Rodney B. Taylor Papers
Scope and Contents
Consists of correspondence, printed matter, monographs, ephemera, photographs, and photo negatives relating to Virginia history, with an emphasis on Jamestown. There is also material related to the Matthew Whaley School in Williamsburg, Virginia, and material relating to Taylor's involvement in the Sons of the American Revolution and the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Includes materials related to Lady Astor, Queen Elizabeth's 1957 visit to Jamestown, and African-American Jamestown guide Sam Robinson.
- Creation: 1868-2007
- Creation: Majority of material found in 1939-2000
- Taylor, Rodney B. (Person)
- Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) (Organization)
Language of Materials
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Rodney B. Taylor was an author, amateur historian, and longtime resident of the Jamestown, Virginia, area. He was the step-son of William Harrison Smith, the Superintendent of the Jamestown site. He was active in heritage and historical organizations including the Sons of the American Revolution and the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. He was also a graduate of the Matthew Whaley School in Williamsburg, Virginia, and active in preserving the history of the school and organizing class reunions and service projects.
2.20 Linear Feet
Arrangement of Materials:
This collection is divided into four series. Series 1 contains materials related to Rodney Taylor's high school, the Matthew Whaley School in Williamsburg, Virginia. This includes historical materials and ephemera from the school, as well as printed matter and photographs relating to class reunions and service projects. Series 2 contains material relating to the Sons of the American Revolution (SAR), including newsletters, newspaper clippings, and copies of SAR Magazine. There are also materials relating to Pembroke L. Thomas, an officer in the SAR and a cousin of Rodney Taylor. Series 3 contains materials relating to the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities (APVA). This includes meeting agendas and minutes, financial records, newsletters, newspaper clippings, photographs, and photo negatives. It also includes materials relating to Ellen M. Bagby, chair of the Jamestown Committee of the APVA. Series 4 contains assorted materials relating to Virginia history, with an emphasis on Jamestown, which were assembled by Rodney Taylor. These include newspaper clippings, postcards, photographs, and photo negatives. Included are materials relating to Lady Astor and Sam Robinson. The Jamestown materials include informational pamphlets, event programs, and a monograph authored by Rodney Taylor.
Two reel to reel tapes containing an oral history with Sam Robinson, recorded cira 1956 and re-recorded in 1964, are described in Series 4 but have been physically separated from the bulk of the collection.
Acquisition information for material received after 9/2/2009 is available by consulting a Special Collections Research Center staff member.
Accessioned and minimally processed by Ute Schechter in September 2009. Acc. 2011.424 added by Benjamin Bromley in June 2011. Processed by Matt Anthony in May 2015.
- Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities (Organization)
- Guide to the Rodney B. Taylor Papers
- Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Research Center Staff.
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English