Skip to main content

Prentis Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00113

Scope and Contents

The papers, 1807-1855, of the Prentis family of Williamsburg, Virginia, and of various members of the Riddick and Bowdoin families of Nansemond County, Va. Includes legal documents and accounts, 1807-1830, concerning the settlement of the estate of Joseph Prentis (1754-1809); will of Susan Bowdoin; correspondence of Joseph Prentis, Jr. and license, issued to Peter Bowdoin Prentis to practice law.

Dates

  • 1807-1830

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Family History:

Information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.5 Linear Feet

Custodial History

The collection ID was formerly Mss. 85s P91.

Acquisition Information:

Gift

Processing Information:

Processed by Ellen Strong in 1985.
Title
Guide to the Prentis Family Papers
Author
SCRC Staff, Ellen Strong; Karen King
Date
2007-08-03
Language of description
English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: