Skip to main content

Charles Washington Coleman, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00012

Scope and Contents

The collection is arranged into three series. The first series contains correspondence, the majority of which is related to Coleman's writings & publications and includes correspondence his mother, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Coleman, and with illustrator Harry Fenn. The second series contains writings, the majority of which were done by Coleman, largely as a young man.  The writings include his poetry as well as serials he wrote and illustrated himself. The third series contains miscellaneous items that do not fit within the first two series.

Dates

  • 1867-1925
  • Majority of material found in 1886-1892

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Biographical / Historical

Charles Washington Coleman, Jr. was born in Richmond, Virginia to Cynthia Beverley Tucker Coleman and Charles W. Coleman, Sr. on November 22, 1862 and died April 29, 1932. He attended the University of Virginia and served as librarian at the College of William and Mary 1893-1898. Subsequently, he was associated with the Library of Congress. Coleman was also a poet and a writer. He died in 1932 and is buried in the Bruton Parish Churchyard.

Extent

0.75 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

This collection was donated over a period of time by Coleman family members: Mary Haldane Begg Coleman, Janet Kimbrough and Cynthia Barlowe.

Related Materials:

Tucker-Coleman Papers (Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library)

Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman Papers (Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library)

Charles Washington Coleman, Sr. Papers (Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library)

Processing Information:

Processed by Kimberly Sims, University Archivist, June 2015
Title
Guide to the Charles Washington Coleman, Jr. Papers
Author
Kimberly Sims.
Language of description
English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: