Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search collections where
  • keyword(s): "williamsburg historic records association"

Showing Results: 26 - 42 of 42

Bozarth Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2003.13
Scope and Contents Business and family papers of the Bozarth family. Acc. 2003.13 Scrapbook of Mary Hockaday Bozarth, Worthy Grand Matron of the Virginia Order of the Eastern Star with a list of Matrons and Patrons from 1941 to 1942 and certificates of membership for members of the Pocahontas Chapter 103 located in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1941.  Other related items in the collection is a photograph of Eastern Star women on the way to Bermuda and the Proceedings of the Grand Chapter...
Dates: 1931-1985; Majority of material found in 1931-1962
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Janet C. Kimbrough Williamsburg Area History Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.50, 1991.36 and 1993.06
Scope and Contents

Collection of material about Williamsburg, Virginia area history including Colonial Williamsburg Foundaton, Williamsburg Public Library, "Model" school of Williamsburg, Yorktown Bicentennial, Bundles for Britain and more.  Includes photographs of family and friends, many set in Williamsburg, and photograph of dedication of the Confederate Monument on the Palace Green.

Dates: 1873-1994
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William H. E. Morecock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00110
Scope and Contents

Civil War correspondence, passes and orders relating to 1st Lieutenant William H.E. Morecock of the 32nd Virginia Volunteer Regiment.  Legal documents of William H. E. Morecock, mostly concerning the lawsuit in Williamsburg and James City County, McCandlish vs Warburton, during 1851 to 1853.  Correspondence and financial records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary while William H.E. Morecock was Secretary of the Board, 1877-1890.

Dates: 1850-1890
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Carlton Casey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents

The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.

Additions to the collection are described individually.

Dates: 1894-1999
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Rodney B. Taylor Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00001
Scope and Contents Consists of correspondence, printed matter, monographs, ephemera, photographs, and photo negatives relating to Virginia history, with an emphasis on Jamestown. There is also material related to the Matthew Whaley School in Williamsburg, Virginia, and material relating to Taylor's involvement in the Sons of the American Revolution and the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Includes materials related to Lady Astor, Queen Elizabeth's 1957 visit to Jamestown, and...
Dates: 1868-2007; Majority of material found in 1939-2000
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 B85
Scope and Contents Chiefly business correspondence and receipts, 1890-1920, of members of the Bucktrout and Braithwaite families of Williamsburg, Va. Among the correspondents are Hypolite Repiton, R. W. Bucktrout, D. Braithwaite, Richard M. Bucktrout and James Braithwaite. Descriptions of selected accessions: Acc. 1995.25: Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers including copy of "Family Sites and the Restoration of Williamsburg" and an account of Christmas wedding of Delia Bucktrout to William...
Dates: 1780-1996; Majority of material found in 1890-1899
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Woman's Club of Williamsburg records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00378
Scope and Contents

The collection contains scrapbooks, yearbooks, photographs, minutes and correspondence showing the activities, projects, causes and meetings of the Woman's Club of Williamsburg.  The Woman's Club was founded to mostly help local schools.

Dates: 1915-2014
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lee Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children.  An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...
Dates: 1858-1976; Majority of material found in 1900-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Pulaski Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00097
Content Description

Records of the Pulaski Club of Williamsburg, a men's social club, named in honor of Count Pulaski of American Revolutionary War fame. Includes minutes, correspondence, photographs, poetry, stationery and clippings. Two letters by John D. Rockefeller are included.

Dates: 1877-2014
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robb-Bernard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...
Dates: 1665-2001; Majority of material found in 1850-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Hickory Neck Church records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00386
Scope and Contents

Records of Hickory Neck Episcopal Church located in Toano, Virginia. Most of the material in this collection is from the Hickory Neck Church with a permanent loan or deposit agreement. Other material is from members of Hickory Neck Church or Williamsburg, Virginia area residents.

Collection includes additions.

Dates: 1721-2024
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lady Nancy Astor Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00631
Scope and Contents

18 Letters and notes, 1927-1956, from Nancy Astor, London, Taplow, and Plymouth, England, to Lilly Harrison Hill Smith Bradbury in Upperville, Virginia. Collection includes two photos of Nancy Astor, not originating with the correspondence. Lilly Harrison Hill Smith Bradbury and Nancy Astor were childhood friends.

Dates: 1927-1956
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg, Virginia Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00397
Scope and Contents Photocopies of three letters written from Williamsburg, Virginia by W.W. Vest, J.M. Chevers and Unknown. W.W. Vest of Williamsburg, Virginia to John M. Speer (or Speed) of Lynchburg, Virginia about hiring out of negroes and financial matters. 1843. Unknown in Williamsburg, Virginia to Robert Saunders in Fauquier, Virginia about family and a scandal at "The Springs." 1844. J. M. Chevers, a student in Williamsburg, Virginia, to Rev. CW. Thomson in Richmond,...
Dates: 1843-1846
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lloyd H. and Ruth Elizabeth Williams Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.21-2007.66-2015.146
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1998.21: Papers, (bulk 1947-1959), of Lloyd Haynes Williams, photographer and journalist. The largest part of the collection is financial in nature. Includes newspaper clippings concerning Williams, including an obituary and editorial at his death. Includes papers of Mrs. E. E. Goodrich. Also includes notes on sailing, shipbuilding, fishing, oystering and crab industries. There are many notes concerning piracy and a manuscript by Williams called "Blackbeard's Account."...
Dates: 1917-2008 and undated; Majority of material found in 1947-1959
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Thomas E. Pugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00005
Scope and Contents The papers of Rev. Thomas E. Pugh, who was the minister of the Williamsburg Baptist Church in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1952-1981. Collection includes both personal and ministerial related material.  Early photograph albums show Pugh's childhood but his correspondence and papers begin with his student days at the University of Richmond in 1940.  He attended Crozer Theological Seminary and Harvard University Chaplain School before becoming an Army Chaplain in 1944.  His first...
Dates: 1914-2001; Majority of material found in 1941-1998
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Archibald F. Ward, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00210
Scope and Contents This collection contains correspondence, clippings, notebooks, and other material related to Archibald F. Ward, Jr. Included in the collection are notebooks and articles pertaining to Ward while he was the Chaplain at Eastern State Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia, biographical material related to Ward, a notebook describing Ward's experience at Magruder and Camp Peary, correspondence with various members of the Rockefeller family, and correspondence related to the 250th anniversary...
Dates: 1939-2007; Majority of material found in 1945-1960
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 35
Photographs 24
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 22
Financial records 9
Pamphlets 9
∨ more
Reports 9
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 8
Newspapers 8
Scrapbooks 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 8
Letters (correspondence) 7
Programs 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 7
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 6
Minutes 6
Clippings (information artifacts) 5
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 5
Legal documents 5
Business records 4
Certificates 4
Diaries 4
Notebooks 4
Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 4
World War, 1939-1945 4
Account books 3
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 3
Membership lists 3
Photocopies 3
Poems 3
Printed ephemera 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Women teachers 3
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 2
Books 2
Broadsides 2
Church bulletins 2
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 2
College of William and Mary--Students 2
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 2
Genealogy 2
James City County (Va.)--History 2
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Obituaries 2
Postcards 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Resolutions (administrative records) 2
Schools--Virginia--James City County 2
Speeches, addresses, etc. 2
Video recordings 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Planning Commission 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 2
Women--History--Virginia 2
World War, 1914-1918 2
Yearbooks 2
Yorktown (Va.) 2
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
Bank statements 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Baptists--United States--Clergy 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Bibliographies 1
Booklets 1
Building Permits--Virginia 1
Buildings and Grounds 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Chaplains, Hospital. 1
Chaplains, Military--United States--20th century 1
Charities--Virginia 1
Checks (bank checks) 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Christmas cards 1
Church records 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
Crab fisheries--Middle Atlantic States 1
Cumberland County (Va.) 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Deeds--Virginia--James City County 1
Diplomas 1
Dissertation 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--Cumberland County--History 1
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 41
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 37
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 5
American Red Cross 2
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 2
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
∨ more
Camp Peary (Va.) 2
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
College of William and Mary. 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Kimbrough, Janet C 2
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Association of University Women 1
American Chemical Society 1
Army Nurse Corp 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities--History. 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Jamestown Rediscovery 1
Astor, Nancy Witcher Langhorne Astor, Viscountess, 1879-1964 1
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 1
Beale family 1
Belvin, Edward 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Bernard Family 1
Bowden, Lemuel Jackson. 1
Boy Scouts of America 1
Bozarth family 1
Bradbury, Lilly Harrison Hill Smith 1
Braithwaite family 1
Braithwaite, Adelia Bucktrout 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1947 1
Bucktrout family 1
Bundles for Britain, Inc 1
Casey, Carlton 1
Coleman family 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteer Regiment, 32nd 1
Crozer Theological Seminary 1
Daley, Thomas R., 1862 - 1
Goodrich, E. E., (Mrs.) 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Greenwood Pre-school (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Hall, Channing Moore, III 1
Helen (Brig) 1
Hickory Neck Church (James City County, Va.) 1
Hipkins family 1
Jenkins, Minnie Braithwaite 1
Johnson, Ludwell 1
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 1
Kate Custis Circle (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 1
Kimbrough, Raymond, 1889-1993 1
King's Daughters (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Lee Family 1
Lee family 1
Lee, Edward Myers 1
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 1
Lee, Peticolas, 1904- 1
Literary Societies--Philomathean Literary Society 1
Macauly, Alexander 1
Marshall, John, Pageant (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
McCandlish, Robert 1
Morecock, William Henry Edloe 1
Morrison, Robert John, 1825-1861 1
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Nightengale family 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Order of the Eastern Star. Grand Chapter of Virginia 1
Parker, Bessie, ca. 1905 - 1
Parker, Lena Augusta, ca. 1902 - 1
Powell, William Devens 1
Pugh family 1
Pugh, Thomas E., 1917-2006 1
Rawls Byrd School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Richmond (Va.) News Leader 1
Robb family 1
Robb-Bernard family 1
Ruffin, J. Randolph 1
Shaw, Bernard 1
Shiflett, Glenna Graves 1
Taylor, John, 1753-1824 1
Taylor, Rodney B. 1
The Model School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
This Century Art Gallery (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 1
Twentieth Century Gallery (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
U.S. Customs Service 1
United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States. National Park Service 1
University of Virginia 1
Upton family 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
+ ∧ less