Skip to main content

Mildred Stone Browne Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00635
Diary, 1840-1842 of Mildred Stone Brown of Fredericksburg, Virginia.  Mildred Stone Browne was born in October of 1820 to William Browne and Margaret Emily Stone.  In 1846, Mildred Stone Brown married John Lawrence Mayre, who later became the Lieutenant Governor of Virginia.  In her diary, Mildred writes about the weather, events, and illnesses.  She spends many of her days visiting and hosting family and friends. She attends weddings, engagement parties, social events, and goes on numerous outings.  The Brownes were most likely an upper middle class family, as Mildred does not write about homework or labor.  The family goes to church every Sunday and Mildred is a very devoted woman.  Besides her daily activities, her diary includes 45 pages of private devotions.  These devotions includes prays for herself, prayers for her mother, father, brother, and sister, and prays for people in positions of authority, including the president.  There is also a section on a series of psalms regarding divine trust. In the back of the journal there is a series of poems and excerpts from famous writers, including William Shakespeare.

Dates

  • 1840-1842

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Physical Description

98 manuscript pages

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Biographical Information:

Mildred (Milly) Stone Browne was born in Fredericksburg, Virginia in 1821 to Dr. William Browne and Margaret Emily Stone. She married John Lawrence Marye (1823-1902) in 1846, who was involved in Virginia politics and was Lieutenant-Governor of Virginia from 1870-1873.

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 2013.245 was received by Special Collections via U.S.P.S. on 10/15/2013.

Physical Description

98 manuscript pages

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally processed by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in October 2013.
Title
Guide to the Mildred Stone Browne Diary
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist.
Date
2013-10-18
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: