Correspondence
Subject
Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus
Found in 967 Collections and/or Records:
Thomas Pinckney Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 49
Scope and Contents
As Director of Public Relations, Pinckney worked in a two-person office with office assistant Emily Sneed and includes much about campus experience from 1938-1942. The office did not cover sports publicity, which was handled by the Athletics Department. Pinckney and Sneed also oversaw the Wren Building Guides, a group of male students who interpreted and gave tours of the Wren Building. Pinckney’s records include correspondence with Deans Grace Landrum, J. Wilfred Lambert, and James W....
Dates:
1932-1942
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of Planning and Budget Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 106
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1979.078: William and Mary financial records, 1920-1928. This accession includes budget and revenue estimates, probably prepared for the Governor's office. Acc. 1984.068: Budget exhibits, 1948-1985. This accession includes summaries of the college's activities; requests for funds and justifications for the amounts requested; summaries of the requests; revised budgets for maintenance and operations (1961-1963); pages relating to William and Mary and VIMS from and 1972-1974...
Dates:
1948-1990
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Planning and Priorities Committee Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 217
Scope and Contents
This collection contains correspondence and reports of the Planning and Priorities Committee.
Dates:
1980-1985
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Pollard Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 01195
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and memoir; 1862-1897, bulk 1862-1866, of Civil War soldier Sergeant Joseph Lawrence Pollard, Co. I, 26th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Gen. A. P. Hill's division). Letters were written by Pollard to his wife Martha Elizabeth 'Pat' Hutchinson Pollard at 'Rosewood' in the upper part of King and Queen County, Virginia. Letters describe camp life and respond to his wife's news of family and home. Letters were written from Gloucester Point, camp near Richmond, Chaffin's Bluff,...
Dates:
1862-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Garland Pollard Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents
Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...
Dates:
1683-1968; Majority of material found in 1856-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Violet McDougall Pollard Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 74 P76
Scope and Contents
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. The papers primarily focus on Violet McDougall Pollard’s activities in politics and art. They also cover her many civic activities, and correspondence with family and friends. Information on her political activities is found in the files she kept on National Politics, documenting her activities as an official in the Democratic Party; her files...
Dates:
1907-1976; Majority of material found within 1933-1968
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lina Nancy Potter Papers
Collection — Box Small Collections Box 82, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01198
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, photographs, and military papers concerning the World War II service of 2nd Lt. A.N.C. Lina Nancy Potter (1901-1975) of Narragansett, Rhode Island. Potter enlisted in the United States Armed Forces in 1942 and served as a nurse in a military hospital in India from 1943-1945. This collection consists of 23 letters of her outgoing wartime correspondence to family (her Aunt Harriet E. Weaver and Uncle Charles Weaver of Rhode Island) in the United States, her military papers, and...
Dates:
1942-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Powell Family papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 P875
Scope and Contents
Letters and papers of Charles Leven Powell, his wife Selina (Lloyd) Powell and children of Loudoun County, Virginia; Henry, Illinois; Winchester, Virginia; and Alexandria, Virginia.There are also included papers of Charles Leven Powell's father, Cuthbert Powell. Prominent correspondents include Johns Hopkins, Eleanor Agnes Lee, Fitzhugh Lee, George Washington Custis Lee, Mary Anna Randolph (Custis) Lee, Hunter Holmes McGuire and James Monroe.Letters concern Robert Young...
Dates:
1775-1929
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Powell Family Papers, Hepburn Addition
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2007.110
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the correspondence of Leven Powell, James Madison, Charles Leven Powell, Charles Leven Powell, Jr., Selina Powell Hepburn, and others. Recipients include Burr Powell, Cuthbert Powell, Sewell Stavely Hepbron [Hepburn] and others. First 30 years of correspondence is mainly written by or addressed to Leven Powell, detailing his involvement in the Revolutionary War, the Virginia House of Delegates, and the United State Congress, including letters about the Election of...
Dates:
1775-1870
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William P. Poythress Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 P88
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1885-1910, of William P. Poythress. Includes correspondence and accounts of his wholesale and retail apothecary business of W. P. Poythress & Co., Richmond, Va.
Dates:
1885-1910
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Prentis Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00113
Scope and Contents
The papers, 1807-1855, of the Prentis family of Williamsburg, Virginia, and of various members of the Riddick and Bowdoin families of Nansemond County, Va. Includes legal documents and accounts, 1807-1830, concerning the settlement of the estate of Joseph Prentis (1754-1809); will of Susan Bowdoin; correspondence of Joseph Prentis, Jr. and license, issued to Peter Bowdoin Prentis to practice law.
Dates:
1807-1830
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. James Blair Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.01
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1980.128 contains papers of and relating to James Blair, first president of the College of William and Mary. The collection contains two original manuscripts: a funeral bill by Blair dated 1701, and a sermon erroneously attributed to Blair dated 1747. The bulk of the collection consists of copies collected for research purposes, mostly in 1940-1941. Includes biographical material; extracts and copies from official records; copies of correspondence; sermons; notes on paintings of...
Dates:
1695-1747
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. Alvin Duke Chandler Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.12
Scope and Contents
This collection is stored off-site. A minimum of 72 hours advanced notice is required for use. The collection includes material from Alvin Duke Chandler's terms as president of the College William and Mary and later chancellor of the Colleges of William and Mary. The collection documents the administration of William and Mary in the mid-twentieth century and includes the routine hiring and resignation of faculty, student matters, alumni relations,...
Dates:
1951-1960; Majority of material found in 1951-1960
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler Records
Collection
Identifier: 00/02/UA 2.08
Scope and Contents
. The collection has been microfilmed and is accessible via Swem's microfilm collection whenever the library is open. This collection documents the administration of College of William and Mary President J.A.C. Chandler for the years 1919-1934. The collection is available on microfilm in the library microforms collection on the ground floor of Swem Library. See call number LD6051 .W517 1919 C43, reels 1-46. Acc. 2010.609 was pulled from this...
Dates:
1919-1934
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.06
Scope and Contents
Collection includes biographical materials, writings, and correspondence.This is an artificial collection of correspondence, 1848-1898, of and concerning Benjamin Stoddert Ewell while he was serving on the faculty and as president of the College of William and Mary. Prominent correspondents include: Ambrose Burnside, Ulysses S. Grant, Hugh Blair Grigsby, John Johns, Joseph E. Johnston, Robert McCandlish, Matthew Fontaine Maury, George Gordon Meade, Charles Minnigerode, William...
Dates:
1848-1898; Majority of material found in 1866-1886
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. Thomas A. Graves, Jr. Records
Collection
Identifier: 00/02/UA 2.16
Scope and Contents
The collection includes subject files, speeches, and other material from the administration of College of William and Mary President Thomas Ashley Graves with some overlap with his predecessor Davis Y. Paschall and his successor Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.
In addition, there are two unprocessed boxes. Consult a staff member for assistance.
Dates:
1940-1985; Majority of material found in 1971-1985
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. James Madison Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.03
Scope and Contents
This collection, Acc. 1980.121, consists of 1 box of biographical material, photostats and transcripts of correspondence, and discourses, including one on the death of George Washington. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center. See also Bishop James Madison Papers, Photocopies (65 Pst James Madison) which might be part of this accession.
Dates:
1775-1979; Majority of material found in 1776-1811
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. Davis Young Paschall Records
Collection
Identifier: 00/02/UA 2.15
Scope and Contents
This collection is composed of records from the Office of the President during the administration of Davis Young Paschall at the College of William and Mary. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.
Dates:
1942-1974; Majority of material found in 1960-1971
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. John Edwin Pomfret Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.11
Scope and Contents
Due to the fragility of this collection, patrons must use the microfilm copy. The microfilm and microfilm readers can be found on the 1st floor of Swem Library (call number LD6051 .W517 1942 P66, reels 1-28). Acc. 1982.055: Records of College President John E. Pomfret (1942-1951). For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventory available here. The...
Dates:
1942-1951
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. Lyon Gardiner Tyler Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.07
Scope and Contents
Series 1 (Acc. 1980.123): One box containing biographical material; engravings; lectures; addresses; publications; an article about the Gardiner Manor in New York; Tyler's application for the William and Mary presidency; testimonials; a calling card; correspondence, including a letter to Mrs. Alex S. Porter (circa 1917), possibly referring to Bound Volume no. 13.Series 2 (Acc. 1984.019):
For preservation reasons, researchers will have to access all materials in this series on...
Dates:
1888-1935
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Maude M. Presslor Papers, 1913-1972
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.593
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the diaries, correspondence, and biographic material of Maude M. (Mathas) Presslor (1898-1972) of Montezuma, Indiana from 1913-1970. Earlier papers and material relate to Presslor's life as a teenager and young adult during the World War I period. Letters from friends serving in France and a baby book detailing the early years of her three children, Betty Jean (Presslor) Montgomery, Frank Richard Presslor, and David Lowell Presslor, date from this period. Later...
Dates:
1913-1972; Majority of material found in 1943-1972
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Preston Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P91
Scope and Contents
This inventory, chiefly 1786-1815, represents three generations of the Preston family, and likewise can be divided into the following: Items relating to William Preston (ca. 1729-1783), 1755-1782, primarily photostats of appointments to various county offices (coroner, sheriff and surveyor) and to positions in the Virginia militia; but also including original appointments, 1763 and 1776; a surveyor's entry; 1774; and letters, 1773-1782, to Preston concerning land, the Cherokee...
Dates:
1755-1836; Majority of material found in 1786-1815
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robert Preston Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P92
Scope and Contents
Papers of Robert Preston, surveyor of Washington County, Virginia, dated 1780-1864. Includes on site notes of land surveyed, without plats. Mostly unprocessed and the vast majority of items has not been described yet.Includes letters, from relatives in Ireland; financial and legal documents; surveys; plats; and memorandum books. Includes certificate, 22 December 1779, issued by the College of William and Mary appointing Robert Preston surveyor of Washington County,...
Dates:
1770-1864
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Prestwould Farm Records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P94
Scope and Contents
Records, 1929-1946, concerning Prestwould in Mecklenburg County, Virginia. The collection includes correspondence of Dr. John Williamson Price, Jr., of Louisville, Kentucky, the owner of Prestwould with his farm managers; accounts; livestock records; and registration records of Aberdeen-Angus cattle; Percheron horses; saddle horses; and Hampshire hogs. Prestwould is an eighteenth century plantation which was owned by the Skipwith family. It is now owned by the Prestwould...
Dates:
1929-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
HRH Prince Charles Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 90
Scope and Contents
This is an artificial collection of material related to visits to the College of William and Mary by HRH Prince Charles and greetings sent to William and Mary by him. The first item is a volume presented to the university by HRH The Prince of Wales on February 13, 1993. The volume is composed of reproductions of selected portrait engravings of King William III and Queen Mary II from the Royal Library, Windsor Castle. Acc. 1987.80 is a framed copy of the Honorary Fellowship certificate...
Dates:
1981-1993; Majority of material found in 1981-1989
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center