Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search all record types where
  • keyword(s): Morton

Showing Results: 176 - 200 of 302

Various papers, 1788, 1928, 1936, 1937, undated

 File — Box 17: Series id72027; Series id72028; Series id72029; Series id72030; Series id72031; Series id72032; Series id72033; Series id72035; Series id72037; Series id72038; Series id72039; Series id72040; Series id255326; Series id72042; Series id72043; Series id72044; Series id72045; Series id72046; Series id72048, Folder: 17
Identifier: id255340
Scope and Contents Copy of a typed transcription, with index, of vestry minutes of St. Patrick Parish, 1755-1774. Bond given by Joseph Bohan to Philemon Holcombe, March 28, 1788. Printed report "Second Report of the Prince Edward Landmark Committee," 1928. Copy of a print of the Union Theological Seminary. Undated. Notes by Mrs. Margaret H. Morton from the Prince Edward County Courthouse on the prisons in the county. Appeared in the October 1937 William and Mary Quarterly. Notes copied by Mrs. Margaret H....
Dates: 1788, 1928, 1936, 1937, undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Virginia Counties Collection / Prince Edward County

Papers relating to Morton's Encyclopedia Britannica articles., 1959-1972

 File — Box 2: Series id149908, Folder: 30
Identifier: id149399
Scope and Contents

Includes letters about changes in articles written by Morton, requests by Morton for materials to be used for articles, materials for research for articles including on education, politics, industry, race relations. 1959, 1960-1962, 1967-1972. 106 items.

Dates: 1959-1972
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Richard Lee Morton Papers / Series 1: Mss. 90 M84 / Box 2: Professional Papers

Series 1: Mss. 90 M84

 Series
Identifier: id149908
Scope and Contents

Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds, genealogical materials on the Watkins and Morton families and photographs.

Dates: 1756-2006; Majority of material found in 1930-1969
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Richard Lee Morton Papers

H.[?], to James Gordon Bennet, publisher of the New York Times, undated

 Item — Box 7, Folder: 5
Identifier: id138599
Scope and Contents

Enclosed items are rich and were found while overhauling the late collector William's papers; sent by intimation of Governor Morton; Bancroft refused "to receive a call or have an interview with Governor Morton." 1 p. ALS.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tyler Family Papers, Group G / Box 7 / Folder 5

Corespondence, January-March 1871

 File — Box 6: Series id82443, Folder: 4
Identifier: id83269
Scope and Contents 37 items. Bradley T. Johnson, H.G. Kemp, R.L.T. Beall, George R.C. Jarvis, James A. Ferdon, Grace Rives to Sallie (mid 1880s), W. Newton, Thomas R. Heywood, James Hayes, L.L. Tomkies, M. Lowenback & Bro., R.B. Taliaferro, M[urdock] Howell, C.W. Grandy & Sons, J.J. Bloodgood, Warner Throckmorton Taliaferro, Jr., W.B. Rosson, W.J. Albert, Franklin P. Clarck to Thomas S. Taliaferro, B.R. Wellford, Jr., Henry C. Wright, J. Edward Bird, C.W. Grandy & Sons, O.S. Morton, Samuel V....
Dates: January-March 1871
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / William Booth Taliaferro Papers / Series 1: Mss. 65 T15 / Subseries 1: Group 1 (William Booth Taliaferro) / Box 6

Surname Mon-My

 File — Cabinet 5, Drawer 5
Scope and Contents Moncure, Blanche, WM 1899/Moncure, Charles P., WM 1837/38Moncure, Henry Trevillian, WM 1920/24Moncure, Henry W., WM 1820/22Moncure, Richard Cassius Lee, WM 1890/92, 1895/96Moncure, William Augustus, WM 1821/22Moncure, Andrew, WM circa 1775Monroe, Augustine, WM 1808Monroe, James, WM 1774/76Monroe, James, WM 1857/58Montague FamilyMontague, Andrew Jackson, WM circa...
Dates: Existence: since circa 1980s
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / University Archives Faculty-Alumni File Collection

Judith Randolph Randolph, 1816 March 9

 Item
Identifier: id216780
Scope and Contents Will. Gives property to son John St. Geroge with power to make provision for wife if he marries. In default of children property goes to heirs of said son on part of his father. Request Rev. John H. Rice to destroy papers of late son T. Tudor Randolph which are in his dessk at Cambridge. To sister Harriet (Randolph) Hackley furniture and a $5000 bond to be free from control of her husband. To brother-in-law John Randolph of Roanoke the books, etc. of her late son T. Tudor Randolph except his...
Dates: 1816 March 9
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 35 / Folder 1: Correspondence

Papers in Wooden Box - Real Estate, 1779-1802, undated

 File — Box 14: Series id78172, Folder: 23
Identifier: id82287
Scope and Contents Includes 1779 January 14 plat and description of land which was part of the estate of Thomas Watkins and part of the tract of land owned by Beverly Randolph in Charlotte County, 1805 deed from Joel Watkins to Clement Carrington, 1862 letter from John McPhail sending "old deeds pertaining to the Edgehill Estate," 1878 survey for "T. N. Jones and Catlet" to sell the lands of W. Cardwell in Charlotte County, 1879 deed where Robert Catlet sells the Cardwell land to Hugh Blair Grigsby, 1887 deed...
Dates: 1779-1802, undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Grigsby-Galt Papers / Series 2: Grigsby Family / Hugh Blair Grigsby / Box 14

Correspondence, 1853 May-October

 Item — Box 1: Series id140624, Folder: 1
Identifier: id132957
Scope and Contents In the first letter, May 18, 1853, Mattie Morton writes to Fanny Bland that she is delighted that Fanny plans to visit. Lizzie’s wedding is in two weeks, but she is not going. Two of Joe’s friends will wait on him; wish Fanny could catch one of them, particularly Charlie Anderson. The second letter, August 10, 1853, John Coalter to his sister Fanny B. Coalter Stanley, Virginia: Her ball at the White Sulphur Springs. His social activities, including parties. "St. left us for school...he did...
Dates: 1853 May-October
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (III) / Series 1: Correspondence / Correspondence

Correspondence, 1854 January-November

 Item — Box 1: Series id140624, Folder: 1
Identifier: id132958
Scope and Contents January 10, 1854, Cousin Georgia to F.B. Coalter: Thanks for hospitality during visit. Give my best love to all at [Chericoke]. March 4, 1854, Mattie H. Morton to F.B. Coalter Buffaloe, Va.: “While entertaining a rather silent gentleman last night, I thought of you, Cousin Alf and Tucker Bryan in the parlor at Stanley.” Large party of people from Petersburg had a dance in Farmville…at the hotel.” Her religious views and prayer. August 1854, Mattie Morton to F. B. Coalter Buffaloe, Va.: Hot...
Dates: 1854 January-November
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (III) / Series 1: Correspondence / Correspondence

Miscellaneous slides

 Item — Box 1: Series id21962; Series id73426; Series id87620
Identifier: id235187
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Slides of 1994 Dorm renovation; Morton Hall, W&M Hall, Small Hall, Millington Hall, Barksdale field

Dates: 1678, 1900-2003
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Facilities Management Records / Series 7: Slides / Acc 2011.176: Slides of construction and repair of buildings on W&M campus and VIMS

Bullitt Family, 1859

 File — Box 3: Series id246768, Folder: 2
Identifier: id249541
Scope and Contents

Letter to W.S. Morton of Charlotte Courthouse, Virginia from Warrenton, Virginia about the Bullitt Family. October 10, 1859.

Dates: 1859
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Genealogy Collection / Series 1: Alphabetical Files by Last Name

Photographic print, 1955 November 1

 Item — Box 22, Object: P15
Scope and Contents

8" X 10", black and white print, waist length, front view of Lester J. Cappon (center) with Carlisle Humelsine and Richard L. Morton.

Dates: 1955 November 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Lester J. Cappon Papers / Photographs of Cappon and colleagues at annual meetings of the Council of Historians of the Institute of Early American History and Culture

A.A. O'Veil, Cottage, to Sally M. Galt, July 24

 Item — Box Series 2, Box 14: Series id74299, Folder: 155
Identifier: id125850
Scope and Contents

Thanks her for the loan of the books. Sends the proof chest of C. Morton.

Dates: July 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Galt Papers (I) / Series 2: Personal Papers / Box 14: John Minson Galt II- Sally Maria Galt / Correspondence to Sally M. Galt, L-R

Letter and Land Grant, 1940 October 29

 Item — Box Manuscripts Oversize Box 13: Series id97705; Series id114506; Series id182684; Series id127060; Series id201905; Series id203226; Series id57625, Oversize_Folder: 1
Identifier: id57625
Scope and Contents

Rutherfoord Goodwin, Williamsburg, Virginia, to Richard L. Morton, Williamsburg, Virginia enclosing land grant to Patrick Moreton. October 29, 1940.

