Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search collections where
  • keyword(s): "charles washington coleman"

Showing Results: 1 - 10 of 10

Charles Washington Coleman, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00011
Scope and Contents The collection is arranged into three series and includes correspondence, receipts, insurance documents, and photographs.  Series 1 contains correspondence, which is arranged alphabetically by the surname of the sender. Series 2 contains financial papers and largely includes bills and receipts for the estate of Coleman's father, Thomas.  Series 3 contains general subject/miscellaneous files and covers topics such as the Shelton-Laurel Massacre, Coleman's friend Rear Admiral Robley D. Evans,...
Dates: 1807-1908
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles Washington Coleman, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00012
Scope and Contents The collection is arranged into three series. The first series contains correspondence, the majority of which is related to Coleman's writings & publications and includes correspondence his mother, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Coleman, and with illustrator Harry Fenn. The second series contains writings, the majority of which were done by Coleman, largely as a young man.  The writings include his poetry as well as serials he wrote and illustrated himself. The third series contains...
Dates: 1867-1925; Majority of material found in 1886-1892
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Phi Beta Kappa Records of John Lesslie Hall and Charles Washington Coleman

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.022
Scope and Contents

Primarily Phi Beta Kappa correspondence of Charles Washington Coleman and John Lesslie Hall, both of whom served as Secretary of the Alpha of Virginia chapter. Also includes some meetings of minutes, poems, addresses, and bylaws; a notebook listing "Distinctions awarded in English and in History;" obituaries of Hall; English examinations (questions only)' documents from George Willis Guy about his high school and college course work.

Dates: 1888-1928; Majority of material found in 1888-1928
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cynthia Beverley Tucker Coleman Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00120
Scope and Contents

One page letter from Cynthia Beverly Tucker Washington Coleman to Dr. David Hayes Agnew dated 21 December 1883.  In it, Mrs. Coleman relates that she has sent along a Virginia Ham for their Christmas dinner and gives instrucitons on the proper way to cook it.  She also reports on the health (mostly optical issues) of her son and daughter.

Dates: 1883 December 21
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00007
Scope and Contents

The collection contains the papers of Williamsburg resident Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman and includes correspondence, Coleman's personal writings, various publications, legal and financial papers, and artifacts.

Dates: 1834-1928, 1988, undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg Poems

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01194
Scope and Contents

Three poems related to Williamsburg.  "Lay of the Lost Lion" by Cynthia Beverley Tucker Coleman, originally in the Williamsburg Garden Club's 1932 "Williamsburg Scrapbook."  "The Pulaski Club of Williamsburg, VA, Its origin and fame and how it got its name" by the History Committee.  "My God, They've sold the town" a poem about John D. Rockefeller, Jr.'s purchasing houses in Williamsburg.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Lesslie Hall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.021
Scope and Contents

Collection of John Lesslie Hall, a William and Mary faculty member from 1888-1928. The collection includes biographical material; notebooks; publications; pictures; speeches and addresses; Notes on Bruton Parish Church; correspondence; and tax levies.

Dates: 1885-1928
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Phi Beta Kappa, Alpha Chapter Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/02/UA 7.002
Scope and Contents

The records of the Alpha Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at the College of William and Mary include minutes, business records, addresses and speeches, poems, correspondence, publications, membership cards, and other records.

Dates: 1776-2013; Majority of material found in 1888-1955
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Office of the Dean of the College Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 104
Scope and Contents Acc. 1979.031: This accession contains office files from 1920-1942. Acc. 1983.085: This accession contains office files from the 1940s and 1950s. These include reports of the Curriculum Committee, correspondence with the President and others, materials from the faculty protest of 1951, letters of faculty appointments and salaries, and selective service classifications of faculty members. Acc. 1998.091: Records of Kremer Jacob Hoke, 1920s-1930s. This accession contains...
Dates: 1920-1968
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Office of the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/01/UA 22
Scope and Contents Acc. 1979.037: Records of W. Melville Jones, 1954-1967. This accession contains ten boxes of subject files arranged alphabetically. The inventory for this accession is available in the box list section of this finding aid. Acc. 1979.038: Records of James Wilkinson Miller, 1940s. This accession contains faculty inactive files and office files. Part of  the correspondence was removed to Acc. 1979.037. Acc. 1982.070: Office files, 1961-1979. This accession includes...
Dates: 1935-2011
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 5
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Reports 3
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 2
∨ more
Minutes 2
Slavery--United States--History--19th century 2
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Artifacts 1
Children--Death 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
English language--Study and teaching--United States--History 1
English literature--Study and teaching--United States--History 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Memorandums 1
Microfilms 1
Notebooks 1
Poems 1
Poetry 1
Publications 1
Self Study--1974 1
Shelton Laurel Valley (N.C.)--Massacre, 1863 1
Speeches, addresses, etc. 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Refugees 1
United States--Poetry 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Women--Virginia--Williamsburg--Social conditions--19th century 1
Writing--1870-1920 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 3
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 3
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Coleman family 2
Coleman, Charles Washington, 1862-1932 2
∨ more
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 2
Miller, James Wilkinson, 1902- 2
Phi Beta Kappa 2
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 2
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities--History. 1
Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching 1
Coleman, Charles Washington, 1826-1894 1
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington (1832-1908) 1
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of the College 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of the Faculty 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences 1
Fenn, Harry (1838-1911) 1
Hoke, Kremer Jacob, 1878-1944 1
Marsh, Charles F. (Charles Franklin), 1903-1984 1
Marshall, Nelson 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Self Study 1
Tucker 1
Umbeck, Sharvy 1
Washington family 1
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
+ ∧ less