Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 21 of 21

Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.

Benjamin Bray Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.35
Scope and Contents

One box plus oversize diploma of Benjamin Bray, William and Mary class of 1949.  He was a Common Glory actor, poet, playwright, teacher and social worker. Papers consist mostly of his poetical writings plus one play written with his brother James.

Carlton Casey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents

Papers of Carlton Casey.

The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.

Additions to the collection are described individually.

Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00017
Scope and Contents These papers contain correspondence, photographs, business papers, artifacts, certificates, and other materials related to Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Mr. Gary was a prominent African American business owner in Williamsburg, operating for decades the West End Valet Shop off Prince George Street. The collection comprises business ledgers and other West End Valet Shop records over several years, as well as legal documents pertaining to the Valet Shop and Gary family estates such as leases and...

Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00007
Scope and Contents

The collection contains the papers of Williamsburg resident Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman and includes correspondence, Coleman's personal writings, various publications, legal and financial papers, and artifacts.

Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...

Galt Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13
Scope and Contents Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....

Sarah R. Houghland Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.254
Scope and Contents

This collection contains clippings, drawings, and other material related to the guide book In and Around Williamsburg With Children written by Sarah R. Houghland, as well as clippings and correspondence concerning Houghland's work with the League of Women Voters in organizing the 1976 Presidential Debate between Gerald Ford and Jimmy Carter in Williamsburg, Virginia.

A. Edwin Kendrew Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01234
Scope and Contents

Pamphlets and brochures from Colonial Williamsburg, plus various invitations and programs for Williamsburg area events.

Will Molineux Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00042
Scope and Contents

Williamsburg, Virginia items given by Will Molineux, mostly via the Williamsburg Historic Records Association.  Some items are personal papers (newspaper articles, etc.) of Will Molineux.  The photograph collection covers the entire Williamsburg area, including James City County and York County.  Subjects include people, places, buildings, events, Colonial Williamsburg, William and Mary and many more.

Fay Parr Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.50
Scope and Contents

Family papers and a collection of Williamsburg ephemera and memorabilia of Fay Parr.  Includes family photograph albums, press photographs of Williamsburg residents and buildings, newspaper clippings of events and people in Williamsburg, Virginia and publications from Williamsburg and other places.

Peacock Hill Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.116
Scope and Contents

This collection contains correspondence, newsclippings, research notes, and other material related to the attempt to classify the Peacock Hill neighborhood of Williamsburg, Virginia a historic landmark. Also included are maps of the neighborhood as well as a copy of the signed petition for Colonial Williamsburg to build townhomes that compliment, not replace, the homes in the Peacock Hill neighborhood. Most of the material is from 1982.

Thomas E. Pugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00005
Scope and Contents The papers of Rev. Thomas E. Pugh, who was the minister of the Williamsburg Baptist Church in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1952-1981. Collection includes both personal and ministerial related material.  Early photograph albums show Pugh's childhood but his correspondence and papers begin with his student days at the University of Richmond in 1940.  He attended Crozer Theological Seminary and Harvard University Chaplain School before becoming an Army Chaplain in 1944.  His first...

Howard Scammon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1992.38 and additions
Scope and Contents This collection consists of correspondence, clippings, photographs, programs, playbooks and other material collected by William and Mary Theatre professor Howard Scammon. The bulk of the material is correspondence between Scammon and his former students, but the papers also include documentation related to the William and Mary Theatre, The Common Glory, the Jamestown Festival of 1957, other Williamsburg theatre groups and famous William and Mary alumni such as Glenn Close and Linda Lavin. ...

Frank Shatz Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1994.11, Acc. 1994.77, Acc. 1995.58
Scope and Contents Correspondence and papers of Frank Shatz of Lake Placid, New York and Williamsburg, Virginia, 1965-2009. Subject matter of the collection is foreign policy, the Lake Placid Council on Foreign Policy, public funding for libraries and public television and radio, the endowment of the Reves Center for International Studies at the College of William and Mary and more. Includes Frank Shatz's World Focus columns from the Virginia Gazette.Cassette tapes in all the accessions have been...

Courtney Sharpe Ward Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.25, 2008.106
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, notes, papers, newspaper clippings, drafts and published articles belonging to Courtney Sharpe Ward, a writer for the Richmond News Leader in Richmond, Virginia. Many of her articles had a historical connection. The addition mostly consists of material on the 1957 350th Anniversary of Jamestown. Includes photograph and 1957 Press Card of Courtney Sharpe Ward.

Lloyd H. and Ruth Elizabeth Williams Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.21-2007.66-2015.146
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1998.21: Papers, (bulk 1947-1959), of Lloyd Haynes Williams, photographer and journalist. The largest part of the collection is financial in nature. Includes newspaper clippings concerning Williams, including an obituary and editorial at his death. Includes papers of Mrs. E. E. Goodrich. Also includes notes on sailing, shipbuilding, fishing, oystering and crab industries. There are many notes concerning piracy and a manuscript by Williams called "Blackbeard's Account."...

Williamsburg Area Council of Garden Clubs Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.09
Scope and Contents

Scrapbooks, programs, photographs and minutes of the Williamsburg Area Council of Garden Clubs in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Williamsburg Arts Council Scrapbook

 Collection — Box: 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.029
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1967-1974 of the Williamsburg Arts Council, consisting of programs, news clippings, photographs, financial records, fliers and correspondence.

Williamsburg Documentary Project Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 351
Scope and Contents This collection is composed of material collected and created by the Williamsburg Documentary Project. The Williamsburg Documentary Project conducts oral history interviews and builds physical and digital archives, as well as other activities, through which it interprets Williamsburg’s recent past. This collection includes publications, news clippings, interviews, and planning documents about Merchant's Square, New Town, food, immigration, as well as events related to the...

Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections.  The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X
  • Subject: Artifacts X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Clippings (information artifacts) 18
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 16
Photographs 14
Correspondence 11
Programs 8
∨ more
Scrapbooks 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 6
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 5
Jamestown Festival (1957) 5
Pamphlets 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 5
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 4
Financial records 4
Letters (correspondence) 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Diaries 3
Fliers (printed matter) 3
Invitations 3
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Jamestown 350th Anniversary 3
Maps 3
Newspapers 3
Obituaries 3
Postcards 3
Printed ephemera 3
Virginia--Genealogy 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--21st century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Artifacts 2
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 2
Books 2
Broadsides 2
Business records 2
Calendars 2
Certificates 2
Christmas cards 2
Church bulletins 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 2
Genealogy 2
Greeting cards 2
Legal documents 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Minutes 2
Newsletters 2
Poems 2
Postcards--Virginia 2
Reports 2
Speeches 2
Theater 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Drama 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Maps 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Newspapers 2
Women--Virginia--Williamsburg--Social conditions--19th century 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
Account books 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agricultural exhibitions--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Announcements 1
Art centers 1
Audiocassettes 1
Baptists--United States--Clergy 1
Bibles 1
Birthday cards 1
Booklets 1
Buildings and Grounds--Lake Matoaka Ampitheatre 1
Bumper Stickers 1
Buttons (information artifacts) 1
Chaplains, Military--United States--20th century 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Children--Death 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
College theater--United States 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Crab fisheries--Middle Atlantic States 1
Czechoslovakia (Czech Republic)--History--20th century 1
Daybooks 1
Diplomas 1
Drawings (visual works) 1
Editorials 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Fisheries 1
Garden Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Gardening--Societies, etc.--Virginia 1
Hampden-Sydney College 1
Historic buildings--Conservation and restoration--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
History of the College 1
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) 1
Interviews 1
Isle of Wight County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
James City County (Va.)--Tercentenary 1
Journals (periodicals) 1
Laboratory notebooks 1
Land use--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
∧ less
 
Names
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 5
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 5
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 4
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
∨ more
Coleman family 2
College of William and Mary. 2
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 2
American Studies Program 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities--History. 1
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 1
Board of Supervisors of James City County (Va.) 1
Bozarth family 1
Bray, Benjamin F., b. circa 1926 and d. 2002 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Casey, Carlton 1
City Council of Williamsburg (Va.) 1
Close, Glenn, 1947- 1
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Crozer Theological Seminary 1
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
Dula family 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Economic Development 1
Educational and Civic Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Elizabeth II, Queen of Great Britain, 1926- 1
Ewell family 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 1
Ewell, Elizabeth S., 1814- 1
Galt family 1
Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 1
Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 1
Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 1
Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 1
Galt, Rogers Harrison 1
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 1
Gary, Charles Edward Jr. , 1907-2001 1
Gary, Zelda DeBerry 1
Goodrich, E. E., (Mrs.) 1
Improved Benevolent Protective Order of Elks of the World 1
Jamestown Church 1
Jamestown Corporation 1
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 1
Kimbrough, Janet C 1
Kimbrough, Raymond, 1889-1993 1
Lake Placid (N.Y.) Council on Foreign Policy 1
Lavin, Linda, 1937- 1
Literary Societies--Philomathean Literary Society 1
Long, William Ivey 1
Marshall, John, Pageant (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Mathews, Mary 1
Middle Plantation Agricultural Society (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Miller, Shirley Fout 1
Miss Williamsburg Pageant (Va.) 1
Molineux, Will 1
Mt. Ararat Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Newport News Women's Club (Va.) 1
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Office of the President 1
Parr, Fay Lyonel, 1913-2008 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Peninsula Transit Corporation 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Pugh family 1
Pugh, Thomas E., 1917-2006 1
Richmond (Va.) News Leader 1
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 1
Scammon, Howard, 1911-1999 1
Special Collections Research Center 1
The Palace (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Tucker 1
Unitarian Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United States Amateur Ballroom Dancers Association. Chapter #609 (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
University of Virginia 1
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Virginia Independence Bicentennial Commission 1
Ward, Courtney Sharpe 1
Washington family 1
West End Valet Shop (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williams, Lloyd H. (Williams, Lloyd Haynes), 1905-1959 1
Williams, Ruth Elizabeth 1
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 1
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Players (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Preservation Society 1
Williamsburg Press, Inc 1
Williamsburg Reunion (Va.) 1
Williamsburg Theater (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg-James City County 1
∧ less