Letters, receipts and legal papers of U. S. Senator Thomas S. Martin relating chiefly to his law practice in Charlottesville and Scottsville, Va.
Letters and accounts of William Massie, farmer, plantation owner, slave owner, and miller of "Pharsalia" and Tye River Mills, Nelson County, Va. Correspondents include Nathaniel Francis Cabell and Chiswell Dabney. Letters discuss life in Nelson County, agriculture, slavery, milling, and other subjects.
This collection consists of a bound notebook that contains the bylaws, minutes, and other material related to the Matron's Circle of Mount Independence Grange, a social and sewing circle located in Falmouth, Maine. The bulk of the notebook contains the minutes of the organization, but also includes a list of members of the circle, as well as a loose treasurer's report. A description of the notebook provided by the seller can be found in the Finding Aid/Box List section below.
Papers, 1859-1898, of the McAden and Hicks families of Brunswick County, Va. Includes letters, 1880-1898, accounts and legal documents.
Chiefly invitations received by Sally McDowell. Includes printed invitations, 1839, to [George] Washington "Birthnight Ball" held by students at the College of William and Mary; invitation, 1839, to attend a party given at the Bell Tavern; silhouettes, n. d., of Sally McDowell and Dr. [?] McDowell; program, 1851, of entertainment given in London for [Abbott Lawrence]; and account, 1861-1865, of Lilly McDowell.
Receipts, 20-22 December 1834, issued by the receiver's office in Columbus, Miss. for land payment, signed by W. P. Harris.
Letter, 8 Aug[us]t 1818, from James Tatum, n.p., to Cornelius Nash, n.p., concerning money; accounts, 1808-1809, of Cornelius Nash with William Smith; and account, 1830, for goods bought by D. Nash & Co.
Receipt books, 1811-1837, for cash money paid out by Hudson Martin, sheriff, and Nicholas L. Martin, deputy sheriff, of Nelson County, Virginiaa. which includes memoranda, 1826 and 1828, of the birth dates of Jane L. Martin and Henry B. Martin.
This collection contains college catalogs, commencement programs, form letters about registration, and other college publications; receipts for post office box and tuition; membership cards for Women Students' Cooperative Government Association and student activities; buttons with busts of George and Martha Washington honoring the bicentennial of Washington's birth; and other material from Nettles' college years.
Papers, 1862-1870, of Doctor James Bolton and Edward B. Newburn. Includes letters, 1867-1868, to James Bolton of Richmond, Va. from Edward B. Newburn, his guardian, from "Pleasant Oaks," Fluvanna County, Richmond, Va. seeking an extension of farm credit as well as accounts of Newburn and Bolton. Dr. James Bolton of Richmond, Va. noted oculist, was the guardian of Edward B. Newburn.
Accounts, 1868-1889, of Doctor W. H. Macon as agent for the Newcastle estate ["Newcastle," Hanover County, Va. ?] Includes an agreement, his account sheets and accounts with farm laborers.
Invoices, receipts and related material for financial transactions during the nineteenth century, mostly in Virginia and on the East Coast. The collection is arranged alphabetically by the name attached to the document, with usually one document per name. Many items do not have locations, but most are in Virginia. These items give an overview of the types of goods purchased and the price of these purchases during the nineteenth century.
Papers, 1828-1886, of Samuel Paul, merchants of Mt. Solon, Va. and who served as Augusta County, Va. Sheriff, 1866-1869, and Treasurer, 1870-1882. Includes correspondence with merchants in Richmond and Staunton, Va., Baltimore, Md. and Philadelphia, Pa.; receipts; legal agreements; tax records; business and animal licenses; and instructions given to county officials from state officials. Collection also includes scrapbooks, [post 1850]-1886, kept by Araminta G. Paul and Blanche Paul.