Skip to main content

C. L. Worthington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 W89

Scope and Contents

The collection also contains miscellaneous manuscripts and account books. Included in this material are: land grants, 1761 and 1766, for land in Fairfax and Frederick counties, Va.; eighty-five survey maps of Frederick, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties, Va. and Berkeley and Hampshire counties, W. Va.; road petitions, 1743-1828, for Frederick County; affidavits for Revolutionary War service; correspondence, 1923-1930, of the Improved Order of Redmen, Great Council of Virginia; letters written to W. H. H. Flick; account books of merchants in Frederick County, , Lexington, Va. and Harrisonburg, Va.; and account books of the Richmond Whig (1837), the Lexington Gazette; and the Southern Collegian (student newspaper at Washington and Lee College). There is also a daybook which contains copies of letters, notes and bonds written by Philip Nelson to Powhatan R. Page; notes on the Washington and Custis families and the building of "Arlington"; and notes concerning John Randolph of Roanoke and the Underwood Constitutional Convention in Richmond.

Dates

  • 1752-1938

Language of Materials

English

Physical Description

6096.00 items

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Biographical Information:

C. L. Worthington was the owner of the Green Bookman Shops, located in Richmond and Charlottesville. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki:

Extent

13.50 Linear Feet