Skip to main content

Robert Preston Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P92

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

Papers of Robert Preston, surveyor of Washington County, Virginia, dated 1780-1864. Includes on site notes of land surveyed, without plats. Mostly unprocessed and the vast majority of items has not been described yet.

Includes letters, from relatives in Ireland; financial and legal documents; surveys; plats; and memorandum books.

Includes certificate, 22 December 1779, issued by the College of William and Mary appointing Robert Preston surveyor of Washington County, signed by Thomas Jefferson. 

Some surveys for land in Montgomery County, Virginia.

Agreement between William Strother Madison and Robert Preston for the division of the surveyor's fees in Washington County, Virginia, 1777.

All accessions combined.

Dates

  • Creation: 1770-1864

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

1 Linear Feet (2 Century boxes) : 586 items

Additional Description

Arrangement

The current arrangement into folders is the result of preliminary sorting only. It may change once it has been reviewed, finalized and described to provide proper access.

Acquisition Information:

Purchase of 512 items from George Scheer on 3/27/1939; purchase of 2 items from Mrs. Brockenbrough Lamb 3/30/1939 and 72 items on 3/20/1941.

Separated Materials

Letters by James P. and John Preston referring to the College have been transferred to the College Papers Collection. [Date of transfer unkown]

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the Robert Preston Papers
Author
Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-08-03
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
English

Revision Statements

  • 2023: All accessions combined.

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: