Sara Spotswood Royall Papers
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Notebook of newspaper clippings and jottings of Sara Spottswood Royall of Petersburg, Va. Clippings pertain to the Business and Professional Women's Club of Petersburg, Va. Collection includes correspondence, speech, photograph, copies of her obituary and materials relating to Samuel F. Royall's service in World War I in the United States Army. Additions to the collection are the obituaries of Samuel F. Royall, Jr., a Williamsburg, Va. printer, correspondence, clippings, publications, and two yearbooks of the American Association of University Women.
"Blue Jackets Manual, U.S. Navy" 1917 from Accession 1996.37 transferred to Rare Books.
Original Accession and additions physically and intellectually combined in 2009. Descriptions and inventory of all accessions are on the Inventory/Finding Aid.
Dates
- Creation: 1900-1983
Creator
- Royall, Sarah Spottswood, 1888-1983 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
Sara Spottswood Royall was president of the Business and Professional Women's Club of Petersburg, Va., and worked as an agent for the Northwest Mutual Life Insurance Company. She served in World War I. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .
Extent
0.30 Linear Feet
Arrangement of Materials:
Accession Number order.
Acquisition Information:
Gifts
Separated Materials:
"Blue Jackets Manual, U.S. Navy" 1917 from Accession 1996.37 transferred to Rare Books.
General
Other Information:
A PDF document of this inventory is available online.
Additional information may be found at http://scrc.swem.wm.edu/findingaids/1996_27_Royall_Papers.pdf
Processing Information:
Processed by Ellen Strong in 1996.
Subject
- Business and Professional Women's Club, Petersburg, Va (Organization)
- Title
- Guide to the Sara Spotswood Royall Papers
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Ellen Strong.
- Date
- 2007-07-11
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository