Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 76 - 100 of 243

Heinz and Gertrud Siegel Elber papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00391
Content Description

The Heinz and Gertrud Siegel Elber papers consist of a scrapbook and a guestbook documenting their social life and Heinz Elber's professional career as a kapellmeister (bandmaster) in Dresden, Germany. Heinz Elber (30 April 1882-5 December 1969) and Gertrude Siegel in 1951.

Also included is biographical background information provided by relatives in form of diary excerpts, correspondence and a newsletters article about Heinz Elber's life and violins.

Dates: 1918-2012

Elizabeth Berry Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00068
Scope and Contents

One letter from Elizabeth (Betty) Berry to Private Joseph J. Dohner stationed at Fort Belvoir, Virginia postmarked October 17, 1942.

Dates: 1942 October 17

Elizabeth Williams Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00775
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1945, of Elizabeth Williams, of Petersburg, Virginia, to her husband, Earl. Her first letter describes her reaction to the surrender of Japan on 14 August 1945. She also describes her social life in Petersburg, Virginia, movies she saw, friends with which she interacted, and other events. Earl Williams was in the United States Navy and stationed aboard the USS Indiana.

Dates: 1945

Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 1.02
Scope and Contents

The Ephemera Collection contains material primarily acquired for teaching. It includes material in various formats, most of which have been previously published. The collection is currently being processed and new items will be added on an ongoing basis. For this reason, the indicated date range is approximate at this point.

Dates: 1800-2014

Eunice L. Van Slooten Military Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00047
Scope and Contents This collection consists of papers, orders, pictures, and ephemera of Eunice L. Van Slooten in relation to her tenure with the United States Marine Corps. She enlisted in March of 1943. She served active duty and was one of six Californians to successfully complete Officer Training School in November of 1943. In 1945 Van Slooten resigned from active duty and joined the Reserves until May of 1951. Included in the collections are newspapers clipping that feature Van Slooten, pictures of her in...
Dates: 1943-1961

Stanley Farnum Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.085
Scope and Contents

This collection contains correspondence, photos, and certificate of completion for Stanley Farnum while he was a student of the Army Specialized Training Program held at the College of William and Mary from 1943-1944. The correspondence is made up of Mr. Farnum's letters home to his parents about the Training Program and his experiences there. The photographs are of Stanley Farnum, his wife, and other cadets outside their barracks on campus.

Dates: 1943-1944; Majority of material found in 1943-1944

Elizabeth Feldhusen Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00049
Scope and Contents Lieutenant Elizabeth A. Feldhusen (1918-2014) was born in Brooklyn, New York and served in World War II as a nurse at field evacuation hospitals in France, Germany, and Austria. She was part of the 131st Evacuation Hospital activated out of Fort Jackson, South Carolina. After German forces signed full surrender, the 131st was ultimately assigned in Austria near a concentration camp in order to take care of recently liberated Polish and Russian prisoners. This collection includes letters from...
Dates: 1930-1945; Majority of material found in 1945

Robert F. Fiske Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00982
Scope and Contents Letters from Robert F. Fiske, a Lieutenant in the U.S. Navy Reserve during World War II, possibly stationed or serving in Washington, D.C., Norfolk, Virginia and Bermuda, to his wife, Deborah Fiske. His wife appears to live in Brookline, then Boston, Massachusetts. He is an educated man who writes with a casual style. There were three items not related to World War I included with this accession: two items from World War II - description of Shaef War Room at Reims, France and...
Dates: 1917-1947

John E. Fitzgerald Letters

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS 00068
Content Description More than 200 letters from John E. Fitzgerald to his wife Carol. There are 30 letters from 1942-1946 during World War II, with the bulk written during the Korean War, 1950-1951. There is also correspondence between 1958-1974. World War II (August 1952-March 1944) correspondence [typed and handwritten letters] includes mention of Dover Army Air Base in Dover, Delaware and an Army Air Base in Jacksonville, Florida; discusses Italy’s 1943 surrender to the Allied Forces; describes...
Dates: Other: 1942-1974

B. Floyd Flickinger Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.341
Scope and Contents Papers of B. Floyd Flickinger, Superintendent of the Colonial National Historic Park.  Letters, memos, reports, speeches, documents, photographs, and other material related to the creation and operation of the Colonial National Historic Park in Yorktown, Virginia.  Material on archaeology at Jamestown and the expansion of the National Park Service.  Personal papers which include Flickinger's position at the Technical Training Service at the Quartermaster School during World War II, his...
Dates: 1927-1950

W. A. Fountain Letters to Evelyn Lanphere

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS 00220
Content Description This collection consists of over 85 handwritten letters and 3 photographs. It documents the final year of World War II (1945) from the perspective of a United States Navy parachute rigger stationed at U.S.N.A.S. Klamath Falls in Oregon. W.A. (Wilfred Allen or Al) Fountain wrote to Evelyn Ruth Lanphere, who lived in Coupeville, on Whidbey Island, in Washington State. Few letters are dated; envelope postmarks detail the letters’ chronology. The end of World War II is often...
Dates: Other: 1945 February - July

Armand J. Galfo Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.019
Scope and Contents The collection contains materials related to Dr. Armand J. Galfo's teaching in the School of Education, service to the College of William and Mary, and scholarship throughout his career, his teaching and scholarly activities, awards and achievements, and service in the Air Force and Air Force Reserves.The materials consist of correspondence, news clippings, photographs, pamphlets, publications by Dr. Galfo, research materials of Armand and Mary Galfo, teaching notes, photocopies...
Dates: circa 1940-2008; Majority of material found in 1958-1995

Bill Gelbach Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01502
Scope and Contents

Letters to father William H. Gelbach about the war in the Pacific. Includes two photographs from New Guinea.

Dates: 1944 December 19; 1945 January 16

George Alfred Beasley Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01414
Content Description

About 40 letters from George Beasley to his sweetheart, Rosa L. Johnson written between June 1941 and May 1945. Beasley was a Sergeant in the Army stationed at Fort Knox, Kentucky, Camp Rucker, Alabama, and then overseas in France and Belgium. He served with the 3rd and 4th Battalion of the Armed Force Replacement Training Center, a segregated African American unit.

Dates: 1941-1945

George Endres Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00074
Scope and Contents

8 letters from George Endres to and from his family and friends from 1942- 1943.  Endres served in World War II with the Army's 7th Armored Division.

Dates: 1942-1943

Gordon Barnewall Letters

 Collection — Box: Small Collections Box 122
Identifier: SC 01749
Content Description 109 letters, 2 postcards, and one VMI "Hop" dance card that belonged to Gordon Barnewall, a Virginia Military Institute student during World War II. The cards and letters are all addressed to Barnewall. The senders range from his mother and father (W.G. Barnewall), to young men stationed in military training camps, and young women attending college. The topics covered in the letters include Gordon's relationships with women, his grades, health, and his impending entrance into the...
Dates: 1942-1944

Ray Granke Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01516
Scope and Contents

Letter to Mary, Ralph, and family about his travels in Australia and New Guinea, his past furlough, and his romantic adventures.

Dates: 1943-1945

Obelia "Bee" Graves Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.123
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters to Obelia "Bee" Graves, from her family and friends, while she attended Winston-Salem Teachers College in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. The institution is presently known as Winston-Salem State University. Winston-Salem Teachers College was the first historically black college to grant bachelors degrees in elementary school education. The collection also includes college documents from her time at college such as report cards and her admission acceptance....
Dates: 1936-1945; Majority of material found in 1937-1939

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988

Channing Moore Hall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1992.66, 2005.16
Scope and Contents

Professional and personal papers of Channing Moore Hall (1890-1953) attorney and mayor of Williamsburg. A box and folder list for accession 1992.66 of the collection is available in the Special Collections Research Center. A description of accession 2005.16 is available below in the finding aid/inventory.

Dates: 1920-1953; Majority of material found in 1930-1953

John Lesslie Hall, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 H14
Scope and Contents Papers, 1937-1973, of Admiral John Lesslie Hall, Jr. of Williamsburg and Alexandria, Va. and while stationed at Pearl Harbor, San Francisco and Norfolk, Va. The papers are both personal and professional. The collection contains material concerning World War II Operations TORCH (North Africa), BIGOT-HUSKY, AVALANCHE (Salerno), NEPTUNE-OVERLORD, and as well as the Army-Navy joint agreement on Normandy. Also includes material pertaining to his work with the USO, the Naval War College, Army War...
Dates: 1893-1973

Hampton Roads-Peninsula War Studies Committee Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 40
Scope and Contents

The Hampton Roads-Peninsula War Studies Committee collection includes business case studies; records of expenditures; general correspondence; and correspondence and publications of Dr. Charles E. Marsh.

Dates: 1940-1951

Harrison S. Forrester Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01323
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of letters and a postcard, all written by Captain Harrison Forrester to his fiance and subsequent wife, Martha, between the years 1941 and 1945. Also included are five small black and white photographs of cityscapes and a soldier's grave. The letters document Forrester's thoughts before Pearl Harbor, while preparing to go overseas, and while stationed in Germany.

Dates: 1941-1945

Helen Bowden Peters Darlington Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01270
Content Description Two letters from Helen Bowden Peters Darlington to her parents, Mr. and Mrs. William Peters. Contents describe her time in Madrid in 1945 during the war where her husband was working as for the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) out of the American Embassy under the guise of an attache for that organization. She gave great detail to the animosity her husband and other OSS spies received from the regular embassy staff and also told her parents a lot about her living arrangements for the few...
Dates: 1945 September 14 and October 3

Helen Rodgers Weber Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00211
Scope and Contents The collection consists of incoming correspondence for Helen Rodgers Weber, with the bulk written over a few months in 1943. The letters are mostly authored by Helen's mother Lettie, father Clarence, and sister Jean. The content reflects on daily life in Indiana during WWII. Helen, also known as Honan, marries Charles Anthony Weber in May 1943. The tight-knit family often addresses their letters to both Helen and Charles and sign each letter as a family unit. Other...
Dates: 1937-1943; Majority of material found within 1943

Filtered By

  • Subject: World War, 1939-1945 X
  • Language: English X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
World War, 1939-1945 152
Correspondence 56
Photographs 45
World War, 1939-1945--United States 34
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 31
∨ more
Letters (correspondence) 29
Diaries 23
Scrapbooks 21
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 19
Clippings (information artifacts) 18
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 17
World War, 1939-1945--Women--United States 16
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 13
World War, 1939-1945--United States--Personal narratives 11
Pamphlets 10
United States. Navy--History--World War, 1939-1945 9
World War, 1939-1945--Aerial operations 9
World War, 1939-1945--Medical and sanitary affairs. 9
World War, 1939-1945--Personal narratives 9
Programs 8
United States. Navy--History--20th century 8
World War, 1939-1945--Germany 8
Certificates 7
College of William and Mary--Students 7
Postcards 7
Reports 7
Women--Diaries 7
World War, 1914-1918 7
World War, 1939-1945--Prisoners of War 7
Legal documents 6
Minutes 6
Newsletters 6
Notebooks 6
Publications 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 6
World War, 1939-1945--United States--Scrapbooks 6
World War, 1939-1945--Women 6
Agendas (administrative records) 5
Booklets 5
Financial records 5
Love-letters 5
Manuscripts (document genre) 5
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 5
Newspapers 5
Printed ephemera 5
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 5
World War, 1939-1945--Japan 5
African Americans 4
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 4
Lecture notes 4
Poems 4
Soldiers--United States--Correspondence 4
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
United States. Navy 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--World War, 1939-1945 4
World War, 1939-1945--African Americans 4
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans--United States 4
World War, 1939-1945--War work--California 4
Account books 3
Advertising cards 3
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 3
Broadsides 3
Class materials 3
Deeds 3
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 3
Fliers (printed matter) 3
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 3
Germany--Social conditions 3
Invitations 3
Maps 3
Norfolk (Va.)--History, Naval. 3
Oral histories 3
Posters 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
Sound Recordings 3
Speeches 3
United States -- Army 3
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 3
Women college students 3
World War, 1939-1945--Pictoral works 3
World War, 1939-1945--Prisoners and prisons 3
Yearbooks 3
African Americans--Education--Virginia 2
African Americans--History--20th century 2
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
American poetry--19th century 2
Antisemitism 2
Art (sketches) 2
Athletics 2
Audiocassettes 2
Basic training (Military education) 2
Books 2
Business records 2
Camp Lee (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Campbell County (Va.)--History 2
Card games (game sets) 2
+ ∧ less
 
