Skip to main content

Winged Nation Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.070

Scope and Contents

This collection contains fliers, letters, awards and other material related to Winged Nation, a literary arts magazine at the College of William and Mary. Included in the records is a copy of Winged Nation's constitution from 1995, proofs for the magazine, and fundraising material to support Winged Nation. Two CDs of digital files from the April 2008 and 2012 issues of Winged Nation as well as a floppy disk and a zip drive labelled "William and Mary Book" are also included.

Dates

  • 1995-2011
  • Majority of material found in 1995-2001

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Historical Note:

Winged Nation, a literary magazine published by students at the College of William and Mary, was founded in 1995. The magazine was started as a women's literary magazine.

Extent

0.30 Linear Feet

Arrangement of Materials:

This collection is not yet fully arranged and described. Researchers may wish to consult with a staff member for further information in advance of using the collection.

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 2014.068 was hand-delivered to Special Collections by the donors on 4/22/2014.

Related Materials:

Women's Studies Program Records (UA 364), University Archives Poster Collection (UA 12)

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally described by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in June 2014.

Creator

Title
Guide to the Winged Nation Records
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist.
Date
2014-06-11
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: