Skip to main content

Robert H. Tucker Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T795

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

Papers; 1923-1957; of Robert H. Tucker, professor of economics at Washington and Lee University, who served on Virginia Commission on County Government and the Virginia Commission on State and Local Government. Includes articles, speeches, lectures, reports and other writings concerning Virginia state and local government, tax reform, education, highways, economics, and Washington and Lee University. Most of the material is undated.

Dates

  • 1923-1957

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Biographical Information:

Robert H. Tucker was a member of the class of 1893 at the College of William and Mary. He was professor of economics and business administration from 1919-1946 and dean of Washington and Lee University. Tucker served as chairman of the Virginia Commission on County Government, 1930-1932; member of Virginia Commission on Sate and Local Government, 1922-1924; chairman of the Industrial Commission of Virginia, 1918-1919; and economic consultant to the Virginia Department of Highways, 1953-1957. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

5.00 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Gift

Physical Description

200.00 (138 folders)

General

Other Information:

A PDF document of this inventory is available online.

Additional information may be found at http://scrc.swem.wm.edu/findingaids/68_T795_Tucker__Robert.pdf

Title
Guide to the Robert H. Tucker Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-06-29
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: