Skip to main content

Wilford Kale Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.009

Scope and Contents

The bulk of the collection includes drafts, proofs, publicity material, photographs, correspondence, and related material from the writing career of Wilford Kale. Material is available for Hark Upon the Gale, Private Homes in Williamsburg, The Brafferton: The Education of the Indian, Goal to Goal: 100 Seasons of Football at William and Mary, and Parke Rouse's Jamestown. There is also correspondence and reports from the 275th and 300th anniversaries of the College of William and Mary, the 400th anniversary of Jamestown, and other events.

Dates

  • 1966-2008

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Wilford Kale (1944- ) attended the College of William and Mary from 1962 until 1967, and graduated in 1971 from Park College (now Park University). He is the author and co-author of several books. Kale wrote articles for The Flat Hat and other publications while he was a student at William and Mary. He also worked for the Richmond Times-Dispatch from 1966-1968 and 1971 to 1993. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: http://scdbwiki.swem.wm.edu/wiki/index.php/Wilford Kale.

Extent

5.80 Linear Feet

Arrangement of Materials:

This collection is not yet fully arranged and described. Additional descriptions of the collection by accession is available in the finding aid/inventory below.

Acquisition Information:

Mss. Acc. 1979.008 was received on 4/16/1979; Acc. 1985.049 acquired 7/8/1985; Acc. 1999.072 acquired 7/22/1999; Acc. 2002.034 acquired 3/1/2002; Acc. 2008.103 acquired 9/15/2008. Acquisition information for material received after 7/13/2009 is available by consulting a Special Collections Research Center staff member.

Related Materials:

International First Day Covers Honoring America's Bicentennial (Mss. 1985.04).

Audiocassettes from this collection have been moved to the Manuscripts Audiovisual Collection.

Separated Materials:

All audiovisual material from this collection has been moved to the Manuscripts Audiovisual Collection.

News from The College of William & Mary in Virginia Printer’s Block (Mss2008.103.01), Soon, No Place to Go… Printer’s Block (Mss2008.103.02), New Parking Regulations Printer’s Block (Mss2008.103.03), Another Rose Printer’s Block (Mss2008.103.04), The Parking Game Printer’s Block (Mss2008.103.05), and Stella Neiman Printer’s Block (Mss2008.103.06) transferred to the University Archives Artifact Collection

Processing Information:

Acc. 2009.568 accessioned and minimally described by Ute Schechter, Warren E. Burger Archivist, in December 2009. All previous descriptions were written by SCRC Staff.
Title
Guide to the Wilford Kale Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Brad Glasebrook, SCRC Staff.
Date
2007-04-13
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: