Papers in Wooden Box - Real Estate, 1779-1802, undated
Scope and Contents
Includes 1779 January 14 plat and description of land which was part of the estate of Thomas Watkins and part of the tract of land owned by Beverly Randolph in Charlotte County, 1805 deed from Joel Watkins to Clement Carrington, 1862 letter from John McPhail sending "old deeds pertaining to the Edgehill Estate," 1878 survey for "T. N. Jones and Catlet" to sell the lands of W. Cardwell in Charlotte County, 1879 deed where Robert Catlet sells the Cardwell land to Hugh Blair Grigsby, 1887 deed between Mary V. Grigsby and H. Carrington Grigsby transferring Edgehill tract to H. Carrington Grigsby, 1905 sketch of the "lines between the farms of Carrington Grigsby and J. Flood Morton as agreed upon by them and established by J. D. Morton", and an undated survey description of land on the Little Roanoke River.
Dates
- Creation: 1779-1802, undated
Creator
- From the Collection: Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 (Person)
- From the Collection: Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 (Person)
Language of Materials
English Spanish;Castilian
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 16.75 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository