual harassment; campus security; the Women's Studies program; and discriminatory findings. Also included are salary...
Dates:
1973-1998; Majority of material found in 1978-1995
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Genealogy Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 G29
Scope and Contents
An artificial collection of genealogical materials; ca. 1880 to 1993; many of which were probably collected by Dr. Earl Gregg Swem in connection with the publication of genealogical information in the "William and Mary Quarterly, 2nd Series". Includes correspondence, clippings, coats-of-arms, charts, and family histories. Most newspaper clippings are from "The Standard" in Richmond, Virginia from the early 1880's.
Dates:
1880-2001
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Guy Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents
Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett. Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates:
1900-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Lee Morton Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents
Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...
Dates:
1756-2006; Majority of material found in 1930-1969
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Garland Pollard Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents
Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...
Dates:
1683-1968; Majority of material found in 1856-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
A. Willis Robertson Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 66 R54
Scope and Contents
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...
Dates:
1921-1971, 1988; Majority of material found in 1946-1966
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Munford Tuck Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T79
Scope and Contents
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman. Tuck's law practice files and his correspondence, 1950-1953, are arranged alphabetically. His congressional file is arranged alphabetically and the legislation files are arranged by session...
Dates:
1918-1968
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robert H. Tucker Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 68 T795
Scope and Contents
Papers; 1923-1957; of Robert H. Tucker, professor of economics at Washington and Lee University, who served on Virginia Commission on County Government and the Virginia Commission on State and Local Government. Includes articles, speeches, lectures, reports and other writings concerning Virginia state and local government, tax reform, education, highways, economics, and Washington and Lee University. Most of the material is undated.
Dates:
1923-1957
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center