Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 105

Office of the Vice President for Administration Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 97
Scope and Contents Acc. 2008.052 contains property files related to buildings owned or leased by William and Mary. Acc. 2010.253 contains correspondence, reports, and other office files from the Office of Administration from 1988 to 2006. The bulk of the files deal with various construction projects on campus, including Small Hall, Swem Library, Barrett Hall, and the School of Business. There are also budget files from both state and private funds. Acc. 2014.091 contains construction...

American Association of University Professors, College of William and Mary Chapter Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 16
Scope and Contents Records pertaining to the beginning of an AAUP chapter at the College of William and Mary including minutes, notes, and drafts.  Also included is information about the national, regional and local AAUP. The collection includes: minutes; constitution and by-laws with amendments; correspondence; publications; treasurer's reports; press releases; and interviews. This material deals with fringe benefits and compensation; higher education; academic policy; faculty participation in university...

American Studies Program Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 190
Scope and Contents Acc. 2011.092 contains correspondence and subect files from the American Studies program at the College of William & Mary from 1982 to 2005. Some of the topics covered in this accession include The Tercentenary celebration of the 300th Anniversary of the College, committee meeting minutes and agendas, and information about the program itself. This collection also includes fliers, memos, and graduate handbooks of the American Studies Program at the College of William and Mary...

Department of Anthropology Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 201
Scope and Contents Acc. 2008.088 contains correspondence, subject files, committee meeting reports, and annual reports from the Department of Anthropology from 1975-2007.  Some of the topics include colloquiums put on by the department; various projects conducted by the department, including Fort Christiana and Kingsmill; and correspondence with professional organizations such as the Virginia Anthropology Consortium, American Anthropological Association, and Society for Cultural Anthropology. This...

Author in Residence Program Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 185
Scope and Contents

This collection contains fliers from the Author in Residence Program at the College of William and Mary.  The English Department offers the program to help fill its course offerings each year by inviting a known fiction author.

Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 B31
Scope and Contents Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...

Board of Visitors Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 1
Scope and Contents The records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary includes meeting minutes and agendas, matriculation books, correspondence, material from Board of Visitors Rectors Oscar L. Shewmake and Roy Harvey Chappell, Jr., publications, and audio recordings of meetings from 1961-1999. An index to Board of Visitors meetings for the period 1947-1984 is available in the Special Collections Research Center. Researchers are also encouraged to consult the University...

Office of the President. John Stewart Bryan Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.10
Scope and Contents Due to the fragility of this collection, patrons must use the microfilm copy. The microfilm and microfilm readers can be found on the Ground Floor of Swem Library (call number LD6051 .W517 1934 B79, reels 1-24). [Originals are stored off-site.] Records from the administration of College of William and Mary President John Stewart Bryan for the years 1934-1942. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have...

School of Business Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 312
Scope and Contents

The records of the Mason School of Business at the College of William and Mary include correspondence, reports, publications, photographs, and other material. These records originated in the Office of the Dean as well as other units of the school.

Campaign for the College Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 17
Scope and Contents

Collection includes calendars, correspondence, minutes, and committee records during the Campaign for the College from 1975-1978.

Campbell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C16
Scope and Contents Papers of four generations of the Campbell family of Orange Co., Va. including correspondence of William Campbell (1755-1823). His papers pertain to Revolutionary pensions, bounty land claims, the War of 1812, his superintendency of the Virginia State Penitentary, and his estate and includes a diary of a trip to Kentucky in 1798. There are also papers (correspondence and accounts) of his wife, Mrs. Susan Campbell and their children. The collection includes papers of the Graves family and...

Capital Outlay Records

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: 00/02/02/UA 343
Scope and Contents Acc. 1984.064 contains capital outlay requests from 1954 to 1978 prepared for the state government; they include the justification for each project, the amount of money needed, the amount available for other funds, and the amount being requested from the state. Acc. 1991.038 contains correspondence, progress reports, and other information relating to capital outlay projects at William and Mary and the Virginia Institute of Marine Science from 1980 to 1988. Acc....

Miles L. Chappell, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.034
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of the personal papers of Miles L. Chappell, Jr., a professor in the Department of Fine Arts at the College of William and Mary. The papers contain correspondence between Prof. Chappell and other staff in the Department of Fine Arts; subject files; a scrapbook of clippings about the Department of Fine Arts; and photographs and negative of various Department of Fine Arts events.

Henry Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.101
Scope and Contents This collection contains news clippings, correspondence, reports, and other material related to the "Dorm-In" protest by students in October 1969. The "Dorm-In" was to protest the current College regulations about how long women could stay in male dormitories after football games on Saturday. The students wanted to stay longer than the College regulations stated and 10 students were suspended for violating those rules. The bulk of the records come from the Ad Hoc Committee to Investigate the...

College Papers Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 14
Scope and Contents

This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.

Counseling Center Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 328
Scope and Contents

Acc. 2010.281 contains administrative files from the office of the Director of the Counseling Center from 1994-2006. Included in the files are annual reports, statistics, and budget material. Acc. T2012.006 contains annual reports and various surveys.

Alexander M. Davis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D30
Scope and Contents

Correspondence and accounts of Alexander Mathews Davis, lawyer of Grayson County, Va. Includes several Civil War letters.

Jo Ann Davis Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.111
Scope and Contents Records of United States Representative Jo Ann Davis, Congresswoman from Virginia's First District from 2000 to 2007.  The Papers are mostly legislative material where she was involved either as an originator of or co-signer to Dear Colleague letters or as a sponsor or co-sponsor to legislation, but also includes speeches, press releases and office files. The first folder in the first box contains news clippings, biographical information, list of staff members and definitions of...

Richard J. Davis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 86 D27
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1975-1985, of Richard J. Davis, mayor of Portsmouth, Virginia and lieutenant governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The papers pertain primarily to his administration as lieutenant governor and include correspondence with politicians and constituents, personal correspondence, campaign material, speeches, newspaper clippings, photographs and a videocassette of Davis and his family discussing his years as a student at William & Mary, and his career.

Office of the Dean of Students Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/23/UA 44
Scope and Contents

This collection is stored off-site.  At least 72 hours is required for retrieval.

This collection consists of subject files, reports, and other material from the Office of the Dean of Students at the College of William and Mary. More information about this collection can be found in the finding aid/box list section of this finding aid.

Office of the Dean of the College Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 104
Scope and Contents Acc. 1979.031: This accession contains office files from 1920-1942. Acc. 1983.085: This accession contains office files from the 1940s and 1950s. These include reports of the Curriculum Committee, correspondence with the President and others, materials from the faculty protest of 1951, letters of faculty appointments and salaries, and selective service classifications of faculty members. Acc. 1998.091: Records of Kremer Jacob Hoke, 1920s-1930s. This accession contains...

Office of the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/01/UA 22
Scope and Contents Acc. 1979.037: Records of W. Melville Jones, 1954-1967. This accession contains ten boxes of subject files arranged alphabetically. The inventory for this accession is available in the box list section of this finding aid. Acc. 1979.038: Records of James Wilkinson Miller, 1940s. This accession contains faculty inactive files and office files. Part of  the correspondence was removed to Acc. 1979.037. Acc. 1982.070: Office files, 1961-1979. This accession includes...

Office of the Dean of Undergraduate Studies Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 108
Scope and Contents Acc. 1992.034: Correspondence; reports of the Academic Status Committee (1982) and Educational Policy Committee (1988-1989). Acc. 2000.013 and 2002.040: Records of the Educational Policy Committee, material for the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV), and other material. Acc. 2008.057: Records of the International Studies Committee.  Includes minutes and agendas of meetings, correspondence, and reports from 1979-2001. Acc. 2008.060:...

Office of the Dean of Women Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 24
Scope and Contents Acc. 1983.074: Student Activity Notebooks, 1936-1948. This accession contains loose-leaf notebooks with the names of female students and the activities they took part in. It also contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs about women's activities, arranged by year.Acc. 1983.094: Office Records, 1928-1936. This accession includes correspondence and reports. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.The collection also includes memos,...

Charles J. Duke, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.065
Scope and Contents This collection includes memorabilia, resolutions, early William and Mary campus photographs, clippings, and correspondence of Charles J. Duke, Jr. Correspondence, reports and photographs relate to Charles Duke's position as the Bursar of the College of William and Mary. Of particular importance is the material on the Norfolk and Richmond Divisions which later became Old Dominion University and Virginia Commonwealth University, especially the correspondence of Director William T. Hodges....

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Reports X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Reports 104
Correspondence 99
Financial records 35
Minutes 30
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 29
∨ more
Photographs 28
Agendas (administrative records) 16
College of William and Mary--Students 13
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 12
Fliers (printed matter) 12
Publications 10
Scrapbooks 10
Speeches 10
Legal documents 9
Memorandums 9
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 9
Class materials 8
Newsletters 8
Programs 8
Charter Day 7
Technical reports 7
Virginia--Politics and Government 7
Letters (correspondence) 6
Pamphlets 6
Press releases 6
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 6
Graduation (School) 5
Receipts (financial records) 5
Summer sessions 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 5
World War, 1939-1945 5
Announcements 4
Athletics 4
Certificates 4
Clippings (information artifacts) 4
Diaries 4
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 4
Fundraising campaigns 4
Invitations 4
Invoices 4
Manuscripts (document genre) 4
Microfilms 4
Notebooks 4
Sound Recordings 4
United States--Politics and Government 4
Universities and colleges--Administration--United States 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 4
Affirmative action programs 3
Buildings and Grounds 3
Bylaws 3
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 3
College of William and Mary--University Development 3
Course work 3
Diplomas 3
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 3
Genealogy 3
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Petitions 3
Photocopies 3
Resolutions (administrative records) 3
Self Study--1974 3
Speeches, addresses, etc. 3
Surveys (documents) 3
Typescripts 3
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 3
Universities and Colleges--Finance 3
Vertical Files 3
Video recordings 3
Virginia--Governors 3
Virginia--Politics and government--20th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Women college students 3
Women--History--Virginia 3
World War, 1914-1918 3
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 2
American Revolution--Veterans 2
Associated and Branch Campuses--Richmond Professional Institute 2
Awards and scholarships 2
Business records 2
College of William and Mary--Commencement 2
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 2
Communism--Post 1945 2
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Curriculum 2
Curriculum--History 2
Degrees--Honorary 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 2
Endowments 2
Ledgers (Accounting) 2
Maps 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Membership lists 2
Mental illness--Treatment--History 2
Mental illness--Treatment--United States 2
Mental illness--United States 2
Negatives 2
∧ less
 
Language
English 103
French 3
German 2
Latin 1
Portuguese 1
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 11
Office of the President 10
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 9
College of William and Mary. 8
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 7
∨ more
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 7
College of William and Mary. School of Education 7
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 7
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 7
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 7
College of William and Mary 6
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 6
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 5
Development Office--Endowment Association 5
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 5
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 5
Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus 4
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 4
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 4
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
Democratic Party (U.S.) 4
Self Study 4
United States Congress 4
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 3
Chandler, Alvin Duke, 1902-1987 3
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 3
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 3
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Physics 3
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Religious Studies 3
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 3
College of William and Mary. Project Plus 3
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Dept. of Anthropology 3
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 3
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 3
Office of the Vice President for Administration 3
Office of the Vice President for Finance 3
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 3
School of Education 3
Verkuil, Paul R 3
Virginia State Senate 3
American Library Association 2
Associated and Branch Campuses--Richard Bland College 2
Bateman, Herbert Harvell, 1928-2000 2
College of William and Mary Endowment Association 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Art and Art History 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Biology 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Government 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Psychology 2
College of William and Mary. Office of Grants and Research Administration 2
College of William and Mary. Office of Student Affairs 2
College of William and Mary. Office of University Development 2
Dept. of Fine Arts 2
Dept. of History 2
Dept. of Physical Education 2
Dept. of Physics 2
Dept. of Religious Studies 2
Dept. of Sociology 2
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 2
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr., 1924- 2
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 2
Joseph and Margaret Muscarelle Museum of Art 2
Mason School of Business 2
Miller, James Wilkinson, 1902- 2
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 2
Office of Student Affairs 2
Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs. 2
Order of the White Jacket 2
Pollard, John Garland, 1871-1937 2
Swem Library 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
United States. National Park Service 2
American Association of University Professors 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Austrian Foundation 1
American Red Cross 1
American Red Cross in France 1
American Studies Program 1
Andrews, Robert, 1743?-1804 1
Associated and Branch Campuses--Continuous Electron Beam Accelerator Facility (CEBAF) 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities--History. 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Jamestown Rediscovery 1
Atlantic Institute of Foreign Affairs 1
Austen, Jane, 1775-1817 1
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Booth family 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1947 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bundles for Britain, Inc 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Susan, Mrs. 1
Campbell, William, 1755-1823 1
Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching 1
∧ less