Parker Family Papers
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
This collection contains papers related to the Parker family, notably Lena Parker and Bessie Parker of Cumberland County, Virginia. The bulk of the letters are from Harry Leach and Edward Embly, both living in Washington, D.C., which contain descriptions of everyday life. Other letters are from friends, family, the State Teachers College, schools where Lena Parker taught, and from children she had taught. The collection also includes photographs, greeting cards, and genealogical material. concerning the Parker family.
Dates
- Creation: 1923-1939
Creator
- Parker, Lena Augusta, ca. 1902 - (Person)
- Parker, Bessie, ca. 1905 - (Person)
- Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) (Organization)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
Lena Augusta Parker lived in Cartersville, Cumberland County, Virginia. She was born about 1902, the daughter of Early E. and Nellie Parker. Her sister was Bessie Parker. She attended the Virginia State Teacher's College in Farmville, Virginia and taught school in various schools in Cumberland County, Virginia.
Extent
1.00 Linear Feet
Arrangement of Materials:
The collection is arranged into 7 series: Series 1: Correspondence; Series 2: Greeting Cards, Insurance Information and Booklets; Series 3: Photographs and Negatives; Series 4: Lena Parker Papers; Series 5: The Rotunda; Series 6: Notebook; Series 7: Genealogical Notes.
Acquisition Information:
Gift of Miss Bessie Parkerthrough the Williamsburg Historic Records Association.
Subject
- Virginia State Teacher’s College at Farmville, Virginia (Organization)
- Title
- Guide to the Parker Family Papers
- Author
- Anne Johnson.
- Date
- 2009-04-16
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- English.
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository