Office of the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Records
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1979.037: Records of W. Melville Jones, 1954-1967. This accession contains ten boxes of subject files arranged alphabetically. The inventory for this accession is available in the box list section of this finding aid.
Acc. 1979.038: Records of James Wilkinson Miller, 1940s. This accession contains faculty inactive files and office files. Part of the correspondence was removed to Acc. 1979.037.
Acc. 1982.070: Office files, 1961-1979. This accession includes faculty committee reports and 1961 and 1974 self-study reports. The inventory for this accession is available in the box list section of this finding aid.
Acc. 1982.071: Outgoing memos to faculty on various topics, 1955-1979. This accession is organized chronologically.
Acc. 1983.065: Faculty minutes, 1938-1973. Minutes of meetings of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (1968-1973). Prior to 1968, the minutes are for the faculty of the entire college.
Acc. 1989.129: Office files, 1974-1986. This accession contains corespondence with departments, general office correspondence, and committee files.
Acc. 1991.085: Correspondence with academic departments and offices, and other subject files, 1985-1988.
Acc. 1998.027: Carnegie reports, 1949-1952. This accession contains reports from the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.
Acc. 1998.030: Correspondence files from the 1940s through the 1950s.
Acc. 1998.092: Subject files, 1984-1991. This accession includes files on award nominations, the Commonwealth Center for the Study of American Culture, and other subjects.
Acc. 1999.025: Office files, 1986-1990: This accession is arranged alphabetically by subject, department, or committee.
Acc. 1999.043: Corespondence and reports, 1938-1955.
Acc. 1999.047: Records of Charles Marsh, 1954-1961. This accession contains departmental communications arranged alphabetically and other correspondence arranged chronologically.
Acc. 2008.113: Includes Educational Policy Committee minutes, correspondence, and reports from 1973-1976; Ad-hoc Committee on a Faculty Senate correspondence from 1967; and Ad-hoc Committee on Executive Candidates correspondence from 1971.
Acc. 2015.223 includes EPC meeting minutes and manuals, funding files, Summer Session files, and faculty files. The majority of this accession is restricted from patron use because files contain restricted and protected personally identifiable information. Files must be reviewed by the University before patron use.
This collection also includes correspondence with Faculty and registration instructions from 1935-1969 that were previously part of the University Archives Publications Collection.
- Creation: 1935-2011
- Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (Organization)
- Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching (Organization)
- College of William and Mary. Dean of the Faculty (Organization)
- Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 (Person)
- Marsh, Charles F. (Charles Franklin), 1903-1984 (Person)
- Miller, James Wilkinson, 1902- (Person)
Language of Materials
Conditions Governing Access:
Faculty minutes that are less than 50 years old must be reviewed by a staff member prior to being accessed. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
The office of the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences strives to meet the needs of individual departments and programs; promotes excellence across Arts & Sciences as a whole; and represents the priorities of Arts & Sciences to the larger university community and to such external constituencies as parents, alumni, and grant-funding agencies.
In 1905, the Dean of the Faculty was created with John Lesslie Hall, Professor of English and History from 1888-1928, as its first Dean from 1905-1920 and 1922-1928. At this time, William and Mary also had a Dean of the College that looked after the affairs of the faculty with Kremer J. Hoke Professor of Education from 1920-1944, as its Dean from 1922-1934. In 1938, the Dean of the College was renamed to Dean of the Faculty with James Wilkinson Miller, Professor of Philosophy from 1935-1955, as its Dean from 1938-1946.
In 1951, when Nelson Marshall, Professor of Biology from 1949-1951, resigned as Dean of the College, the Office of the Dean of the Faculty was reestablished and replaced the duties of the Dean of the College. James Wilkinson Miller, Professor of Philosophy from 1935-1955, served as the new Dean of the Faculty from 1951-1952. Charles Marsh, Professor of Economics and Business Administration from 1930-1958, was the next Dean of the Faculty and served from 1952-1958. From 1958-1964, W. Melville Jones, Professor of English from 1928-1971, served as Dean of the Faculty. In 1964, the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences was created and took over all the functions of the Dean of the Faculty. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki:
103.50 Linear Feet
Physical Characteristics or Technical Requirements:
The bulk of this collection is located offsite. Please ask staff for assistance.
1.2 cubic feet of records from the Dean of the Faculty, previously part of the University Archives Publications Collection, were added to this collection in April 2009.
Acc. T1990.028 was destroyed on 2/13/2008 according to General Schedule 101 101081.
Acc. 1979.037 acquired 05/1979 from James Blair Attic. Acc. 1979.038 acquired 05/1979 from James Blair Attic. Acc. 1982.070 transferred 07/1982 from Dean of the FAS. Acc. 1982.071 transferred 07/1981 from Dean of the FAS. Acc. 1983.065 acquired 10/27/1983. Acc. 1989.129 acquired 08/1989. Acc. 1991.085 transferred 08/1990 from Dean of the FAS. Acc. 1998.027 transferred 07/21/1989 from Dean of the FAS. Acc. 1998.030 acquired 08/25/1998 Acc. 1998.091 transferred from the Dean of the College 12/1998. Acc. 1998.092 transferred 12/15/1998 from Dean of the FAS. Acc. 1999.025 transferred 03/16/1999 from Dean of the FAS. Acc. 1999.043 transferred 06/15/1999 from Dean of the FAS. Acc. 1999.047 transferred 06/18/1999 from Dean of the FAS. Acc. 2008.113 was received sometime prior to 2007.
- College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences (Organization)
- Self Study (Organization)
- Guide to the Office of the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Records
- Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
- May 24th, 2018: Administrative history, custodial history, and related materials fields were updated by Steven Bookman in April 2009.