Office of the President. Thomas A. Graves, Jr. Records
Scope and Contents
The collection includes subject files, speeches, and other material from the administration of College of William and Mary President Thomas Ashley Graves with some overlap with his predecessor Davis Y. Paschall and his successor Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.
In addition, there are two unprocessed boxes. Consult a staff member for assistance.
- Creation: 1940-1985
- Creation: Majority of material found in 1971-1985
- Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr., 1924- (Person)
- Chandler, Alvin Duke, 1902-1987 (Person)
- Office of the President (Organization)
- Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 (Person)
Language of Materials
Conditions Governing Access:
Accessions may require permission from the originating office or the staff of the University Archives because they contain personnel, student, or other records covered by privacy laws and regulations including the following accessions: 1978.001, 1979.084, 1980.116, 1981.084, 1982.059, 1983.059, 1984.042, 1985.035, 1986.024, and 1987.077.
Acc. 1985.036 is closed until 2060.
Acc. 1999.011 is confidential.
Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Thomas Ashley Graves, Jr. was the twenty-third president of the College of William and Mary. He served from September 1, 1971 until January 9, 1985. Upon his resignation George R. Healy acted as interim president until Paul R. Verkuil assumed the role of president on July 1, 1985.
Graves graduated from Yale University in 1947 with a bachelor's degree in economics, after suspending his studies after his freshman year to serve in the U.S. Navy during World War II. He then went on to Harvard University, completing a master's in business administration in 1949 and a doctorate in 1958.
From 1950 to 1960, Graves held a faculty position at the Harvard business school. In 1960, he moved to Lausanne, Switzerland to become the director of the IMEDE Management Deveopment Institute. He was named the associate dean of the Graduate School of Business of Stanford University in 1964, and also served as the director of Stanford's International Center for the Advancement of Management Education. Graves returned to Harvard from 1967 to 1971 as the associate dean of the Graduate School of Business Administration.
Graves served on advisory boards for a variety of schools and businesses, including Transylania University, Clark University, Reynolds Metals Company, and Life Insurance Company of Virginia. He is also the author of many articles on the management of education and management education.
After leaving William and Mary, Graves became the director, CEO and a member of the Board of Trustees for the Winterthur Museum and Garden in Wilmington, Delaware until 1992. From there, he served as the director of the Grand Opera House in Wilmington as well as a member of the Educational Board of MBNA America Bank. Graves retired in 2004, and moved back to Williamsburg with his wife, Zoe.
221.50 Linear Feet
Arrangement of Materials:
The records are arranged by accession, that is, the year in which they were transferred to the University Archives.
Acc. 1978.001 received from the Office of the President 8/1978. Acc. 1979.084 received from the Office of the President 7/19/1979. Acc. 1980.116 received from the Office of the President 7/1/1980. Acc. 1981.081 received from the Office of the President 8/12/1981. Acc. 1981.084 received from the Office of the President 8/23/1977. Acc. 1982.059 received from the Office of the President 8/13/1982. Acc. 1983.038 received from the Office of the President 9/2/1983. Acc. 1983.059 received from the Office of the President 10/24/1983. Acc. 1984.042 received from the Office of the President 8/2/1984. Acc. 1985.035 received from the Office of the President 6/10/1985. Acc. 1985.036 received from the Office of the President 6/7/1985. Acc. 1985.037 received from the Office of the President 6/10/1985 and 8/6/1987. Acc. 1986.024 received from the Office of the President 7/28/1986. Acc. 1987.077 received from the Office of the President 8/6/1987. Acc. 1999.011 received from the Office of the President 1/18/1999.
Pinks have been removed to Acc. 1983.039.
Inventories were normally received with the material when transferred to the SCRC. SCRC staff are rehousing the collection and adding inventories for all accessions to the database. This effort is currently ongoing (January 2010).
- Associated and Branch Campuses--Richard Bland College (Organization)
- Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus (Organization)
- College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors (Organization)
- College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences (Organization)
- College of William and Mary. Office of the President (Organization)
- College of William and Mary. Project Plus (Organization)
- College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration (Organization)
- College of William and Mary. School of Education (Organization)
- Development Office--Endowment Association (Organization)
- Joseph and Margaret Muscarelle Museum of Art (Organization)
- Marshall-Wythe School of Law (Organization)
- Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture (Organization)
- Order of the White Jacket (Organization)
- State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (Organization)
- Virginia Institute of Marine Science (Organization)
- Chandler, Alvin Duke (Person)
- Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr (Person)
- Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 (Person)
- Guide to the Office of the President. Thomas A. Graves, Jr. Records
- Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English