Dates: 1940 October 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Richard Lee Morton Papers / Series 4: Oversize Items / Oversize Box

Information and correspondence about G.C. Wetmore., 1970-1972.

 File — Box 1: Series id149908, Folder: 16
Identifier: id149342
Scope and Contents

G.C. Wetmore, the painter of Dr. and Mrs. S.M. Shepherd, grandparent of Mrs. Morton, notes of investigative sources. 8 items.

Dates: 1970-1972.
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Richard Lee Morton Papers / Series 1: Mss. 90 M84 / Box 1: Personal and Professional Papers

Recipes, 1939-1971

 File — Box 3: Series id149908, Folder: 28
Identifier: id149450
Scope and Contents

Manuscript of Morton family recipe book, easy cooking, peanut butter, chicken, salsify, wine, colonial dishes, famous Virginia foods. 1939, 1941, 1951, 1960, 1964, 1971. 13 items.

Dates: 1939-1971
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Richard Lee Morton Papers / Series 1: Mss. 90 M84 / Box 3

Ephemera, 1860-1865

 Series
Identifier: id70881
Scope and Contents

This series contains photographs of Frary and Morgan, Celia Frary's Illinois teaching certificates, passes belonging to Richard S. Morton from 1862 from Camp Douglas and another identified camp, and a photocopy of their marriage certificate.

Dates: 1860-1865
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Richard S. and Celia Morgan Papers

Union Seminary "Alumni" Pamphlet

 File — Box 1: Series id58594; Series id58595, Folder: 7
Identifier: id58516
Scope and Contents

William S. Morton is mentioned on page 55.

Dates: 1844-1960, undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Morton Genealogical Inquiries Collection / Series 1: Index, notes, original documents

Last Name - Womack, 1871 January 4

 Item — Box 2: Series id177489, Folder: 10
Identifier: id177624
Scope and Contents

Letter from Mattie Morton Womack, "Buffaloe," to Fannie.

Dates: 1871 January 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (II) / Series 1: Letters / Author's first or last name begins with - "S-Y"

Letter, 1866 May 7

 Item — Box 49, Folder: 32
Identifier: id68093
Scope and Contents

Letter from Jeremiah Morton, Lapland, VA to Charles Bruce [copy], recommending John Tyler, Jr. to Immigration Board.

Dates: 1866 May 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Tyler, Jr. Papers / Series 3: Additions / 2009.148 Addition / Tyler vs Black

Letter, 1866 June 4

 Item — Box 49, Folder: 32
Identifier: id68095
Scope and Contents

Letter from Jeremiah Morton, Mobile AL, to John Tyler, discussing John Black.

Dates: 1866 June 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Tyler, Jr. Papers / Series 3: Additions / 2009.148 Addition / Tyler vs Black

Flood Family, 1924

 File — Box 5: Series id246768, Folder: 23
Identifier: id252626
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Paper entitled "War Risk Insurance in the Revolution: Frederick Flood of Charlotte County and His Family" by Rupert Taylor of Auburn, Alabama. In Rupert Taylor's letter to W.S. Morton, he mentions the Flood Family, Gallimore Family and mulattoes.

Dates: 1924
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Genealogy Collection / Series 1: Alphabetical Files by Last Name

Scott Family, 1853, undated

 File — Box 13: Series id246768, Folder: 15
Identifier: id253965
Scope and Contents

Newspaper clipping. 6 page handwritten Scott Family tree, beginning with Thomas Scott and Catherine Tomkies, as part of a letter to Fr. Watkins, Farmville, Virginia from Christopher Scott of Arkansas, dated March 12, 1853. 6 pages. Possibly given by W.S. Morton.

Dates: 1853, undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Genealogy Collection / Series 1: Alphabetical Files by Last Name

Wilson Family, 1875

 File — Box 15: Series id246768, Folder: 15
Identifier: id254097
Scope and Contents

Handwritten transcript by W.S. Morton of the 1807 obituary of John Wilson of Spotsylvania who was 104 when he died.  A handwritten Wilson Family history beginning with Col. Benjamin Wilson by P.D.W of Mount Vernon, Indiana, July 4, 1875.

Dates: 1875
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Genealogy Collection / Series 1: Alphabetical Files by Last Name

Filtered By

  • Type: Archival Record X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Language
English 21