Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 76 - 100 of 266

Ferguson Seminar in Publishing Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 222
Scope and Contents Contains subject files, correspondence, and copies of lectures given at the Ferguson Seminar for Publishing from 1970 to 2009.Also included are addresses given at the Ferguson Seminar in Publishing at the College of William and Mary. The seminar is a one day introduction to the nature of book publishing with emphasis on career possibilities. Among those present for the seminars have been editors from McGraw-Hill; Random House; Bantam Books; Harper's Magazine; and Princeton...
Dates: 1970-2009

John "Jack" Fitzgerald Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01186
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1827-1855, written to John "Jack" Fitzgerald of "Walnut Hill," Nottoway County, Va. Letters written by Thomas Branch and Bros. of Petersburg, Va, his brother, William Fitzgerald (House of Delegates, Richmond, Va.) and Winfree Williamson of Richmond, Va.

Topics and genre include bills, family news, legal matters, invoices and account statements of items sold, prices and commission information and correspondence concerning the selling of slaves.

Dates: 1827-1855

Fletcher Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00216
Scope and Contents Three letterpress copy books of the Fletcher Family.  The books are written by a woman, possibly from Georgia. The writer is an ancestor of the donor, Dr. John S. Fletcher.  Partial signatures suggest Joan and Hownick. Msv. 1 has some water damage and much faded ink.  Cover unattached.  Includes a few pages of transcript from letters written from Richmond, Virginia from July 22-26, 1861.  Carbon paper in back of book.  July-September 1861. Describes traveling from...
Dates: 1861-1867

Floyd-Johnston-Preston Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.37
Scope and Contents Letters and papers of the Floyd, Johnston, and Preston families, as well as newspaper articles principally concerning Gen. Joseph E. Johnston and Judge Robert William Hughes. The central figures in the collection include Gen. John Preston, his brother Gen. Francis Preston, Gen Joseph E. Johnston (1807-1891), his niece, Eliza Hughes (1825-1908), and Harriet Lane, niece of President Buchanan. The collection also contains the correspondence of or papers relating to Congressman Charles C....
Dates: 1753-1940

Frederick C. Hale Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01104
Scope and Contents This collection contains four letters written by Private Frederick C. Hale, Company F., 118th New York, to his parents during the the American Civil War. The first letter, dated 1864 July 1, described the rebels sending artillery into the camp, the railroad was completed and in working order, and they could tell the time from a clock tower in Petersburg 100 yards in the distance. The second letter, dated 1864 August 11, described the rebels tyring to counter mine the Union's trenches in...
Dates: 1862-1864

S. Bassett French Papers (I) and (II)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 F88 and Mss. 98 F88
Scope and Contents

Papers and letters of  Samuel Bassett French, a judge who lived in Manchester, Virginia during the mid to late 1800's.

Dates: 1858-1892

S. Bassett French Papers (II)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 F88
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1872-1893, of S. Bassett French. Includes mostly letters to French from Virginians contributing biographical sketches for a proposed book, The Annals of Prominent Virginians of XIXth century. Also includes speeches, legal documents, and letters recommending French for various positions.

Dates: 1872-1893

Gaius Dickinson Letters

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D56
Scope and Contents

Two letters, 26 March and 4 November 1791 from Gaius Dickinson, a Quaker, to his son Daniel Dickinson in Rockingham County, Va. The letters concern his travel plans and religion. Also includes a letter, 1930, concerning the provenance of the letters.

Dates: 1791, 1930

Garth Family papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 G19
Scope and Contents This inventory contains personal and buisness correspondence, financial documents, loans, promissory notes, legal documents, tax information, and land records belonging to the Jesse Garth family of Charlottesville, Albemarle County, Virginia, The majority of the inventory documents correspondence chiefly from 1800-1854 between family members, mostly the adult children of Jesse and Elizabeth Garth, fl. 1798-1854, especially Lucy E. B. Garth, fl. 1820-1849; Sarah Garth Goodman, fl. 1820-1842;...
Dates: 1798-1872

Genealogy Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 G29
Scope and Contents

An artificial collection of genealogical materials; ca. 1880 to 1993; many of which were probably collected by Dr. Earl Gregg Swem in connection with the publication of genealogical information in the "William and Mary Quarterly, 2nd Series". Includes correspondence, clippings, coats-of-arms, charts, and family histories.  Most newspaper clippings are from "The Standard" in Richmond, Virginia from the early 1880's.

Dates: 1880-2001

George E. Dennis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D42
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1874-1883, to George E. Dennis, lawyer, in Rocky Mount (Franklin County, Va.) concerning the collection of debts.

Dates: 1874-1883

W. Brooks George Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 Geo29
Scope and Contents

Dates; 1975-1983; of correspondence, minutes, financial reports, and brochures pertaining to the various civic organizations George was associated with, including the Central Virginia Educational Television Corporation, Commonwealth Club (Richmond, Va.), Downtown Development Unlimited, Metropolitan Richmond Chamber of Commerce, and Keep Virginia Beautiful, Inc.

Dates: 1975-1983

Glenn Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 G48
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1821-1858, received by George D. Glenn, iron founder at Isabella Furnace near Luray, Page County, Va. from family (members of the Bradley, Groves and Dowdell families) and friends who have left Page County for West Virginia, Ohio and Oregon. A few letters concern patterns and moldings for iron castings and there are three letters, 1826-1831, written by a Quaker, Abraham Alderdice of Wilmington, Del.

Dates: 1821-1858

Goodwin Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G63
Scope and Contents Letters, memoirs, journals, sermons, monographs, genealogical material concerning the Goodwin, Archer, Silvester, Ballard and Smith families.The bulk of the collection is comprised of the papers of Frederick Deane Goodwin, an Episcopal minister.  Bishop William Meade is a correspondent.  Correspondence between Frederick Deane Goodwin's immediate family is included and papers of his son, Edward Lewis Goodwin, an Episcopal minister and his granddaughter, Mary Frances Goodwin, a...
Dates: 1826-1959

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...
Dates: 1829-1920; Majority of material found in 1880-1900

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...
Dates: 1736-1982; Majority of material found in 1840-1930

Emanuel Grove Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00518
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1848-1850, of Emmanuel Grove, of Luray, Va. which is business correspondence mainly concerning shipments and prices of goods.

Dates: 1848 October 7, 1850 June 18

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates: 1810-2007 and undated

James Harris Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H23
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1845-1852, received by James Harris at Diana Mills, Buckingham County, Va. Several of the letters as well as a printed circular, 1854, concern tobacco prices and letter, 2 March [18]52, written by brother William A. Harris concerns estate of another brother Benjamin [Harris ?].

Dates: 1845-1854

Fairfax Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...
Dates: 1736-1945

Peachy G. Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H27
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1881-1886, of recommendation for Peachy G. Harrison. Two of the letters, 1886, are in regard to his seeking the position of proctor at the University of Virginia.

Dates: 1881-1886

Hart Papers I and II

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H29
Scope and Contents Papers, 1847-1934, including correspondence, essays, articles, and poems by John Hart, a Richmond book seller and poems, short stories, and a novel by his wife, Katherine M. Hart. The papers of John Hart include letters concerning the sale of books and two letters by James Branch Cabell. The collection includes diplomas and certificates awarded by the University of Virginia to his [father ?] John Hart of Louisa County, Va. The Hart Papers (II) series contains 200...
Dates: 1847-1934

Zelda Haus Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.134A
Scope and Contents The Zelda Haus Papers cover her time at both Marion Junior College and Susquehanna University.  Haus attended Marion Junior College, a woman's college, from 1923 to 1925.  While there she took part in numerous religiously focused organizations such as the Lutheran League.  These organizations focused on both domestic issues and international issues such as the Armenian Genocide.  In 1925, Haus enrolled in Susquehanna University, located on the banks of the Susquehanna River in Selinsgrove,...
Dates: 1922-1927

Henkel Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H38
Scope and Contents Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education. Mss poem with a hand...
Dates: 1783-1874

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Correspondence X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 232
Financial records 92
Legal documents 62
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 48
Receipts (financial records) 44
∨ more
Photographs 43
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 41
Account books 34
Letters (correspondence) 34
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 25
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 24
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 23
Diaries 22
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 21
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 21
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 19
Notebooks 17
Manuscripts (document genre) 16
Speeches 15
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 15
Virginia--History 15
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 14
Minutes 14
Publications 14
Reports 14
Scrapbooks 14
Genealogy 13
Agendas (administrative records) 12
Invoices 12
Practice of law--Virginia--History 12
United States--Slavery 12
Virginia--History--20th century 12
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 12
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 12
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 10
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 10
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 10
Poems 10
Programs 10
United States--History--War of 1812 10
Virginia--History--19th century 10
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 10
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 9
Typescripts 9
United States--Politics and Government 9
University of Virginia--History--19th century 9
Virginia--Genealogy 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 9
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 8
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 8
Lawyers--Virginia--History 8
Pamphlets 8
Surveys (documents) 8
Virginia--Governors 8
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 8
Virginia--Religious history 8
Certificates 7
College of William and Mary--Students 7
Photostats 7
Practice of law--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 7
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 7
United States--Religious History--Christianity 7
Virginia--Politics and Government 7
Women--Education--Virginia--History 7
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 6
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 6
Horses--Virginia 6
Newspapers 6
Photocopies 6
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 6
Slavery--Southern States--History 6
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 6
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 6
Virginia--History--18th century 6
Virginia--Politics and Government--18th century 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 6
Women--History--Virginia 6
Agriculture--United States--History--19th century 5
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Broadsides 5
Clippings (information artifacts) 5
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 5
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Fliers (printed matter) 5
Indentures 5
Indians of North America 5
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 5
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Petitions 5
Postcards 5
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Slavery--Virginia--History 5
Speeches, addresses, etc. 5
United States--Economic history 5
Virginia--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
World War, 1914-1918 5
World War, 1939-1945 5
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 264
French 8
German 3
Latin 2
Dutch; Flemish 1
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 15
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 11
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 8
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 8
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 6
∨ more
Democratic Party (U.S.) 5
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 5
Tyler Family 5
Virginia House of Delegates 5
Virginia State Senate 5
Brown family 4
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 4
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
College of William and Mary. 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 4
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 4
University of Virginia 4
Braxton family 3
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 3
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 3
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 3
Coalter family 3
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 3
College of William and Mary 3
College of William and Mary. School of Education 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 3
Madison, James, 1749-1812 3
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 3
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 3
Preston Family 3
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 3
Tabb family 3
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 3
United States Congress 3
American Red Cross 2
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 2
Blair family 2
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 2
Campbell family 2
Catlett family 2
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 2
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 2
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 2
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 2
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 2
Dunmore, John Murray, 4th Earl of, 1732-1809 2
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 2
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 2
French, Samuel Bassett, 1820-1898 2
Garth family 2
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 2
Henry, Patrick, 1736-1799 2
Holmes, George Frederick, 1820-1897 2
Hughes, Robert M. (Robert Morton), b. 1855 2
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 2
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 2
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 2
Luttrell family 2
Maury family 2
Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 2
Maxwell, William, 1784-1857 2
Morton family 2
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 2
Office of the President 2
Perrin family 2
Preston, Francis 2
Preston, John, 1764-1827 2
Robinson Family 2
Tabb, John Henry 2
Taylor, John, 1753-1824 2
Tazewell family 2
Tazewell, Littleton Waller, 1774-1860 2
Tucker 2
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 2
Tucker, John Randolph, 1823-1897 2
Tucker-Coleman Family 2
Tyler family 2
Tyler, Julia Gardiner, 1820-1889 2
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 2
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 2
Whig Party (U.S.) 2
Whiting family 2
Women's College of Richmond 2
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 2
Aberdeen Academy (King and Queen County, Va.) 1
Adams, Herbert Baxter, 1850-1901 1
Adams, John, 1735-1826 1
Albree, John 1
Alexandra, Queen, consort of Edward VII, King of Great Britain, 1844-1925 1
Allison White and Company 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Chemical Society 1
Anderson Gallery 1
Anderson Seminary 1
+ ∧ less