Skip to main content

Henkel Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 H38

Scope and Contents

Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education.

Mss poem with a hand decorated border added to Box 1, Folder 2.  A religious poem addressed chiefly to children, but also to fathers.  undated.

Index cards labeled "Henkel Imprints, Richmond Periodicals" which lists periodicals published in Richmond, Virginia.  Most of the periodicals are religious publications. Possibly prepared by a staff member of William and Mary. Undated.

Dates

  • 1783-1874

Language of Materials

English German Hebrew

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Family History:

The Henkel family established a German-American press in New Market, Va. (Shenandoah Valley) in 1816 and it continued in operation for many years. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki:

Extent

1.00 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Received and purchased

Related Materials:

A collection of broadsides produced by the Henkel printing press have been removed and placed in Rare Books. An inventory of these broadsides is available at Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library, College of William and Mary.

Related Materials

Rare Book BV4510 .F7 ABC-und Bilder-Buch by Ambrose Henkel. Published 1817. Includes woodcut prints by Ambrose Henkel. Other books published by Ambrose Henkel are in SCRC Rare Books.

General

Other Information:

A PDF document of this inventory is available online.

Additional information may be found at http://scrc.swem.wm.edu/findingaids/39_1_H38_Henkel.pdf
Title
Guide to the Henkel Family Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-07-27
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: