Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1176 - 1186 of 1186

Woodbridge Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.09
Scope and Contents

Papers relating to the Woodbridge and Mendenhall Families including materials of Julia Woodbridge Oxrieder, folklorist and author; her brother, Hensley Woodbridge, a bibliographer of Latin American literature; and their parents, Dean of the College of William and Mary Law School,  Dudley Woodbridge and his wife. Some material relates to Williamsburg, Virginia. The collection includes diaries, scrapbooks, photographs and other materials.

Dates: 1927-2001

Archibald Woods Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W87
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1783-1846, of Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia. The papers concern his family, the Poage family, and the Houston family, as well as his business dealings. Correspondents include Levi Barber, Daniel Call, Philip Doddridge, Chapman Johnson, Henry Lee, James Pindall, Benjamin Ruggles, Daniel Sheffey and John Tyler, Edgar Campbell Wilson, George Washington Wilson and Thomas Wilson. Subjects dealt with in the collection include banking, cholera, the Cumberland Road,...
Dates: 1777-1846; Majority of material found in 1783-1846

Woolfolk Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 W88
Scope and Contents Papers of the Woolfolk family of Caroline County, Virginia including correspondence and accounts of John George Woolfolk, Jourdan Woolfolk, Pichegru Woolfolk and John William Woolfolk. The collection includes correspondence, accounts and vouchers for the stage line run by the Woolfolk family (Allen &  Woolfolk; Jourdan Woolfolk & Company; and Woolfolk &  Hoomes). Includes records of routes, rates, supplies, arrangements for layover of passengers and mail contracts of the Potomac...
Dates: 1775-1893

C. L. Worthington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W89
Scope and Contents The collection also contains miscellaneous manuscripts and account books. Included in this material are: land grants, 1761 and 1766, for land in Fairfax and Frederick counties, Va.; eighty-five survey maps of Frederick, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties, Va. and Berkeley and Hampshire counties, W. Va.; road petitions, 1743-1828, for Frederick County; affidavits for Revolutionary War service; correspondence, 1923-1930, of the Improved Order of Redmen, Great Council of Virginia; letters written...
Dates: 1752-1938

Thomas G. Wynne Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00041
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters, sermons, financial records and other material pertaining to Thomas G. Wynne of James City County Virginia. Wynne graduated from William & Mary as the valedictorian in 1854, and a copy of his valedictory speech is included in the collection along with his diploma. After graduation, Wynne taught in the James City County schools, and a sample report card from the 1880s can be found in the collection. Also included in the collection is Wynne's William &...
Dates: circa 1853-1891

George Wythe Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 W99
Scope and Contents Copies of letters, 1781-1783, from George Wythe, Williamsburg, Va. , one to John Adams and another to Thomas Jefferson concerning the use of the College of William and Mary as a hospital. Also includes a magazine article about Wythe; newspaper copy of William Munford's oration at Wythe's funeral; correspondence, 1921, of Robert M. Hughes concerning a monument for Wythe's grave; a form book of Peter Tinsley, clerk of the High Court of Chancery which gives "Forms of Injunctions," Forms of...
Dates: 1779-1927

George Wythe Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00600
Scope and Contents Manuscript in the hand of and signed by George Wythe, giving legal advice to the recipient who purchased land from John Twitty, the title which could be subject to the payment of a judgment recovered by the King against Twitty in a case before the General Court.  If John Twitty will not recant the bonds for payment of the purchase money, Wythe advises the recipient not to pay the money until the suit is ended or until he can be assured he will not be evicted. October 13, 1774....
Dates: 1774 October 13, 1801 January 26

Yeaman and Walker Family Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.542
Scope and Contents The Yeaman and Walker Family Collection consists mainly of correspondence and financial records of the Yeaman and Walker families, mostly relating to tobacco farming in Virginia between 1840 and 1910.  The predominant locations are Pittsylvania County, Botetourt County, Charlotte County, Lynchburg, and Danville. Letters demonstrate economic stress after the Civil War, particularly as it relates to crop and livestock prices. Other topics discussed include sickness and deaths of children and...
Dates: 1836-1937; Majority of material found in 1850-1910

Samuel H. Yonge Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 Y8
Scope and Contents Papers, 1890-1935, of Samuel Humphreys Yonge. Yonge was an army engineer who worked on flood control projects and navigational improvements. Yonge was interested in excavations at Jamestown and Williamsburg, Va. and in archaeological projects throughout Virginia. Included is correspondence; early twentieth century photographs of ruins and excavations at Jamestown; notebooks of land patent abstracts and other notes concerning Jamestown; and printed material. The collection also includes an...
Dates: 1890-1935

Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Yorktown Branch Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 72 A57
Scope and Contents

This collection contains the records of the Yorktown Branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities (APVA). Included in the collection are minutes, correspondence, treasurer's records, photographs, and scrapbooks.

Dates: 1921-2013; Majority of material found in 1975-2005

Anton Zeithammel Vietnam War Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00021
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of over 50 letters written by Corporal Anton "Tony" Zeithammel of the 3rd Marine Division while serving in Vietnam. The letters are addressed to his parents in Battle Creek, Michigan, and concern day-to-day military activities and news from home. Most of the original envelopes have been preserved.

Dates: 1968-1969

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Correspondence X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 950
Photographs 234
Letters (correspondence) 229
Financial records 223
Legal documents 142
∨ more
Reports 104
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 102
Receipts (financial records) 95
Diaries 81
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 80
Scrapbooks 80
Manuscripts (document genre) 73
Account books 68
Minutes 67
College of William and Mary--Students 64
Programs 62
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 58
Clippings (information artifacts) 52
Publications 52
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 51
Notebooks 51
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 48
Genealogy 46
World War, 1939-1945 46
Fliers (printed matter) 43
Certificates 41
Typescripts 40
Pamphlets 36
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 36
Agendas (administrative records) 35
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 35
Speeches 35
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 34
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 31
United States--Politics and Government 30
Printed ephemera 28
Virginia--Genealogy 26
Newsletters 25
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 25
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 25
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 23
Postcards 23
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 23
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 22
Poems 22
Speeches, addresses, etc. 22
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 21
Invitations 21
Invoices 21
Photocopies 21
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 21
Newspapers 19
World War, 1914-1918 19
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 18
Photostats 17
Virginia--Governors 17
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 17
Class materials 16
Memorandums 16
United States--History--War of 1812 16
Virginia--Religious history 16
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 16
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 15
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 15
Virginia--History 15
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 15
Ledgers (Accounting) 14
United States--Religious History--Christianity 14
Virginia--Politics and Government 14
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 14
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 14
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 14
Women--History--Virginia 14
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 13
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 13
Transcripts 13
United States--Economic history 13
Video recordings 13
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 13
Booklets 12
Deeds 12
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 12
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 12
Practice of law--Virginia--History 12
United States--Slavery 12
Virginia--History--20th century 12
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 11
Maps 11
Petitions 11
Research notes 11
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 11
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 11
Soldiers--United States--Correspondence 11
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 11
United States--Revolutionary War--1775-1783 11
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 11
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 11
Charter Day 10
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 10
Engravings (Prints) 10
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 1174
French 24
German 17
Latin 8
Spanish; Castilian 6
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 69
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 37
College of William and Mary. 27
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 21
Office of the President 19
∨ more
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 19
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 18
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 17
College of William and Mary 15
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 15
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 14
University of Virginia 13
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 12
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 12
Virginia House of Delegates 12
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 11
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 11
Madison, James, 1749-1812 11
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 10
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 10
Tyler Family 10
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 9
College of William and Mary. School of Education 9
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 9
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 9
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 8
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 8
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 8
United States Congress 8
Virginia State Senate 8
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 7
Democratic Party (U.S.) 7
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 7
Galt family 7
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 7
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 7
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 7
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 7
Washington, George, 1732-1799 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 6
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 6
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 6
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 6
Development Office--Endowment Association 6
Mahone, William, 1826-1895 6
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 6
Whig Party (U.S.) 6
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 5
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 5
Democratic Party (Va.) 5
Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 5
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 5
Republican Party (U.S.) 5
Tucker 5
Tyler family 5
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 5
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 5
United States. Army. 5
Verkuil, Paul R 5
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 5
American Red Cross 4
Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus 4
Braxton family 4
Brown family 4
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 4
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 4
Chandler, Alvin Duke, 1902-1987 4
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 4
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 4
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 4
College of William and Mary. Project Plus 4
Daingerfield family 4
Dept. of History 4
Gary Alonzo Barranger 4
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 4
Greenia, George D. 4
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 4
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 4
Jackson, Andrew, 1767-1845 4
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 4
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 4
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 4
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 4
Madison, James, 1751-1836 4
Madison, James, Jr., 1751-1836 4
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 4
Order of the White Jacket 4
Robinson Family 4
Self Study 4
Short, William (1759-1849) 4
Smith family 4
Student Life--1990's 4
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
William III, King of England, 1650-1702 4
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 4
Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848 3
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 3
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 3
+ ∧ less