Language
German 11
French 5
Japanese 3
Chinese 2
Dutch; Flemish 1
∨ more  
Names
Gary Alonzo Barranger 24
Camp Peary (Va.) 6
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 6
United States. Army. 6
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 6
∨ more
College of William and Mary 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 4
United States Navy 4
College of William and Mary. 3
College of William and Mary. School of Education 3
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 3
Society of the Alumni 3
American Red Cross 2
Coleman family 2
Coleman, Mary Haldane Begg, 1875-1967 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 2
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 2
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006 2
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 2
Koontz, Amos Ralph, 1890-1965 2
Millington, John, 1779-1868 2
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 2
Patton, George S. (George Smith), 1885-1945 2
Preston, William 2
Reunions 2
Tucker 2
United States. Army 2
United States. Army. Signal Corps 2
United States. Army. Women's Army Corps 2
United States. Naval Reserve. Women's Reserve 2
Williamsburg Post-War Planning Commission (Va.) 2
Aeschleman, Leonard R. 1
Air Raid Warden's Service 1
Alexander, Lucian W. 1
Alumni Band Organization. 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Austrian Foundation 1
American Chemical Society 1
Andersen, K. F. 1
Anderson, Donald A. 1
Applegate, Margaret 1
Armstrong, Norm A. 1
Army Officer Candidate School No. 1 (Fargo, N.D.) 1
Arnett, Frank P. 1
Astor, Nancy Witcher Langhorne Astor, Viscountess, 1879-1964 1
Atlantic Institute of Foreign Affairs 1
Avery, Charles Franklin 1
Bachmann, William P., 1886-1974 1
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 1
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 1
Barnewall, Gordon 1
Beasley, George Alfred 1
Beck, Frederick D. 1
Begg family 1
Belk, George Washington, III 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Bernard Family 1
Berry, Elizabeth 1
Blair, James, 1656-1743 1
Blankenship family 1
Blizzard, Arlie Raymond (1909-1966) 1
Blizzard, Arthur Roy (1918-1992) 1
Blizzard, William Russell (1912-2000) 1
Bolling, Maurice Landon 1
Boulanger, Edward. 1
Bowers, Judith A. Magrino 1
Bradbury, Lilly Harrison Hill Smith 1
Braun, Fritz 1
Braxton family 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1947 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Cassie Dallas Tucker 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Brown, John Thompson, 1861-1921 1
Brown, John Willcox, 1886- 1
Brown, William B. 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Bundles for Britain, Inc 1
Bunker, Carl M. 1
Burger, Warren Earl, 1907-1995 1
Burke, Arleigh A., 1901-1996 1
Burleigh, Charles 1
Buzek, Cyril, Sr., 1922-1958 1
Cabana, Leonard R. 1
Calandra, Salvatore Rocco 1
Carlson, Lane, 1919-2010 1
Carpenter, Albina 1
Carpenter, Avery 1
Carpenter, Betty 1
Carpenter, Charlotte 1
Carpenter, James E. 1
Carpenter, James Saylor 1
Carpenter, Paul A. 1
Carpenter, Velma 1
Carter, Bessie 1
+ ∧ less