Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 39

Alumni Band Organization Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 271
Scope and Contents This collection contains a substantial record of the administrative aspects of the Alumni Band Organization (ABO). Although the bulk of the records are related to this aspect of the ABO, the records are incomplete in several areas. However, the organization is in the process of collecting their records for donation to the University Archives and these gaps will likely be filled in the future. The records of the group are exhaustive in regards to the newsletters published by the group....
Dates: 1986-2012; Majority of material found in 1986-2000

Art Song of Williamsburg Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.58
Scope and Contents This collection contains the records and paperwork related to Art Song of Williamsburg.  This organization existed from 2000 through 2007 and was responsible for an average of three concerts a year.  Their records include papers relating to their creation and termination, financial and tax records, biographies and contracts for the artists they featured, as well as inter-organizational correspondence between board members.  Genevieve McGiffert was the founder and features prominently in the...
Dates: 2000-2007

Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.

Dates: 1909-1966

Birchwood Estates Garden Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.30
Scope and Contents

Scrapbooks, 1960-1990, of the Birchwood Estates Garden Club in Williamsburg, Va. Contains minutes, announcements of programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence and cartoons.

Dates: 1960-1990

Carlton Casey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents

The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.

Additions to the collection are described individually.

Dates: 1894-1999

Henry Denison Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates: 1786-1939

Jefferson Davis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D31
Scope and Contents Papers include correspondence, 1884-1885, of Jefferson Davis and correspondence, 1890-1904, of Varina Howell Davis with Flora Adams Darling; and a ledger, 1858, believed to be the mailing list for Davis while United States Senator from Mississippi; and correspondence, 1904, of Jefferson Davis Monument Association of Richmond, Va. Includes letter, 25 January 1890, of Varina Davis to Benjamin Stoddert Ewell. Also includes broadside, 1862, of Davis' Inaugural Address; and program, 1893, of...
Dates: 1858-1904

Department of Theatre, Speech, and Dance Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 59
Scope and Contents

The records of the Department of Theatre, Speech, and Dance at the College of William and Mary holds material from the early 20th century to the present. The collection includes departmental administrative records, programs, scripts and playbooks, photographs, posters, as well as material from the Virginia Shakespeare Festival and the Grassroots Theatre Oral History Project.

Dates: 1920-ongoing

Earl Gregg Swem Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 Sw4
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1871-1984, much of which concerns the estate of Earl Gregg Swem, his wife, Lilia Slaughter Hansbrough Swem, and their family. Included in the collection are correspondence, photographs, clippings, deeds and other material. Some of the topics covered in the collection include Swem family genealogy, the construction and dedication of the Earl Gregg Swem Library, as well as correspondence and photographs of the Swem family.

Dates: 1871-1984

School of Education Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 25
Scope and Contents

This collection contains subject files, publications, reports, and other material related to the School of Education at the College of William and Mary. The collection includes correspondence from the Dean's Office, photographs of special events, committee reports, and records of the Historic Triangle Substance Abuse Coalition (HTSAC).

Dates: circa 1930-2008

Farrar Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.71
Scope and Contents The collection includes letters, contracts, deeds, wills, St. Luke Penny Bank medallions, cemetery plot receipts, plans, blueprints, photographs, birth and death certificates relating to members of the Farrar family of Richmond, Virginia. Daniel James Farrar (1862-1925) had a profound effect on the architecture of the city of Richmond. Daniel followed the example of his father, Joseph who was the son of a free black. Farrar was involved with at least 14 buildings in the 1890’s as designer,...
Dates: 1875-1964

Carl A. "Pappy" Fehr Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.017
Scope and Contents The collection contains materials related to Dr. Carl A. Fehr's music professorship as well as his direction of the College of William and Mary's choral program and those of The Common Glory and The Founders summer pageants and the Williamsburg Baptist Church choir. In addition to his reflections on choral direction and discipline, the collection includes extensive materials on Dr. Fehr's professional management of the College's choral program, a series of published choral programs, a...
Dates: 1907-2012; Majority of material found in 1945-1974

Florence Fix Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.322
Scope and Contents Scrapbook kept by Florence H. Fix (b. 1908) of Milaca, Minnesota from her high school junior year through graduation in the spring. Scrapbook contains invitations, programs, news clippings, letters, photographs, as well as many lengthy entries written by Florence's friends reflecting on their friendship, school days and future. A commencement memory booklet contains the full names of her classmates as well as a brief, often humorous entry listing what they would like to become in life. One...
Dates: 1925-1926

The Gentlemen of the College records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.006
Scope and Contents The records of the College of William and Mary men's a capella group Gentlemen of the College include internal and external correspondence related to public performances; the constitution and by-laws; fliers advertising performances and auditions; a history of the group; membership lists; photographs; an extensive collection of audiovisual material documenting both live performances and studio sessions; and several scrapbooks. A portion of the collection was created to mark the group's 10th...
Dates: 1990-2023

Alice Gates Goodman Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.142
Scope and Contents

Contains the scrapbook of Alice Gates Goodman while she was a student at the College of William and Mary from 1936 to 1939. Included in the scrapbook are photographs of sororities, clippings about events at the College, correspondence, programs from football games and William and Mary Theatre productions, and ephemera such as flowers and dance cards.

Dates: 1936-1939

Governors Conference Records and Exhibit

 Collection
Identifier: UA 110
Scope and Contents

This collection contains materials relating to the Governor's Conference held in Williamsburg in 1957 and William & Mary's exhibit of governors' portraits, which was held in Phi Beta Kappa Hall. The collection includes photographs, programs, notes on governors, correspondence and promotional material.

Dates: 1957

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988

Virginia E. Hinkins Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.081
Scope and Contents

This collection contains the scrapbook of Virginia E. Hinkins, a student at the College of William and Mary from 1935-1939. The scrapbook includes photographs of Hinkins in various campus locations such as the Wren Yard, invitations, tickets to various College and Williamsburg events, William and Mary handbooks, copies of the College's Literary Magazine, programs from the Williamsburg Theatre, and correspondence with her family.

Dates: 1933-1937; Majority of material found in 1933-1937

Althea Hunt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.028
Scope and Contents Papers of Althea Hunt, faculty member at the College of William and Mary in the English and Fine Arts departments and director of the William and Mary Theatre from 1926-61, including news clippings, articles by and about Miss Hunt, programs from productions, photographs, correspondence (mostly by students to Miss Hunt), galley proofs, computer lists, and preliminary materials relating to the publication of the William and Mary Theatre: A Chronicle, edited by...
Dates: 1926-1961 and undated

Mildred Jackson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2000.67
Scope and Contents

Papers of Mildred Jackson of Williamsburg, Virginia. She was a private piano instructor in Williamsburg, a performer with the William and Mary Music Department, and the wife of Dr. Jess Jackson, a professor of English at William and Mary. Includes lesson plans, music books, financial records, correspondence, newspaper articles, photographs, programs, and address books.

Dates: 1938-1976

Jamestown Corporation Records

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 77 C73
Scope and Contents

Records, 1946-1979, of the Jamestown Corporation which was responsible for two of Paul Green's outdoor dramas, "The Common Glory," and "The Founders." Includes certificate of incorporation, by-laws, minutes, yearbooks, scripts, programs, ground plans, costume designs audio-visual materials, photographs, music and loose papers (correspondence and budgets).

Dates: 1946-1979

Helen L. Johnson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.305
Scope and Contents

Papers of Helen L. Johnson, circa 1925-1940, covering her activities with the Methodist Episcopal Church Woman's Home Missionary Society. Materials include letters addressed to Johnson, photographs, programs, fliers, prayers and religious songs and other ephemera of a religious nature. Geographic areas covered include Ohio, Pennsylvania, Nebraska, and New York State.

Dates: 1900-1982; Majority of material found in 1925-1940

Wilford Kale Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.009
Scope and Contents The bulk of the collection includes drafts, proofs, publicity material, photographs, correspondence, and related material from the writing career of Wilford Kale. Material is available for Hark Upon the Gale, Private Homes in Williamsburg, The Brafferton: The Education of the Indian, Goal to Goal: 100 Seasons of Football at William and Mary, and Parke Rouse's Jamestown. There is also correspondence and reports from the 275th and 300th anniversaries of the College of William and Mary, the...
Dates: 1966-2008

Charlotte Kaufman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00339
Scope and Contents Acc. 2007.92: Original and copies of individual parts for musical instruments and scripts for voices for five ballad operas: Robin Hood, Devil to Play, Mock Doctor, Thomas and Sally and the Beggar's Opera. Photographs, copies of miscellaneous theater airs and songs, research material, programs, posters, and working papers. These operas were performed by Friends of Dr. Burney who later changed their name to Boston Musical Theater and were directed by Charlotte Kaufman....
Dates: 1980-1990

Janet C. Kimbrough Williamsburg Area History Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.50, 1991.36 and 1993.06
Scope and Contents

Collection of material about Williamsburg, Virginia area history including Colonial Williamsburg Foundaton, Williamsburg Public Library, "Model" school of Williamsburg, Yorktown Bicentennial, Bundles for Britain and more.  Includes photographs of family and friends, many set in Williamsburg, and photograph of dedication of the Confederate Monument on the Palace Green.

Dates: 1873-1994

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Programs X
  • Subject: Photographs X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 38
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 12
Scrapbooks 11
Financial records 9
Clippings (information artifacts) 7
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Students 7
Minutes 7
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 6
Pamphlets 6
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 5
Manuscripts (document genre) 5
Receipts (financial records) 5
Reports 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 5
Broadsides 4
Fliers (printed matter) 4
Newsletters 4
Newspapers 4
Playbills 4
Printed ephemera 4
Publications 4
Sound Recordings 4
Booklets 3
Diaries 3
Invitations 3
Legal documents 3
Music 3
Negatives 3
Notebooks 3
Postcards 3
Posters 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
Account books 2
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Announcements 2
Athletics--Football 2
Buildings and Grounds--Landrum Hall 2
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
DVDs 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 2
Genealogy 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
Letters (correspondence) 2
Obituaries 2
Plays (document genre) 2
Surveys (documents) 2
Typescripts 2
Video recordings 2
Virginia--Governors 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 2
Women--Education--Virginia--History 2
World War, 1914-1918 2
Yearbooks 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Accounts 1
Address books 1
Advertising cards 1
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--Richmond--History 1
African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Amherst County (Va.)--History 1
Anniversary Celebration--1968 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Athletics 1
Athletics--Track 1
Athletics--United States 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History 1
Ballads 1
Ballots 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History 1
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History 1
Bible records 1
Books 1
Botetourt County (Va.)--History 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 1
Buildings and Grounds 1
Buildings and Grounds--Old Dominion Hall 1
Business records 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History 1
Cartoons 1
Catalogs 1
Certificates 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 7
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 6
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 4
College of William and Mary. 3
College of William and Mary. School of Education 3
∨ more
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 3
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
College of William and Mary 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 2
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 2
Green, Paul, 1894-1981. Common Glory 2
Hunt, Althea, 1890-1971 2
Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 2
Alumni Band Organization. 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
Art Song of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Booth family 1
Boston Musical Theater 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1947 1
Bundles for Britain, Inc 1
Camp Peary (Va.) 1
Carmalt family 1
Casey, Carlton 1
Catron, Louis E. 1
Choir and Chorus 1
Cole Family 1
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 1
Coleman family 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 1
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 1
Concert Band 1
Darling, Flora Adams, 1840-1910 1
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 1
Davis, Varina, 1826-1906 1
Dept. of Music 1
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
Farrar family 1
Farrar, Daniel James, 1862-1923 1
Farrar, Joseph E., 1830- 1
Fehr, Carl A. 1
Fix, Florence 1
Friends of Dr. Burney 1
Goodrich, E. E., (Mrs.) 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Green, Paul, 1894-1981 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Hansbrough family 1
Henry, Rene A., 1933- 1
Jackson, Yvonne Lucas 1
Jamestown Corporation 1
Jefferson Davis Monument Association (Richmond, Va.) 1
Johnson, Helen L. 1
Kaufman, Charlotte 1
Kaufman, Charlotte, ca. 1930 - 1
Kimbrough, Janet C 1
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 1
Kimbrough, Raymond, 1889-1993 1
Laycock, Jimmye McFarland 1
Literary Societies--Philomathean Literary Society 1
Longwood University 1
Lucas, Alma Rachel Margaret Farrar 1
Marshall, John, Pageant (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
McGiffert, Genevieve 1
McGuffin, Stephen 1
Methodist Episcopal church. Woman's home missionary society 1
Milaca High School (Milaca, Minn.) 1
Morris family 1
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Phi Beta Kappa 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Renison family 1
Roberts, William Thomas 1
Rockefeller, Abby Greene Aldrich 1
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 1
Rockefeller, Jr., John D. (Davison), 1874-1960 1
Sayre family 1
Scammon, Howard, 1911-1999 1
School of Education 1
Sherman, Roger 1
Society of the Alumni 1
Sons of the American Revolution 1
Student Organizations--Orchesis 1
Swem family 1
Swem family. 1
Swem, Lilia Hansbrough 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
The Model School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Thorne, Thomas Elston 1
+ ∧ less