Skip to main content

Ten Years' War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00698

Scope and Contents

Two manuscripts and an accompanying letter describing an insurrection in Cuba during the Ten Years' War. The manuscripts give an account of how many insurgents were killed or wounded, name the towns that were ccupied by the insurgents, and give the status of supplies and ammunition. The accompanying letter, from James C. Burnham to Lanman & Kemp of New York, describes the status of the sugar trade in Cuba. Transcripts are included.

Dates

  • 1869 March-May

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 2012.209 was received on 4/16/2012.

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally described by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in May 2012.
Title
Guide to the Ten Years' War Collection
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist.
Date
2012-05-25
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: