Dromgoole Family Papers
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, accounts,(including accounts, 1875-1895, of laborers ?) and manuscript volumes, primarily 1850-1890, of members of the Dromgoole family of Brunswick County, Virginia. The majority of the papers seemingly were created by Edward Dromgoole, fl. 1838-1897, a merchant and lawyer in Brunswick Co. There are also some items relating to George Coke Dromgoole (1797-1847), a member of the U. S. House of Representatives, as well as items concerning other people who are only identified as E., Edward, or George C. Dromgoole.
Dates
- Creation: 1821-1896
- Creation: Majority of material found in 1850-1890
Creator
- Dromgoole, Edward, 1838-1897 (Person)
- Dromgoole, Edward Jr., d. ca. 1848 (Person)
- Dromgoole, George Coke, 1797-1847 (Person)
- Dromgoole, W. E. (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
The Dromgoole family resided in Brunswick County, Virginia. Edward Dromgoole was a follower of John Wesley and a minister for sixty years, dying in 1835 at the age of 84. His son George C. Dromgoole served in the Virginia House of Delegates and State Senate. He also served in U.S. House of Representatives 1835-1841 and 1843-1847. A family member named Edward Dromgoole was a merchant and lawyer in Brunswick County and a person by that name served in the Virginia General Assembly, 1855-1858.
Extent
4 Boxes
Arrangement of Materials:
Arrangement: This collection has been arranged according to the series stated in the organization and then into chronological order by date.
Organization: This collection has been organized into 9 series: 1. Correspondence, 2. Accounts, bills, and receipts of Edward Dromgoole, merchant, 3. Accounts, bills, and receipts of Edward Dromgoole, attorney, 4. Accounts, bills, and receipts of W.E. Dromgoole, farmer, 5. Miscellaneous laborers' accounts, 6. Miscellaneous accounts, 7. Legal Papers, 8. Speeches, 9. Manuscript volumes.
Physical Location
1 volume: Pav. A, 2218: E
General
Additional information may be found at http://ead.lib.virginia.edu/vivaead/published/wm/viw00030.frame
Processing Information:
Processed by Cynthia L. Barwick in 1984.
Subject
- Dromgoole family (Family)
- Dromgoole, Edward, Jr., d. ca. 1848 (Person)
- Dromgoole, Edward, fl., 1838-1897 (Person)
- Dromgoole, George Coke, 1797-1847 (Person)
- Dromgoole, W. E (Person)
Genre / Form
Geographic
Topical
- Title
- Guide to the Dromgoole Family Papers
- Author
- Cynthia L. Barwick.
- Date
- 2007-06-06
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository