Skip to main content

Lloyd H. Williams Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1998.21 and 2007.66

Scope and Contents

Papers, mostly 1947-1959, of Lloyd Haynes Williams, photographer and journalist. The largest part of the collection is financial in nature. Includes newspaper clippings concerning Williams including an obituary and editorial at his death. Includes papers of Mrs. E. E. Goodrich. Also includes notes on sailing, shipbuilding, fishing, oystering and crab industries. There are many notes concerning piracy and a manuscript by Williams called "Blackbeard's Account."

Mss. 2007.66 Addition, circa 1939-1960, consists of musical programs given at Bruton Parish Church and the Governor's Palace, plus newspaper articles written by Lloyd H. Williams about the music programs in Williamsburg, Virginia. Filed at end of Accession 1998.21.

Mss. Acc. 2015.146: Contains photographs, ephemera, VHS videotapes and other material related to the Williams family of Williamsburg, Virginia, most notably Lloyd Haynes Williams and his daughter, Ruth Elizabeth Williams. Included in the collection are photographs of scenes in Colonial Williamsburg, including the Bruton Parish Church and the Governor's Palace; photographs of local organizations such as the Pulaski Club and the Rotary Club; pamphlets and booklets from Colonial Williamsburg and the city of Williamsburg; and VHS videotapes of family gatherings. The collection also contains speeches by Lloyd H. Williams for the radio from 1947-1950 and research material for his book, Shipwrecks in Virginia.

Dates

  • 1917-2008 and undated
  • Majority of material found in 1947-1959

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Williamsburg, Virginia photographer and journalist. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki:

Extent

5.20 Linear Feet

Arrangement of Materials:

This collection is not yet fully arranged and described. Researchers may wish to consult with a staff member for further information in advance of using the collection.

Acquisition Information:

Both accessions are gifts of Betty Williams through the Williamsburg Historic Records Association.

Related Materials:

Lloyd H. Williams film in the University Archives Audiovisual Collection (UA Acc. 1987.089).

Information about related materials is available at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uib0YJqtOxk

General

Other Information:

A PDF document of this inventory is available online.

Additional information may be found at http://scrc.swem.wm.edu/findingaids/1998_21_Williams__LH.pdf

Processing Information:

Processed by Emily Hester in 1998
Title
Guide to the Lloyd H. Williams Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Emily Hester.
Date
2007-06-04
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: