Skip to main content

Maude M. Presslor Papers, 1913-1972

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.593

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

This collection contains the diaries, correspondence, and biographic material of Maude M. (Mathas) Presslor (1898-1972) of Montezuma, Indiana from 1913-1970. Earlier papers and material relate to Presslor's life as a teenager and young adult during the World War I period. Letters from friends serving in France and a baby book detailing the early years of her three children, Betty Jean (Presslor) Montgomery, Frank Richard Presslor, and David Lowell Presslor, date from this period. Later papers and material from the World War II period include letters from her sons serving in the armed services as well as diary entries and newspaper clippings concerning major events of the conflict, such as the first use of atomic weapons. Post-war papers and material focus more on her family life and the activities of her children and grandchildren. Presslor's diaries from this era include references to and newspaper clippings concerning major events of the Cold War period, such as political assassinations and military engagements in southeast Asia. The collection also includes ephemera, such as bills, brochures, and tickets from Presslor's travels with her husband, John Dee Presslor.

Dates

  • 1913-1972
  • Majority of material found in 1943-1972

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Maude Marie Presslor (1898-1972) was born Maude M. Mathas, and lived with her husband, John Dee Mathas (1898-1972) a fire chief, and three children in Montezuma, Indiana. She was a member of the WSCS, the Women's Society of Christian Service.

Extent

1.40 Linear Feet

Arrangement of Materials:

Organized into three series: Series 1: Diaries; Series 2: Correspondence; and Series 3: Biographic Material.

Physical Characteristics or Technical Requirements:

The fragile nature of this material may limit handling: brittle clippings and notes are inserted between diary pages and fastened with rusting clips and needles.

Acquisition Information:

Purchase.
Title
Guide to the Maude M. Presslor Papers
Status
Completed
Author
SCRC staff
Date
2009-12-15
Language of description
English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: