Skip to main content

Channing Moore Hall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1992.66, 2005.16

Scope and Contents

Professional and personal papers of Channing Moore Hall (1890-1953) attorney and mayor of Williamsburg. A box and folder list for accession 1992.66 of the collection is available in the Special Collections Research Center. A description of accession 2005.16 is available below in the finding aid/inventory.

Dates

  • 1920-1953
  • Majority of material found in 1930-1953

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Channing Moore Hall was born February 3, 1890 and died May 31, 1953, the son of John Lesslie Hall and Margaret Fenwick Farland Hall. He married Nona Powell Sentz in 1925. His two children were Channing Moore Hall, Jr. and Susan Glentworth Hall Godson.

He received his A. B. degree from William and Mary in 1908 (Phi Beta Kappa) and a Bachelor of Law from the University of Virginia 1910. Served as 1st lieutenant, Field Artillery in World War I.

He served on the Williamsburg City Council and was mayor of Williamsburg from 1934-1947 and also served on the Board of Visitors of William and Mary. He served in many other civic capacities. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

9.00 Linear Feet

Arrangement of Materials:

Series 1  (Boxes 1-2) is the general correspondence of Hall; Series 2 (Box 3) is  the  family correspondence of Hall; Series 3 (Box 4) concerns the College of William and Mary; Series 4 (Boxes 5-7) is the civic and professional correspondence of Hall.

Acquisition Information:

Gift Acc. 2005.16 Addition a gift of Susan Godson.

Related Materials:

Hall Family Papers

Separated Materials:

Part of this accession was transferred to the Mss. 1999.19A Channing Hall, III Papers as an addition.
Title
Guide to the Channing Moore Hall Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2009-03-12
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: