Skip to main content

Genealogy Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 G29

Scope and Contents

An artificial collection of genealogical materials; ca. 1880 to 1993; many of which were probably collected by Dr. Earl Gregg Swem in connection with the publication of genealogical information in the "William and Mary Quarterly, 2nd Series". Includes correspondence, clippings, coats-of-arms, charts, and family histories.  Most newspaper clippings are from "The Standard" in Richmond, Virginia from the early 1880's.

Dates

  • 1880-2001

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

7.00 Linear Feet

Arrangement of Materials:

Artificial collection of genealogical material in alphabetical order by surname.

Acquisition Information:

Most material was given to Special Collections, beginning in the 1930's until 2009.  Early acquisitions were often sent to Earl Gregg Swem.  Accession numbers and donor names have been added to each family entry when known.

General

Other Information:

A PDF document of this inventory is available online.

Additional information may be found at http://scrc.swem.wm.edu/findingaids/39_4_G29_Genealogy.pdf

Processing Information:

Processed by Annette Johnson in 1986.
Title
Guide to the Genealogy Collection
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Anne Johnson and Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-08-01
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: