Skip to main content

Dudley Woodbridge Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 89 W85
Speeches and newspaper clippings relating to the career of Dudley Warner Woodbridge, who was professor, 1927-1966, and Dean of the Law school at the College of William and Mary. Also includes photographs and letters written to him on the occasion of his retirement.

Dates

  • 1897-1969

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Extent

5.50 Linear Feet

Biographical Information:

Dudley Warner Woodbridge was professor and dean of the law school at the College of William and Mary from 1927 to 1966.

Arrangement of Materials:

Acc. 1994.2 and 1993.57 were combined before inventory prepared.

Accession 2002.09, mentioned on the inventory, is filed separately as Acc. 2002.09 Woodbridge Family Papers.

Original Accession and additions  intellectually combined in 2009.

Acquisition Information:

These materials were donated to the Special Collections Research Center in numerous batches by Julia Woodbridge Oxrieder, Parke Rouse, Jr., and by the W&M Law School between 1991 and 2002.

Separated Materials:

Artifacts transferred to the Manuscripts Artifact Collection (Mss. 1.03) include Phi Alpha Delta Legal Fraternity Pin (1993.64.01) and WWII Selective Service Medal and Bars (1994.02.01)

Phi Beta Kappa charm, 1959, transferred to the artifact collection.
Title
Guide to the Dudley Woodbridge Papers
Author
Tyler Giannini (1990).
Date
2007-02-22
Description rules
dacs
Language of description
English

Revision Statements

  • May 24th, 2018: Original Accession and additions  intellectually combined in 2009 and shelved adjacent to one another.

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: