Manuscripts (document genre)
Found in 114 Collections and/or Records:
James M. Owens Collection of Madison Family Material
Correspondence, notes, typescripts, and genealogical charts of James M. Owens concerning genealogy of the Madison family of Virginia with emphasis on President James Madison and Bishop James Madison. Includes photocopies of letters of President James Madison and Bishop James Madison; and two original letters, 1804 and 1832, of James Madison and one, 1846, of John Quincy Adams.
Pace Family Papers
Genealogy material of the Pace Family of Virginia and other branches in the United States.
John Tayloe Perrin Papers
Papers, 1770-1931, of the Perrin family of Gloucester County, Va. Chiefly the diaries and writings of John Tayloe Perrin. Includes farm books, scrapbooks, accounts, wills, and articles by Perrin.
Office of the President. James Blair Records
Office of the President. Lyon Gardiner Tyler Records
Charles L. Quittmeyer Papers
The collection includes: notes and background materials gathered by Professor Charles Quittmeyer for use in writing his work "The Development of Business Administration as a Field of Study at William and Mary" (1984); course materials and syllabi; student papers; office files; and other material.
Anthony Reiff Papers
Two incomplete speeches of Anthony Reiff, President of the Musical Mutual Protective Union, New York and an incomplete diary (journal), written as if a book with chapters and page numbers, of a trip beginning in 1856 where he traveled in the United States and Europe. He talks of music venues, performers, composers and his personal experiences.
William Eldon Rice Papers
One green binder 9" x 11.5" containing "Computers in Marketing: A Compilation of Information Sources," compiled by William Rice, and a class paper written by Rice entitled "The Computer as a Marketing Tool."
P. Burwell Rogers Papers
Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. Papers
Shelton H. Short III Papers
Sixty-Seventh Field Hospital Collection
The 67th Field Hospital Collection contains documents and photographs depicting the history of the 67th Field Hospital during the European Theater of World War II and the 17 reunions of the 67th Field Hospital held from 1986 to 2002.
Abbot E. Smith Papers
Research notes, 1930-1939, compiled by historian Abbot E. Smith for his monograph, Colonists in Bondage: White Servitude and Convict Labor in America, 1607-1766. His notes cover indentured servitude in the colonies -- convicts shipped to the colonies, legal status of indentured servants and their life in the colonies during the 17th and 18th centuries.
Caskie Stinnett Papers
Strother Family Papers
Four volumes of Strother family genealogy and one newsletter. Included are "Houses of Strother: Descendants of William Strother I, King George County, Virginia," Vols. I & II.
Timothy J. Sullivan Papers, 1982-2012
Personal papers of Timothy J. Sullivan.. Acc. 2008.138 includes material from the Board of Education, Sullivan's memorandum from the governor's office, and material from Sullivan's participation in the Governor's Task Force on Substance Abuse and Sexual Assault.
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Ten Years' War Collection
Two manuscripts and an accompanying letter describing an insurrection in Cuba during the Ten Years' War. The manuscripts give an account of how many insurgents were killed or wounded, name the towns that were ccupied by the insurgents, and give the status of supplies and ammunition. The accompanying letter, from James C. Burnham to Lanman & Kemp of New York, describes the status of the sugar trade in Cuba. Transcripts are included.
Silas Totten Papers
Tronson du Coudray Papers
Photostats, 1776-1777 and n.d. of military papers of Philippe Charles Jean Baptiste Tronson du Coudray (1738-1777), French soldier of fortune in the American Revolution who was a Major General in charge of works on the Deleware, 1777; manuscript; and notecards about Tronson du Coudray made by Dr. Joseph E. Fields of Williamsburg, VA.
Tyler Family Papers, Group B
Tyler Family Papers, Group C
Correspondence and accounts of "Tyler's Quarterly", edited by Lyon G. Tyler and Sue Ruffin Tyler.
Tyler Family Papers, Group D
Tyler Family Papers, Group E
Chiefly writings, ca. 1880-1935, of Lyon Gardiner Tyler, historian. Most concern Virginia history in the colonial period, or defend his father, John Tyler, or defend the southern point of view in the Civil War. Includes an unpublished history of the Virginia Line in the American Revolution. Also includes writings, 1921-1951, of his second wife, Sue Ruffin Tyler, and of other authors.