Skip to main content

Press releases

 Subject
Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus

Found in 15 Collections and/or Records:

American Association of University Professors, College of William and Mary Chapter Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 16
Scope and Contents Records pertaining to the beginning of an AAUP chapter at the College of William and Mary including minutes, notes, and drafts.  Also included is information about the national, regional and local AAUP. The collection includes: minutes; constitution and by-laws with amendments; correspondence; publications; treasurer's reports; press releases; and interviews. This material deals with fringe benefits and compensation; higher education; academic policy; faculty participation in university...
Dates: 1924-1979; Majority of material found in 1924-1979

Ash Lawn-Highland records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 189
Scope and Contents Ash Lawn-Highland is the home of James Monroe, the fifth president of the United States, and is located in Charlottesville, Virginia. Ash Lawn-Highland is owned and operated by The College of William and Mary, Monroe's alma mater.Ash Lawn-Highland is a historic museum with a 535-acre working farm, and performing arts site in Albermarle County, Virginia. President James Monroe and his wife, Elizabeth Kortright Monroe of New York, owned Ash Lawn-Highland from 1793 to 1826 and made...
Dates: 1978-1998

George M. Bass, Jr. Papers, 1979-2002

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.086
Scope and Contents This collections consists of documents related to the development of School of Education courses designed to train teachers in the use of microcomputers [computers] in the mid-to-late 1980s. The collection includes press releases, a description and rationale for such courses, 1 syllabus for "Education 563-Problems in Education: Microcomputers in Education" and 1 syllabus for "Education 666-Application of Computer to Educational Problems: The Microcomputer." Also in this...
Dates: 1979-2002; Majority of material found in 1979-1985

Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 B31
Scope and Contents Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...
Dates: 1968-1982

Jo Ann Davis Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.111
Scope and Contents Records of United States Representative Jo Ann Davis, Congresswoman from Virginia's First District from 2000 to 2007.  The Papers are mostly legislative material where she was involved either as an originator of or co-signer to Dear Colleague letters or as a sponsor or co-sponsor to legislation, but also includes speeches, press releases and office files. The first folder in the first box contains news clippings, biographical information, list of staff members and definitions of...
Dates: 2001-2007

IBM Announcement of Launch of Personal Computers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01320
Scope and Contents

Annoucement, 1981, of the launch of the first personal computers. Includes the technical specifications of the computer and available accessories, contract options, warranty information, prices for the computer and optional accessories, and other information.

Dates: 1981

James Glenn Driver 1936 Berlin Olympics Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.044
Scope and Contents Printed ephemera, newspapers, and other publications, related to the 1936 Olympic games in Berlin, Germany, collected by James G. Driver, one of the trainers with the US team. Also included is a photo album, individually assembled with commercially produced photo prints and several postcards. This photo album includes pictures of Olympic village, the torch relay, the opening ceremony, and athletes (including Jesse Owens and Luz Long, among others). Other items included are: a...
Dates: 1936

Linda Lavin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 88 L39 and Additions
Scope and Contents Papers of Linda Lavin which document her career as a Broadway and television actress, and also as an advocate of women’s rights and equal opportunity. Newspaper clippings, interviews, news releases, and personal letters record her success as a member of Neil Simon’s Broadway play, “Broadway Bound,” for which she received a Tony Award, the Drama Desk Award, and the Helen Hayes Award in 1987 as best leading actress. Newsclippings also record her roles as producer and actress in...
Dates: 1940-1995; Majority of material found in 1940-1995

Muscarelle Museum of Art Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 120
Scope and Contents The collection is composed of materials documenting the public activities of the Muscarelle Museum of Art at William & Mary. It includes fliers, catalogs and booklets from exhibits, dedications, classes, calendars, press releases, newsletters, and annual reports that were previously part of the University Archives Publications Collection. Also included are material from the "So Good a Design" exhibit primarily about the Wren Building and proposals for a Fine and Performing Arts...
Dates: 1981-2019

Thomas Pinckney Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 49
Scope and Contents As Director of Public Relations, Pinckney worked in a two-person office with office assistant Emily Sneed and includes much about campus experience from 1938-1942. The office did not cover sports publicity, which was handled by the Athletics Department. Pinckney and Sneed also oversaw the Wren Building Guides, a group of male students who interpreted and gave tours of the Wren Building. Pinckney’s records include correspondence with Deans Grace Landrum, J. Wilfred Lambert, and James W....
Dates: 1932-1942

Seminar on Colonial Life Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 20
Scope and Contents

This collection includes records related to the Seminar on Colonial Life at the College of William and Mary such as correspondence, publication, press releases, and related material. Howard Fowler was the director of the Seminar on Colonial Life.  The subjects of the black and white photographs include buildings within Colonial Williamsburg, including the Wythe House as well as costumed interpreters, Dr. W. A. R. Goodwin, and the Wren Building at William & Mary.

Dates: 1937-1941

Earl Gregg Swem Library records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 32
Scope and Contents This collection includes both processed series and unprocessed accessions of records created by the Earl Gregg Swem Library at the College of William and Mary including those from component offices and individual staff members. A majority of the collection contains correspondence from the dean of the libraries and library administration. Inventories for some series and accessions are available in the Special Collections Research Center and links to PDFs of those inventories can be provided...
Dates: 1920-2015

University Communications Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 61
Scope and Contents

This collection contains correspondence, publications, newsletters, reports, and other material pertaining to the Office of University Communications at the College of William and Mary. The bulk of the records consist of press releases and newspaper clippings related to faculty, staff, students, and alumni at the College from the 1940s to the 1980s. Please see the Finding Aid/Box List section below to learn more about each series.

Dates: 1938-2005; Majority of material found in 1969-1983

Office of University Development Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 126
Scope and Contents Acc. 1976.001: Publications materials for J.E. Morpurgo's Their Majesties' Royall Colledge, including blue line copies, page proofs, and a paper-bound copy of the book. Acc. 1980.039: Endowment fundraising letter from Cary T. Grayson, Rear Admiral, M.C. U.S. Navy, to James P. Monroe, M.I.T., soliciting building funds for the College, 23 March 1920. Acc. 1981.075: Two copies of the Campaign for the College Final Report, 1979. One copy has...
Dates: 1920-2014

Courtney Sharpe Ward Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.25, 2008.106
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, notes, papers, newspaper clippings, drafts and published articles belonging to Courtney Sharpe Ward, a writer for the Richmond News Leader in Richmond, Virginia. Many of her articles had a historical connection. The addition mostly consists of material on the 1957 350th Anniversary of Jamestown. Includes photograph and 1957 Press Card of Courtney Sharpe Ward.

Dates: 1950-1969