Showing Collections: 1 - 18 of 18
Alumni Association Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 80
Scope and Contents
The records of the Alumni Association of the College of William and Mary include office files, material from select Executive Secretaries, meeting minutes, publications, correspondence, and other material documenting the activities of the William & Mary Alumni Association as well as the College of William & Mary's history and alumni more generally.
Dates:
1833-2014; Majority of material found in 1950-2005
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Benjamin F. Bray Scrapbook
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.071
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of a scrapbook, from 1944 to 1945, kept by Benjamin F. Bray while a freshman at the College of William & Mary. This single brown volume contains programs, clippings, pictures (not photographs), and letters.
Dates:
1944-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carlton Casey Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents
The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.
Additions to the collection are described individually.
Dates:
1894-1999
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Miles L. Chappell, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.034
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the personal papers of Miles L. Chappell, Jr., a professor in the Department of Fine Arts at the College of William and Mary. The papers contain correspondence between Prof. Chappell and other staff in the Department of Fine Arts; subject files; a scrapbook of clippings about the Department of Fine Arts; and photographs and negative of various Department of Fine Arts events.
Dates:
1927-2007; Majority of material found in 1965-1985
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
G. Glenwood Clark Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 77 C55
Scope and Contents
Papers of G. Glenwood Clark, professor of English who taught American Literature at the College of William and Mary. The collection iIncludes correspondence, 1921-1965, with former students, faculty and administration of the College, personal acquaintances, publishing companies, clubs and organizations as well as newspaper clippings, typescripts of books, articles and talks, lecture notes, scrapbooks and materials relating to his two sabbaticals in Brazil including photographs, letters,...
Dates:
1916-1967
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Coleman-Wilson Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 96 C67
Scope and Contents
Letters, chiefly 1919-1964, written by Mary Haldane Begg Coleman (1875-1967) of Williamsburg, Virginia, to Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson (1881-1965), of Charlottesville, Virginia. Diaries of Mary Haldane Begg Coleman and Isabella Haldane.Other correspondents include Janet Coleman Kimbrough, Mary H.B. Coleman's daughter and Alida Wilson Davidson, the daughter of Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson.Scrapbooks containing information on John Tyler, Tyler descendants, and the Tucker...
Dates:
1775-1989; Majority of material found in 1883-1964
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the Dean of Women Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 24
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1983.074: Student Activity Notebooks, 1936-1948. This accession contains loose-leaf notebooks with the names of female students and the activities they took part in. It also contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs about women's activities, arranged by year.Acc. 1983.094: Office Records, 1928-1936. This accession includes correspondence and reports. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.The collection also includes memos,...
Dates:
1928-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Catherine Dennis Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.004
Scope and Contents
The papers of Catherine Dennis include pages from the scrapbook she kept at the College of William and Mary. Dennis was part of the first class of women to attend William and Mary beginning in 1918. Photographs feature Dennis and other students, including Martha Barksdale, around campus. The collection also includes an invitation to the Students' Army Training Corps Ball, a letter from William and Mary President Lyon G. Tyler to Catherine Dennis, and a copy of the September 1974 Alumni...
Dates:
1918-1974; Majority of material found in 1918-1921
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mills E. Godwin, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G54
Scope and Contents
The personal papers of Mills E. Godwin, Jr., dating from 1947 to 1978, consist of 24 boxes of correspondence, 1,100 copies of speeches, schedules and appointments. Also included are 40 scrapbooks of news clippings and photographs, 159 citations and plaques, and one box of audiovisual materials, all of which pertain largely to Godwin's personal involvement in the government, political life, activities, organizations and institutions of Virginia during the 30-year period. The majority of the...
Dates:
1712-1989; Majority of material found in 1947-1989
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Guy Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents
Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett. Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates:
1900-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hamilton Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.139
Scope and Contents
Papers pertaining to the Hamilton Family of Norge, James City County, Virginia and related families. Among the formats included are diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, Norge High School records, church records, photographs, slides, CD-Roms, certificates, financial records, a Langley Air Force base photo album, and news clippings and ephemera. Mss. Acc. 2009.139 and 2011.520.
Dates:
1892-2003; Majority of material found in 1930-2003
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hourly and Classified Employees Association (HACE) Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 39
Scope and Contents
Collection includes annual reports, bylaws, correspondence, employee of the month nomination letters, guidelines for archives and scrapbook materials, minutes of meetings, publications, and other miscellaneous materials.
Dates:
1986-2010
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lee Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents
Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children. An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...
Dates:
1858-1976; Majority of material found in 1900-1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Elizabeth Nunn Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1991.51 and 2000.33
Scope and Contents
Papers of Elizabeth Nunn, an elementary school teacher in Williamsburg, Virginia.
Dates:
1931-1975
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Davis Young Paschall Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.14
Scope and Contents
This collection is composed of material collected by and about College of William and Mary President Davis Y. Paschall including articles and speeches, biographical material, material related to his inauguration as College President, news clippings, and subject files. The collection documents Paschall's life from his days as a student at the College of William and Mary, his tenure as Superintendent of Public Instruction for the Commonwealth of Virginia (1957-1960) and President of the...
Dates:
1931-2001; Majority of material found in 1931-2001
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robb-Bernard Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...
Dates:
1665-2001; Majority of material found in 1850-1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Janet Snyder Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.159
Scope and Contents
This collection contains letters, a scrapbook, and other material of Janet Snyder during her time at the College of William and Mary from 1934-1937. Included in the papers are photographs of student activities such as football games, dances, and Commencement; a scrapbook of newspaper articles, course assignments, and programs from school plays and athletic events; and a photograph album featuring football games, students, the dedication of Duke of Gloucester Street in 1934, and the visit of...
Dates:
1934-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William D. Eppes Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 E7
Scope and Contents
Series 1: Scrapbook with correspondence and ephemera; 1959-1994; concerning William D. Eppes' book fund for purchases in the Humanities for Swem Library. Majority of correspondence is with James A. Servies, Librarian.Series 2: Photocopied correspondence, playbills, and newspaper clippings used to support the nomination of Eva Le Gallienne for an honorary degree. Originals of the correspondence can be found at the Walter Hapton-Edwin Booth Theatre Collection and Library....
Dates:
1959-1994
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center