Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 44

Baytop-Fitzhugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00111
Scope and Contents The inventory includes letters, 1851-1861, and accounts, 1840-1866, of Rufus King Fitzhugh and his wife Henrietta Ellen (Baytop) Fitzhugh of Stanardsville, Greene County, Virginia. Most letters to Henrietta are from her mother Lucy Taliaferro (Catlett) Baytop, and her sisters Rowena, Lucy Ann, and Eugenia, all of Springfield, Gloucester County, Virginia. The collection also includes letters from her sister-in-law Mary F. Fitzhugh of Fredericksburg, Virginia. The letters relate...

Beatrice E. Smither Diary

 Collection — Box: Small Collections Box 119
Identifier: SC 01735
Content Description

A 271 page dairy written by Beatrice E. Smither, a young woman working at the law firm Williams and Mullen in Richmond, VA. Over the year of 1925, Smither writes about a variety of topics including work, civic and church clubs, politics, family, friends, as well as her romances with two separate men, Cy and George.

A large majority of the diary is written in longhand, but there are some passages in shorthand as well.

Content warning for mentions of alcholism.

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B85
Scope and Contents Papers, 1780-1929, of the Brown, Coalter, Tucker families including the papers of John Coalter (1769-1838), Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, and John Thompson Brown (1802-1836), member of the Virginia House of Delegates.Among the correspondents are Maria (Rind) Coalter, St. George Tucker, William Munford, Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter, Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge, and Henry Peronneau Brown.This...

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (II)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B855
Scope and Contents Papers, 1791-1920, of the Brown, Coalter and Tucker families. Includes correspondence, of Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown with Margaret W. Barnes, members of the Braxton family, Henry Peronneau Brown, Fanny T. Bryan, John Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter and members of the Morton family.Also includes additional correspondences of members of the Brown, Coalter, Braxton, Tomlin and Bryan families including a letter, 29 April 1791, from Maria Rind to John Coalter as well as notes,...

J. Willcox Brown and Turner Macfarland Letters

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS 00083
Scope and Contents

Contains bound letterbooks. The first contains letters written by J. Willcox Brown to Ellen Turner Macfarland. The second contains her letters back to him.

Mildred Stone Browne Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00635
Scope and Contents Diary, 1840-1842 of Mildred Stone Brown of Fredericksburg, Virginia.  Mildred Stone Browne was born in October of 1820 to William Browne and Margaret Emily Stone.  In 1846, Mildred Stone Brown married John Lawrence Mayre, who later became the Lieutenant Governor of Virginia.  In her diary, Mildred writes about the weather, events, and illnesses.  She spends many of her days visiting and hosting family and friends. She attends weddings, engagement parties, social events, and goes on numerous...

Alice Burke Letter to Mrs. Dr. Dinges

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00212
Scope and Contents

Letter from Alice Burke to Mrs. Dr. Dinges of Mt. Crawford, Virginia requesting her recipe for mince pie.  February 1, 1874.

Lottie V. Clark Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C54
Scope and Contents Papers of members of the Clark family of Amelia County, Virginia, dated 1849, 1889-1899, 1915. The collection consists primarily of letters written to Lottie V. Clark of Namozine, Amelia County, Virginia, by Anthelia Holt and other friends in Chesterfield County, Virginia, which discuss social, religious, and family matters, and Anthelia's work in a cotton mill. In addition, there are letters, invitations, and poems, 1849, 1890, and n.d., addressed to Martha Susan Clark and Missouri A....

College Women's Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 19
Scope and Contents

This collection includes bylaws and constitution, minutes, financial records, clippings, correspondence, and other material related to the College Women's Club, a faculty organization at the College of William and Mary.

Colonial Dames of the Commonwealth of Virginia, Susan Constant Committee

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2004.15
Scope and Contents

This collections includes organizational records of the Susan Constant Committee of the National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Material such as scrapbooks, news clippings, meeting minutes, correspondence, and related material is available.

Nina Pruett Edmunds Scrapbooks and Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.175
Scope and Contents Contains two scrapbooks belonging to Nina Pruett Edmunds while a student at the College of William and Mary from 1931-1933. Included in one scrapbook are programs from plays and special events, news articles related to student life on campus, photographs of students, and material related to the sesquicentennial of the battle of Yorktown. The second scrapbook is in a binder labeled "House or Home?",created for a home economics class, with notes and glued in magazine clippings on different...

Mollie M. Graves Letters (Photostats)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01249
Scope and Contents

Photostatic copies (likely made circa 1965-1970) of letters written to Mollie M. Graves in Charles City Courthouse, who recently left Williamsburg, Virginia, from friends and relatives who reside in Williamsburg.  The letters are addressed in care of Robert W. Graves.

Signatures of letter writers include E.B. Bowman, Martha  and Cousin Sallie.  4 letters.

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...

Sarah Virginia Weight Hinton Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D19
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1855-1862, of a child in Norfolk, Va. (apparently dictated to or copied over by her mother) and of her mother. Concerns trips to North Carolina and New York City and to springs in Virginia and records the family's move to a plantation near Richmond, Texas. Includes reports of friends dying in Norfolk during the yellow fever epidemic of 1855 and records the mothers ill health (possibly tuberculosis).

Helen M. Hoskins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.226
Scope and Contents The collection contains correspondence, receipts, poems, and other material concerning Helen M. Hoskins and her family of Sheffield, Massachusetts. Most of the correspondence is between Helen and her mother, Sabra Hoskins, but also includes letters written by Helen's husband, H.T. Wheeler, her son, Horace Wheeler, siblings, numerous cousins, and friends. Included in the collection are poems, compositions, and other ephemera related to Helen's time as a teacher at female academies in...

H.R. Zirkle Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00088
Scope and Contents Letter from H. R. Zirkle in Goshen, Indiana to Mary and Becca Henkel in New Market, Virginia dated December 23, 1850.  In it Zirkle refers to being the girls' aunt and to their new baby cousin born within that year.  She writes of wanting to visit and of her happiness that the girls will not be married off early like other families they know.  The Henkel girls are related to the Henkel family of New Market, Virginia, and the Henkel Family Papers, 1783-1874, collection number Mss. 39.1 H...

Lucy Elizabeth James Journal

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01148
Scope and Contents Journal, compiled by Lucy Elizabeth James in 1959, titled "Four Score Years, 1880-1960," in which the author shares memories of the different stations of her life in a "series of random letters and narrations." Includes reminiscences of her childhood in New Kent County, student years in Farmville, years spent in Williamsburg and Newport News, all Virginia. Also included are photographs of the author, from 1880 to the 1950s, and two 1973 obituaries for Robert Welmore James (1901-1973)....

Kings' Daughters. Mollie Jones Circle  (Gloucester Co., Va.) Minute Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00603
Scope and Contents

Minute book, 1920-21, of the Mollie Jones Circle of the King's Daughters, Gloucester County, Virginia.

Manuscripts - People and Family Names

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.2 Man3a
Scope and Contents An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's.  Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere.  Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt. Documents from this collection are currently being transferred to the Small Collection  as individual items with SC identification numbers. ...

Maria to Elizabeth Ewell Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01106
Scope and Contents

Letter, 1859 October 30, from someone named Maria to Elizabeth S. Ewell, daughter of College of William and Mary president Benjamin S. Ewell. In the letter, the author writes about life in Williamsburg, Virginia, the engagements of local men including professor Edwin Taliaferro to Bland Tucker, the Williamsburg Female Academy, and the loss of George T. Wilmer as rector of Bruton Parish Church.

McDowell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M16
Scope and Contents

Chiefly invitations received by Sally McDowell. Includes printed invitations, 1839, to [George] Washington "Birthnight Ball" held by students at the College of William and Mary; invitation, 1839, to attend a party given at the Bell Tavern; silhouettes, n. d., of Sally McDowell and Dr. [?] McDowell; program, 1851, of entertainment given in London for [Abbott Lawrence]; and account, 1861-1865, of Lilly McDowell.

National Society Colonial Dames XVII Century. The Rev. James Blair Chapter Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.025
Scope and Contents This collection contains scrapbooks, reports, and publications from The Rev. James Blair Chapter of the National Society Colonial Dames XVII Century. The bulk of the collection consists of scrapbooks, which date from 1981-2011, containing photographs and other material for events and meetings of the chapter. Also included are conference programs, newletters and publications from the state and national chapters of the Colonial Dames XVII, and histories of both The Rev. James Blair Chapter and...

National Society Colonial Dames XVII Century. Virginia Society Records

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1993.44A and additions
Scope and Contents

Records of the Virginia Society of the Colonial Dames of the XVII Century which include scrapbooks, business records, minutes, programs, yearbooks and photographs.

Olive Nelson Commonplace Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Co4
Scope and Contents

Commonplace book, ca. 1901, of Olive Nelson (Mrs. James Poyntz Nelson), probably kept in Virginia.

Julia W. Oxrieder Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1990.46
Scope and Contents

The personal papers of Julia W. Oxrieder include materials related to Williamsburg, Virginia, documents of interest she collected related to her many interests, and personal material about her life and work in Williamsburg. Many items are copies of biographies, newspaper articles, and ephemera documenting local history including folklore, education, Williamsburg people and organizations, African Americans, and other topics.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Women--Virginia--Social life and customs X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 21
Women--History--Virginia 13
Financial records 12
Diaries 10
Legal documents 8
∨ more
Scrapbooks 8
Receipts (financial records) 7
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 7
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 7
Photographs 6
Minutes 5
United States--Slavery 5
Virginia--Genealogy 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 5
Women--Societies and clubs 5
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 4
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 4
College of William and Mary--Students 4
Programs 4
United States--Religious History--Christianity 4
Business records 3
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 3
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 3
Virginia--Social life and customs--20th century 3
Women--Diaries 3
Young women--Diaries 3
Account books 2
American diaries--Women authors 2
American poetry--19th century 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
Clubs--United States--Minutes 2
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Commonplace books 2
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Genealogy 2
Letters (correspondence) 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Pamphlets 2
Printed ephemera 2
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 2
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Slavery--Southern States--History 2
Transcripts 2
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 2
United States--History--War of 1812 2
United States--Politics and Government 2
United States--Women--History 2
Virginia--History--19th century 2
Virginia--Politics and Government--18th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Women--Education--Virginia 2
African Americans--Religion 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Apprenticeship programs--Virginia 1
Architecture, Domestic--Virginia 1
Authors, American--20th century 1
Authors, American--Women 1
Autobiographies 1
Bankruptcy--United States 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Charities--Virginia 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Children--History--19th century 1
Children--United States--Diaries 1
Children--Virginia 1
Church records and registers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Coaching--United States--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
Cotton textile industry--Southern States 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Courtship 1
Danville (Va.)--History 1
Debt 1
Decedents' estates 1
Dyes and dyeing 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
Embargo, 1807-1809 1
Epidemics--United States 1
Epidemics--Virginia--History--19th century 1
∧ less
 
Language
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 4
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 3
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 3
Tucker 3
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 3
∨ more
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 2
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 2
Coalter family 2
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 2
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 2
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 2
National Society Colonial Dames XVII Century. Virginia Society 2
National Society of The Colonial Dames of America 2
National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the Commonwealth of Virginia 2
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 2
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 2
Tucker-Coleman Family 2
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 2
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Allison White and Company 1
American Chemical Society 1
American Red Cross 1
Anthelia Holt 1
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Baytop family 1
Baytop, Lucy Taliaferro Catlett 1
Bernard Family 1
Booth family 1
Braxton family 1
Brown family 1
Brown, John Willcox, 1833-1914 1
Browne, Mildred Stone, 1821-1902 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Buck, Susan Rebecca 1
Burke, Alice 1
Centenary Church 1
Clark, Lottie V., fl. 1888-1895 1
Clark, Martha Susan 1
Clark, Missouri A. 1
Coalter, Judith H. Tomlin, d. 1859 1
Coleman family 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. College Women's Club 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Home Economics 1
Coulter family 1
Edwards, Maria Seawell, b. 1815? 1
Ellis, Pearl Tyler, 1860-1947 1
Equal Suffrage League of Virginia 1
Ewell, Elizabeth S., 1814- 1
Exchange Bank of Virginia 1
Fitzgerald, Pattie 1
Fitzhugh family 1
Fitzhugh, Henrietta Ellen Baytop 1
Fitzhugh, Mary F. 1
Fitzhugh, Rufus King 1
Forrest Family 1
Galbraith family 1
Gordon, Elizabeth Gordon Biddle 1
Gregory family 1
Gregory family. 1
Harris family 1
Hipkins family 1
Hofheimer family 1
Hoge, Moses Drury, 1818-1899 1
Hoskins, Helen M. 1
International Order of the King's Daughters and Sons 1
Letters for Peace 1
Longwood University 1
Markova, Ida 1
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 1
Marshall, Marie 1
Mason, J. M. (James Murray), 1798-1871 1
McDowell, Lilly 1
Morton family 1
Moton, Elizabeth Harris 1
Munford, William, 1775-1825 1
Oxrieder, Julia W. 1
Pendleton, William Nelson, 1809-1883 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Perrin family 1
Pleasants, John Hampden, 1797-1846 1
Randolph, Judith Randolph, fl. 1792-1813 1
Riordan, Jane Robertson 1
Rives, William C. (William Cabell), 1793-1868 1
Robb family 1
Robb-Bernard family 1
Seawell, Molly Elliot, 1860-1916 1
See Family 1
Semple, James 1
Semple, Letitia Tyler, 1821-1907 1
Shipman, James C. 1
Shipman, Mary Minor Wills 1
Smither, Beatrice E. 1
Spencer, Julia Gardiner Tyler, 1849-1871 1
Susan Constant Committe of the National Society of the Colonial Dames of America 1
Susan Constant Committee National Society of the Colonial Dames of America 1
Tabb family 1
Tabb, Henry Wythe 1
∧ less