Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Fauquier County (Va.)--History

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 5 Collections and/or Records:

Chappelear Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C38
Scope and Contents Papers, 1876-1959, of Benjamin Curtis Chappelear including manuscript and printed maps of Fauquier, Loudoun, Clarke, and Warren counties, Va.; Virginia state maps; United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey Maps of areas in Virginia and West Virginia; notes concerning land records and manuscript volumes which include account books collected by Chappelear of blacksmiths, farmers, postmasters, students, tanners, and operators of general stores. The collection also includes...

Fauquier County, Va. Merchant's Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame27u Oversize
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1853-1854, of an unidentified merchant at Salem [now Marshall] Fauquier County, Va. which was also used as an expense book, 1906- 1933.

Virginia Counties Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.

Welch Family Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad239-258
Scope and Contents Account books of several generations of the Welch family of Fauquier County, Virginia. The earliest book includes notes, 1767-1778, of Thomas Glascock. The early volumes were probably kept by or for Sylvester Welch (1764-1832), the later ones by or for Sylvester Welch (b. 1800).The latter Welch seems to have been a merchant and owner of grist mills. One book, 1852-1856, includes ledger accounts with free blacks as well as with slaves. The volume, 1878-1880, concerns a farm. There...

C. L. Worthington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 W89
Scope and Contents The collection also contains miscellaneous manuscripts and account books. Included in this material are: land grants, 1761 and 1766, for land in Fairfax and Frederick counties, Va.; eighty-five survey maps of Frederick, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties, Va. and Berkeley and Hampshire counties, W. Va.; road petitions, 1743-1828, for Frederick County; affidavits for Revolutionary War service; correspondence, 1923-1930, of the Improved Order of Redmen, Great Council of Virginia; letters written...