Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 24 of 24

Charles H. Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B41
Scope and Contents The collection includes the correspondence, certificates, photographs, accounts, and journals of Rear Admiral Charles H. Bell. Naval journals cover Bell's service in the Mediterranean Sea from 1855-1858. The photographs are a mix of personal and souvenirs, which largely depict men and women from Peru. There is also material related to his role as executor for the estate of Samuel Swartwout. The collection also includes papers related to the Smith family, particularly Bell's executor and...
Dates: 1772-1929; Majority of material found in 1852-1875

Blizzard Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00006
Scope and Contents The collection contains correspondence, photographs and other material related to three Franklin, West Virginia brothers who served in the United States military during World War II. The bulk of the collection consists of nearly 200 letters of outgoing correspondence penned by three brothers, Arlie, Arthur, and W. Russell Blizzard to their mother and sisters in Franklin, West Virginia. Some of the topics discussed in the correspondence include army training, work, Arlie's visit to Japan and...
Dates: 1929-1949; Majority of material found in 1942-1945

Christopher Bram Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 99 B73
Scope and Contents The Christopher Bram papers largely encompass Bram's career as a novelist and writer but also include personal papers, audiovisual material, and artifacts. The first 12 series comprise materials relating to each of the major book length works Bram has produced during his career. Series 1 contains materials relating to Bram's first novel, which remains unpublished. Subsequent series are organized chronologically by publication date. Series 13 and 14 contain Bram's shorter works, including...
Dates: 1968-2014; Majority of material found in 1975-2000

Howard Chapin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C365
Scope and Contents Papers, 1882-1938, of Howard M. Chapin relating to his collection of books on dogs. Includes letters and booksellers' lists of books on dogs as well as correspondence, 1882-1883, of G. W. Ballantine concerning pointer dogs imported to the United States from England. Acc. 1940.341 and 1940.342 Addition: Copy of obituary Howard M. Chapin, Providence Journal, September 19, 1940. Three page typewritten article on animal cemeteries, by Howard M. Chapin, and 23 pages of notes and...
Dates: 1882-1940

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates: 1810-2007 and undated

John Lesslie Hall, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 H14
Scope and Contents Papers, 1937-1973, of Admiral John Lesslie Hall, Jr. of Williamsburg and Alexandria, Va. and while stationed at Pearl Harbor, San Francisco and Norfolk, Va. The papers are both personal and professional. The collection contains material concerning World War II Operations TORCH (North Africa), BIGOT-HUSKY, AVALANCHE (Salerno), NEPTUNE-OVERLORD, and as well as the Army-Navy joint agreement on Normandy. Also includes material pertaining to his work with the USO, the Naval War College, Army War...
Dates: 1893-1973

Fairfax Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...
Dates: 1736-1945

Helen Jones Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 C15
Scope and Contents Papers; 1936-1973; of author and Yorktown, Va. resident Helen J. Campbell (1894-1979). Includes photographs, notes, correspondence, clippings, photostats, and manuscript versions of short stories, essays, articles, and books. Her papers concern Yorktown and York County, Va., such as Yorktown National Park, Coleman Bridge, Bruton Parish, the Syms & Eaton School, and other local interest topics. Material also relates to Abraham Lincoln's assassination surrounding Mary E. J. Surratt, John...
Dates: 1936-1973

Henkel Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H38
Scope and Contents Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education. Mss poem with a hand...
Dates: 1783-1874

Mildred Jackson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2000.67
Scope and Contents

Papers of Mildred Jackson of Williamsburg, Virginia. She was a private piano instructor in Williamsburg, a performer with the William and Mary Music Department, and the wife of Dr. Jess Jackson, a professor of English at William and Mary. Includes lesson plans, music books, financial records, correspondence, newspaper articles, photographs, programs, and address books.

Dates: 1938-1976

Grace Warren Landrum Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.013
Scope and Contents

This collection contains biographical materials, correspondence, notebooks, scrapbooks, and other material related to former College of William and Mary Dean of Women Grace Warren Landrum from 1890-1995. Also included in the collection are dance and banquet programs; information about the dedication of Landrum Hall; and programs, news clippings, and photographs relating to the Matthew Whaley School from 1931-1932.

Dates: 1890-1995

Lee Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children.  An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...
Dates: 1858-1976; Majority of material found in 1900-1950

Bruce T. McCully Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1989.42
Scope and Contents

Material of Bruce T. McCully relating to his teaching at the College of William and Mary and to his lifelong research on the career of Francis Nicholson, Virginia Colonial Governor.

Dates: 1940-1970

Sara Spotswood Royall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.27
Scope and Contents Notebook of newspaper clippings and jottings of Sara Spottswood Royall of Petersburg, Va. Clippings pertain to the Business and Professional Women's Club of Petersburg, Va. Collection includes correspondence, speech, photograph, copies of her obituary and materials relating to Samuel F. Royall's service in World War I in the United States Army. Additions to the collection are the obituaries of Samuel F. Royall, Jr., a Williamsburg, Va. printer, correspondence, clippings, publications, and...
Dates: 1900-1983

Sarah Stetson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00136
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, 1947-1955, with libraries, historical societies, and descendants about Samuel Vaughan (1720-1802) and his sons Benjamin Vaughan, Charles Vaughan, and John Vaughan. The collection includes photostats, microfilm, and slides. Sarah P. Stetson collected material with the intention of writing a full-length biography.

Dates: 1947-1955

Howard Scammon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1992.38 and additions
Scope and Contents This collection consists of correspondence, clippings, photographs, programs, playbooks and other material collected by William and Mary Theatre professor Howard Scammon. The bulk of the material is correspondence between Scammon and his former students, but the papers also include documentation related to the William and Mary Theatre, The Common Glory, the Jamestown Festival of 1957, other Williamsburg theatre groups and famous William and Mary alumni such as Glenn Close and Linda Lavin. ...
Dates: 1917-1994; Majority of material found in 1940-1970

Robert Skipwith Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01265
Scope and Contents Letters, photographs, and genealogical information, ca. 1900, concerning the Bolling family and deafness. Includes letter, 1900, of Robert Skipwith to Mrs. Annie C. Pratt, employee of Dr. Alexander Graham Bell who was studying deafness as connected with education and the Bolling and Skipwith families; twentieth century copy photographs of older images of Mary R. Bolling, deaf-mute daughter of William Bolling, Jane Rolfe Bolling Skipwith, and Robert Skipwith; and data concerning Bell's work...
Dates: 1900

Tyler Family Papers, Group H

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 T97 Group H
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1750-1935, which are miscellaneous manuscripts with Tyler family connections. Include a scrapbook which includes correspondence of John Tyler, Thomas Walker Gilmer and St. George Tucker mostly with nineteenth- century Virginia politicians. Papers also include printed material, photographs of people and buildings and miscellaneous notes perhaps collected by Lyon G. Tyler and Sue Ruffin Tyler.

Dates: 1750-1935

United Daughters of the Confederacy Records, Williamsburg (Va.)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 92 U9
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook material from the Williamsburg Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy (UDC) consisting of newspaper clippings on the Civil War, veterans still living, battle reenactments, correspondence, yearbooks, programs, and other. Also included are papers concerning Confederate monuments in Williamsburg, as well as dealing with the Cross of Honor. One copy of "A History of the United Daughters of the Confederacy" is included.

Dates: 1890-1998

Elizabeth Van Lew Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 V32
Scope and Contents Papers, 1854-1926, collected by John Albree in preparing lectures on Elizabeth Van Lew. Includes letters, notes, newspaper clippings, and photographs. Includes typed copies of her scrapbook. Collection also includes material concerning Jefferson Davis and Civil War letters from North Carolina. Acc. 2000.54 is microfilm of the collection. Folders 1-10 of the Elizabeth Van Lew Papers are available in Swem Library’s microforms area on 1 reel of microfilm, call number E608 .V34...
Dates: 1854-1926

William F. Willoughby Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 72 W66
Scope and Contents Papers 1818-1955, of William Willoughby, economist, government official, director for the Institute of Research. The papers of William F. Willoughby, mostly concern his service as treasurer and secretary of Puerto Rico and as deputy legal adviser to President Yuan Shikai of China during the period when Yuan made an unsuccessful attempt to restore the monarchy to China by having himself crowned emperor. The collection includes personal correspondence of Willougby with his twin brother Westel...
Dates: 1818-1955; Majority of material found within 1891-1937

Samuel H. Yonge Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 Y8
Scope and Contents Papers, 1890-1935, of Samuel Humphreys Yonge. Yonge was an army engineer who worked on flood control projects and navigational improvements. Yonge was interested in excavations at Jamestown and Williamsburg, Va. and in archaeological projects throughout Virginia. Included is correspondence; early twentieth century photographs of ruins and excavations at Jamestown; notebooks of land patent abstracts and other notes concerning Jamestown; and printed material. The collection also includes an...
Dates: 1890-1935

Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Yorktown Branch Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 72 A57
Scope and Contents

This collection contains the records of the Yorktown Branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities (APVA). Included in the collection are minutes, correspondence, treasurer's records, photographs, and scrapbooks.

Dates: 1921-2013; Majority of material found in 1975-2005

Filtered By

  • Subject: Notebooks X
  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Photographs X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Photographs 23
Scrapbooks 10
Financial records 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 5
Certificates 4
∨ more
Legal documents 4
Manuscripts (document genre) 4
Minutes 4
Publications 4
Account books 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Lecture notes 3
Newspapers 3
Programs 3
Reports 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
World War, 1914-1918 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
Agendas (administrative records) 2
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 2
Diaries 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Negatives 2
Oral histories 2
Photocopies 2
Photostats 2
Poems 2
Postcards 2
Slides (photographs) 2
Speeches 2
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 2
Virginia--Religious history 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Women college students 2
Women--Education--Virginia 2
Women--Education--Virginia--History 2
Women--History--Virginia 2
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Address books 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
American foxhound 1
Archaeology--Methodology 1
Artifacts 1
Authors, American--20th century 1
Birthday cards 1
Broadsides 1
Buildings and Grounds--Lake Matoaka Ampitheatre 1
Buildings and Grounds--Landrum Hall 1
China--History--1912-1928 1
China--Politics and government--1912-1928 1
Christmas cards 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
College theater--United States 1
Deaf--Education--United States 1
Debt, Imprisonment for--Virginia 1
Diplomas 1
Dogs 1
Dogs--Bibliography 1
Dogs--History 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Essays 1
Figurines 1
Genealogy 1
German American literature--Publishing--Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.)--History 1
German Americans--Virginia 1
Gradebooks 1
Greeting cards 1
Historic sites--Conservation and restoration 1
Homosexuality and art 1
Homosexuality--Fiction. 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Indentures 1
Index Cards 1
Invitations 1
Invoices 1
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--17th century 1
Jamestown 350th Anniversary 1
Jamestown Festival (1957) 1
Letter books 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Lutheran Church--Virginia 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
German 2
Hebrew 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 3
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 2
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 2
∨ more
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 2
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Albree, John 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Yorktown Branch 1
Bell, Charles Heyer, 1798-1875 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Blizzard, Arlie Raymond (1909-1966) 1
Blizzard, Arthur Roy (1918-1992) 1
Blizzard, William Russell (1912-2000) 1
Bram, Christopher, 1952- 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Burke, Arleigh A., 1901-1996 1
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 1
Business and Professional Women's Club, Petersburg, Va 1
Carey family 1
Cary, Wilson Miles, 1838-1914 1
Close, Glenn, 1947- 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Culpeper family 1
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 1
Fairbanks, Douglas, 1909- 1
Fairfax, Sally, fl. 1771-1772 1
Fauquier, Francis, 1704?-1768 1
Ford, Worthington Chauncey, 1858-1941 1
Freeman, Douglas Southall, 1886-1953 1
Gilmer, Thomas Walker 1
Godson, Susan H. (Godson, Susan Hall), d. 2013 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Hall, Channing Moore, III 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Harrison, Fairfax, 1869-1938 1
Hatch, Charles Eldridge, 1913- 1
Jamestown Corporation 1
John L. Hall (Ship) 1
King, Ernest Joseph, 1878-1956 1
Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 1
Lavin, Linda, 1937- 1
Lee Family 1
Lee family 1
Lee, Edward Myers 1
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 1
Lee, Peticolas, 1904- 1
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 1
Long, William Ivey 1
Marshall, George C. (George Catlett), 1880-1959 1
McCully, Bruce T., circa 1904-1989 1
Newport News Women's Club (Va.) 1
Nimitz, Chester W., 1885-1966 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Patton, George S. (George Smith), 1885-1945 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Powell, William Devens 1
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945 1
Royall, Sarah Spottswood, 1888-1983 1
Scammon, Howard, 1911-1999 1
Skipwith family 1
Skipwith, Robert 1
Smith, Israel, Jr 1
Stanard, William G. 1
Stetson, Sarah 1
Surratt family 1
Swartout, Samuel, 1804-1867 1
Tayloe, John, fl. 1801 1
Torrence, Clayton, 1884-1953 1
Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972 1
Tyler Family 1
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 1
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 1
United Daughters of the Confederacy 1
United Daughters of the Confederacy, Williamsburg (Va.) Chapter 1
United Daughters of the Confederacy, Williamsburg Chapter 1
Van Lew, Elizabeth 1
Vaughan, Samuel 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
+ ∧ less