Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Chandler, Alvin Duke

 Person

Found in 4 Collections and/or Records:

Susan H. Godson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.015
Scope and Contents Contains Susan H. Godson's notes from her contributions to The College of William & Mary: A History (1993).  Most of the notes are handwritten on yellow legal or letter-sized paper and relate to the college's history beginning around 1888 and continuing throughout the twentieth century.  The papers include research-related correspondence, including several letters from the late College President Paschall.  The papers also include reproductions of numerous archival documents and news...

Jamestown Celebration Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 247
Scope and Contents The collection includes fliers, invitations, and booklets from the Jamestown Celebrations in 1957 and 2007.  The collection contains a scrapbook compiled by the staff of the Virginia 350th Anniversary Commission for College of William and Mary President Alvin Duke Chandler of photographs, invitations, and programs and material provided to participants of the World Forum on the Future of Democracy (2007).

James W. Miller Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.063
Scope and Contents One black scrapbook, 16.5" x 18.25", containing clippings about the 1951 football scandal, Pomfret's resignation and A.D. Chandler's election as president, and protests against Chandler's social rules in 1955.

Office of the President. Thomas A. Graves, Jr. Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/UA 2.16
Scope and Contents The collection includes subject files, speeches, and other material from the administration of College of William and Mary President Thomas Ashley Graves with some overlap with his predecessor Davis Y. Paschall and his successor Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.

In addition, there are two unprocessed boxes. Consult a staff member for assistance.