Skip to main content

James M. Owens Collection of Madison Family Material

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Ow2

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

Correspondence, notes, typescripts, and genealogical charts of James M. Owens concerning genealogy of the Madison family of Virginia with emphasis on President James Madison and Bishop James Madison. Includes photocopies of letters of President James Madison and Bishop James Madison; and two original letters, 1804 and 1832, of James Madison and one, 1846, of John Quincy Adams.

Dates

  • Creation: 1776-1953

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

6.50 Linear Feet

Additional Description

Acquisition Information:

Deposit

Related Materials:

See other papers by Bishop James Madison; Bishop James Madison Letter to John Norton, 1776, Bishop James Madison Letter to William White, 1795, Bishop James Madison Letter to James Breckiridge, 1805, Office of the President, James Madison, 1775-1979 (UA 2.03), Petition of the President and Professors, 1787 (UA 96), and the Bishop James Madison Papers (Mss. 65 Pst). See also; James Madison Papers, Duke University Libraries.

Physical Description

1300 items

General

Other Information:

A PDF document of this inventory is available online.

Additional information may be found at http://scrc.swem.wm.edu/findingaids/65_Ow2_James_Owens_Collection_Madison_Material.pdf

Related Name

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the James M. Owens Collection of Madison Family Material
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-07-13
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: