Powell Family Papers, Hepburn Addition
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the correspondence of Leven Powell, James Madison, Charles Leven Powell, Charles Leven Powell, Jr., Selina Powell Hepburn, and others. Recipients include Burr Powell, Cuthbert Powell, Sewell Stavely Hepbron [Hepburn] and others. First 30 years of correspondence is mainly written by or addressed to Leven Powell, detailing his involvement in the Revolutionary War, the Virginia House of Delegates, and the United State Congress, including letters about the Election of 1800. After 1810, letters are primarily correspondence between various members of the Powell family, including some letters about the Civil War. Includes family tree of the Hepburn Family.
Dates
- Creation: 1775-1870
Creator
- Powell, Leven, 1737-1810 (Person)
- Madison, James, Jr., 1751-1836 (Person)
- Mason, Stevens Thomson, 1760-1803 (Person)
- Powell, Charles Leven (1804-1896) (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
Leven Powell was born near Manassas, Prince William Co., Va. in 1737. He moved to Loudoun County in 1763 and served as major in the Revolutionary Army. Appointed lieutenant-colonel of the Sixteenth Regiment in Continental Line in 1777. He served in Virginia House of Delegates and as a delegate to Virginia Convention which ratified the U. S. Constitution in 1788. He was elected as a Federalist to Congress. Died in 1810 in Bedford, Pa.
Extent
0.50 Linear Feet
Arrangement of Materials:
This collection is arranged chronologically.
Processing Information:
Processed by Benjamin Bromley in 2007.
Subject
- Hepburn family (Family)
- Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 (Person)
Genre / Form
Topical
- Title
- Guide to the Powell Family Papers, Hepburn Addition
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository