Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 26 - 50 of 96

Diggs Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.44
Scope and Contents

Business and family papers of the Charles R. and Charles E. Diggs family of Mathews, Virginia and Susan, Virginia.  The Diggs Family owed an automobile engine business.  In 1921, it was named "Overland and Willys Knight Automobiles Mianus Engines, " but had other names through the years.  The family also sold seafood products. Charles Robert Diggs worked in various automotive and machine shops in the area after 1920's.

Dromgoole Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D83
Scope and Contents Correspondence, accounts,(including accounts, 1875-1895, of laborers ?) and manuscript volumes, primarily 1850-1890, of members of the Dromgoole family of Brunswick County, Virginia. The majority of the papers seemingly were created by Edward Dromgoole, fl. 1838-1897, a merchant and lawyer in Brunswick Co. There are also some items relating to George Coke Dromgoole (1797-1847), a member of the U. S. House of Representatives, as well as items concerning other people who are only identified as...

Earl Gregg Swem Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 Sw4
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1871-1984, much of which concerns the estate of Earl Gregg Swem, his wife, Lilia Slaughter Hansbrough Swem, and their family. Included in the collection are correspondence, photographs, clippings, deeds and other material. Some of the topics covered in the collection include Swem family genealogy, the construction and dedication of the Earl Gregg Swem Library, as well as correspondence and photographs of the Swem family.

Farrar Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.71
Scope and Contents The collection includes letters, contracts, deeds, wills, St. Luke Penny Bank medallions, cemetery plot receipts, plans, blueprints, photographs, birth and death certificates relating to members of the Farrar family of Richmond, Virginia. Daniel James Farrar (1862-1925) had a profound effect on the architecture of the city of Richmond. Daniel followed the example of his father, Joseph who was the son of a free black. Farrar was involved with at least 14 buildings in the 1890’s as designer,...

Forrer & Blakemore Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 F75
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1851-1856, of Forrer & Blakemore, iron founders and merchants, at Shenandoah Iron Works, Page County, Va. and at Waverlie and Cassville, Rockingham County, Va. Includes correspondence and accounts.

Jesse P. Fry Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 F94
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1866-1899, of Jesse P. Fry, Meadow Mills, Frederick County, Va. Includes correspondence and accounts. Also includes a letter written in 1922.

Mary and Hannah Gibbons Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.51
Scope and Contents Papers, 1793-1890, of sisters and Quaker educators, Mary and Hannah Gibbons. A small number of papers are directly related to their brother, Joseph Gibbons. Correspondence predominantly discusses relatives, friends, travels, and religious sentiments. The second series of items is family and personal papers, consisting of poems, copied scripture, drug prescriptions, and family records. The papers relating to the Infant School established by Mary and Hannah Gibbons make up the third series and...

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Grove & Blakemore Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 G91
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1848-1852, of Grove & Blakemore, merchants at Cassville, Rockingham County, Va. and Shenandoah Iron Works, Va. Includes business letters, accounts and orders and correspondents include Emanuel Grove, Luray, Va. and M. Slaughter & Co., Fredericksburg, Va.

Zelda Haus Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.134A
Scope and Contents The Zelda Haus Papers cover her time at both Marion Junior College and Susquehanna University.  Haus attended Marion Junior College, a woman's college, from 1923 to 1925.  While there she took part in numerous religiously focused organizations such as the Lutheran League.  These organizations focused on both domestic issues and international issues such as the Armenian Genocide.  In 1925, Haus enrolled in Susquehanna University, located on the banks of the Susquehanna River in Selinsgrove,...

Frederick Herman Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00975
Scope and Contents Bill of sale for Jene, an enslaved female child, signed by Daniel Hall, Eastern Shore, August 2, 1788; letter of C. Watts, Exeter, England to [?] concerning Rose Johnson who was reportedly living on the Eastern Shore, Virginia, May 29, 1820; letter from Senator John Fitzgerald Kennedy to Frederick Herman thanking him for his favorable review of "Profiles in Courage," February 4, 1956; and letter from John Melville Jennings to Frederick Herman concerning the elusive Rose Johnson, February 21,...

Frances G. Hoppin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00121-Mss. Acc. 2007.108
Scope and Contents The papers, 1917-1918 of Frances G. Hoppin who opened the Red Cross Grenelle Dispensary in Paris, France in 1917, which was one of about 30 civilian dispensaries administered by the Red Cross in Paris at that time. This accession consists of both personal papers and records relating to the dispensary.Included are two journals in which Frances Hoppin recorded both her personal experiences as well as business items relating to the dispensary. Also included is a 3-page report on the...

Helen M. Hoskins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.226
Scope and Contents The collection contains correspondence, receipts, poems, and other material concerning Helen M. Hoskins and her family of Sheffield, Massachusetts. Most of the correspondence is between Helen and her mother, Sabra Hoskins, but also includes letters written by Helen's husband, H.T. Wheeler, her son, Horace Wheeler, siblings, numerous cousins, and friends. Included in the collection are poems, compositions, and other ephemera related to Helen's time as a teacher at female academies in...

J. W. Crist & Company Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C87
Scope and Contents

Records (mostly accounts with Baltimore wholesale merchants) of J.W. Crist & Company, merchants of Sangersville, Augusta County, Va. Includes letters written to John W. Crist.

Jabez and Joseph M. Gravely Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 G78
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1797-1861, of Jabez Gravely and his son Joseph M. Gravely at Leatherwood, Henry County, Va. Includes accounts, promissory notes, bonds and some correspondence. Letter, 19 March 1855, lists Know-Nothing Party (American Party) candidates for Virginia governor, lieutenant-governor and attorney-general.

John Tyler, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 78 T97

Jones-Bethune Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00536
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1847-1859, of the Jones and Bethune families. Includes letters written to Cornelia C. Bethune Jones of Columbus, Ga. and Barbour County, Ala; letters written to John Bethune; and receipts for the purchase of slaves.

King's Daughters. Kate Custis Circle (Williamsburg, Va.) Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 71 K61, 2008.134, 2010.330
Scope and Contents Mss. 71 K61 includes the records of the Kate Custis Circle of the King's Daughters of Williamsburg, Virginia: a printed history of the circle by Estelle H. Smith; minutes of the circle meetings; correspondence; newspaper clippings; photographs; minutes of state convention meetings; programs of state conventions; scrapbooks; and leaflet concerning Estelle H. Smith. Mss. Acc. 2008.134 (Box 5) includes journal records from 1913-1933. Mss. Acc. 2010.330 (Box 6) includes...

Thomas Staples Martin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 M36
Scope and Contents

Letters, receipts and legal papers of U. S. Senator Thomas S. Martin relating chiefly to his law practice in Charlottesville and Scottsville, Va.

McGavock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M17
Scope and Contents Papers (including correspondence, legal documents, and accounts) of James McGavock (1728-1812), his son James McGavock (1764-1838) and his grandsons James McGavock (1804-1839) and Stephen McGavock (1807-1880). Many of the papers concern lead mines at Fort Chiswell, Va, slavery, agriculture, aspects of the Revolutionary War, and other.  Included are a list of parish levies before 1776; receipts for supplies issued at Fort Chiswell, Wythe County, Va. and at Fort Patrick Henry, Tenn. for an...

Mongle-Hughes Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 M74
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1857-1895, of members of the Mongle and Hughes families of Holston, Washington County, Va. and Evergreen, Tenn. Among the correspondents are J.J. Hughes, his sons William A. Hughes and Oliver F. Hughes and his daughter Sarah A. Hughes Mongle; and Samuel A. Mongle and James Mongle of Abingdon, Va. Includes papers, 1874-1884, concerning the registration of voters in Washington County, Va.; and accounts, 1832-1916, of Hughes & Co., Mongle & Hughes and J.B. Mongle &...

Frances C. Cosby Nettles Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.012
Scope and Contents

This collection contains college catalogs, commencement programs, form letters about registration, and other college publications; receipts for post office box and tuition; membership cards for Women Students' Cooperative Government Association and student activities; buttons with busts of George and Martha Washington honoring the bicentennial of Washington's birth; and other material from Nettles' college years.

Newburn-Bolton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 N42
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1862-1870, of Doctor James Bolton and Edward B. Newburn. Includes letters, 1867-1868, to James Bolton of Richmond, Va. from Edward B. Newburn, his guardian, from "Pleasant Oaks," Fluvanna County, Richmond, Va. seeking an extension of farm credit as well as accounts of Newburn and Bolton. Dr. James Bolton of Richmond, Va. noted oculist, was the guardian of Edward B. Newburn.

Nicolson Family Ledgers and Journals

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 N52, 76 N52 and 93 N52
Scope and Contents Collection contains account journals, some papers and other items of James M. Nicolson, a general merchant in Gloucester County, Virginia (1802-1869), an account book kept by Nicolson and Capt. John L. Hibble as Assistant Quarter Masters of the 26th Virginia Regiment, 1861-1864 (discusses slaves labors); a letter book of H. Yeatman & Co., merchants of Gloucester Court House, 1869-1870, which also contains some of Nicolson's correspondence; and ledger accounts, 1892-1899, for farming at...

Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.003
Scope and Contents

This collection contains  account books, statements, receipts, and checkbook stubs from the Peninsula Bank and Trust Co. and the Treasurer's book for the William and Mary chapter (Eleanor Calkins, Treasurer).

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Financial records X
  • Subject: Receipts (financial records) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 92
Financial records 65
Legal documents 31
Photographs 22
Account books 16
∨ more
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 12
Diaries 11
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 11
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 10
Invoices 8
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Manuscripts (document genre) 7
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 7
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 6
Letters (correspondence) 6
Notebooks 6
United States--Politics and Government 6
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 6
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 5
Genealogy 5
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 5
Programs 5
Reports 5
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 5
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 5
United States--History--War of 1812 5
Virginia--Genealogy 5
Women--History--Virginia 5
Ledgers (Accounting) 4
Minutes 4
Pamphlets 4
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 4
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Slavery--Southern States--History 4
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 4
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Surveys (documents) 4
United States-- History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Veterans 4
United States--Economic history 4
Agendas (administrative records) 3
Booklets 3
Certificates 3
Clippings (information artifacts) 3
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 3
Commonplace books 3
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Fliers (printed matter) 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Indians of North America 3
Iron industry and trade--Virginia 3
Merchants--Maryland--Baltimore 3
Petitions 3
Poems 3
Postcards 3
Printed ephemera 3
Slavery--Virginia--History 3
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 3
Speeches 3
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 3
United States--Religious History--Christianity 3
United States--Revolutionary War--1775-1783 3
Virginia--Governors 3
Virginia--History 3
Virginia--Politics and Government 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
Accomack County (Va.)--History 2
Agriculture--United States--History--19th century 2
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 2
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Bible records 2
Catalogs 2
Charles City County (Va.)--History 2
Charlotte County (Va.)--History 2
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 2
Danville (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Daybooks 2
Deeds 2
Essex County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Frederick County (Va.)--History 2
Gardening--Virginia 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 2
Hardy County (W.Va.)--History 2
Indentures 2
Invitations 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
King William County (Va.)--History 2
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 2
Lawyers--Virginia--History 2
Maps 2
∧ less
 
Language
French 3
German 2
Dutch; Flemish 1
Latin 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 7
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 4
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 4
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 3
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 3
∨ more
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 3
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 3
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 3
Virginia House of Delegates 3
Brown family 2
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Coleman family 2
College of William and Mary. 2
Hansbrough family 2
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 2
Shenandoah Iron Works (Page County, Va.) 2
Stubbs family 2
Swem family 2
Swem, Lilia Hansbrough 2
Tabb family 2
Tabb, John Henry 2
Tucker 2
Tucker-Coleman Family 2
Tyler Family 2
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 2
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Red Cross in France 1
Andrews, Robert, 1743?-1804 1
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Art Song of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Baker family 1
Ballantine, Elisha (Rev.) 1
Ballentine family 1
Bank of the Valley in Virginia 1
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 1
Beale family 1
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Bethune family 1
Billups, Richard 1
Blair family 1
Blayton, James Blaine, Sr., (Dr.) 1
Blow family 1
Booth family 1
Borland, Roscius Cicero, d. 1847 1
Borland, Thomas Roscius, 1844-1900 1
Botts, John B., Dr., fl. 1810-1817 1
Bowden, Lemuel Jackson. 1
Boyd family 1
Braithwaite family 1
Braithwaite, Adelia Bucktrout 1
Braxton family 1
Braxton, Carter, 1787-1855 1
Bright, Robert Anderson, 1839-1904 1
Bright, Samuel Francis 1
Brown, Charles 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Bucktrout family 1
Business and Professional Women's Club, Petersburg, Va 1
Buxton, Maud Miller, 1881-1985 1
Cabaniss family 1
Cabaniss, George 1
Cabaniss, James, 1793-1837 1
Cabaniss, John, circa 1787 - 1882 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Susan, Mrs. 1
Campbell, William, 1755-1823 1
Carpener, John, fl. 1800-1820 1
Carpenter Family 1
Carrington family 1
Carter, Robert ("King"), 1663-1732 1
Chapman family 1
Cloyd family 1
Coalter family 1
Coalter, Judith H. Tomlin, d. 1859 1
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 1
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 1
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 1
Coke, Richard, 1790-1851 1
Coleman, Emma Cornelia Parran 1
Coleman, Reuben Lindsay 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the Registrar 1
College of William and Mary. Phoenix Literary Society 1
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 1
College of William and Mary. Women Students' Cooperative Government Association 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Coulter family 1
Crump family 1
Daniel family 1
Daniel, James B. 1
Democratic Party (U.S.) 1
Deneufville, John Augustine 1
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 1
Ditterick family 1
∧ less