Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Indentures

 Subject
Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus

Found in 13 Collections and/or Records:

Baird Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B16
Scope and Contents Collection includes papers, 1656-1848, concerning Essex County, Va. including land records and wills, many of which relate to the Rowzee family. Many of the records date from the seventeenth century. The collection also includes correspondence, 1830-1920, of members of the Baird family including letters, 1859-1911, of Edward R. Baird while attending the University of Virginia, serving in Pickett's Division and as superintendent of schools in Essex County. There are also...

Henry Banks Indenture

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00181
Scope and Contents Indenture between Henry Banks, Richmond, Virginia (heir of John Banks) and Ichabod Burnet, late of Charleston, South Carolina with Nathaniel Greene of Charleston for land sold by John  McQueen of Charleston for lots in Brunswick, Georgia.  Signed by Henry Banks. Notarized by Archibald Blair, Notary Public in Richmond, Virginia and John Harvie, Mayor of Richmond. January 1786.  Includes a paper seal and partial red wax seal.

Framed Vellum English Indenture

 Collection — Box 1
Identifier: SC 00443
Content Description Framed Vellum English Indenture from 1693. One of the signatures is James Bond.

Henkel Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 H38
Scope and Contents Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education. Mss poem with a hand...

Indenture of William Harris to Robert Poasey

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00564
Scope and Contents Indenture of the apprenticeship by the Overseers for the Poor of the Parish of Bridgewater in Somerset of William Harris to Robert Poasey, a mason.  8 July. 1691.  DS.  1 p.

John Morton Jordan Estate Indenture

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01600
Scope and Contents Indenture between William Perkins, Thomas Buchanan and William Brown, London Merchants and Henry Holland, Halfmoon Street Piccadilly, builder and William Powell and Cordall Powell Ironmongers of Picaddilly in relation to the disposal of the lands, effects and tobacco shipments of the estate in Virginia of John Morton Jordan.  July 1, 1773.

Richard G. Joynt Collection of British Manuscripts

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00032
Scope and Contents Richard G. Joynt's collection of British manuscripts, from the 15th to the 20th century, of 88 letters and documents, 41 cut signatures, and many book engravings.  The authors and signatures include kings, queens, prime ministers, nobles, military officers, authors, and other dignitaries. Personal matters, military orders and letters, religion, treaties, politics, intrique, and much more are covered in these letters, often interwoven with current events.

The Reverend Henry Gardiner Lane Memorial Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 L24
Scope and Contents Correspondence, chiefly 1850-1900, of members of the family of Henry Gardiner Lane, an Episcopal clergyman of Mathews and Gloucester counties, Va. Correspondents include members of the Harrison, Randolph, and Lane families of Mathews and Gloucester counties, Va. Included are autograph and composition books, wills, certificates of indenture, Civil War pardon, Confederate bonds and almanacs. See Also: Southern Women and their Families in the 19th Century Papers and Diaries Series C...

Chester McNerney Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1984.57
Scope and Contents The collection consists of a variety of French, English, and American documents that span from the late thirteenth century to the year 1950. Series 1 contains medieval French and English land sale and grant documents on vellum written primarily in Latin from c.1290-1396. The French documents are from Caylus and Espinas, while the English documents are from Yorkshire. Series 2 contains English land transfer, indenture, and last will and testament documents on vellum...

William K. Perrin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 95 P42
Scope and Contents Business letters, 1833-1839, to Major William K. Perrin and 1855, 1860, to his son-in-law Wyndham Kemp, both of Gloucester County, Virginia from Perrin's step-son Robert W. Nicolson in Uniontown, Perry County, Alabama, about the management of a cotton plantation. Letters mention purchasing land, growing and selling cotton management of slaves, legal and banking matters and uprising of the Creek Indians. Papers, 1800-1855 and n.d., relating to the hiring out and management of slaves of...