Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 26 - 50 of 61

James Barron Hope Papers (II)

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 93 H77
Scope and Contents Correspondence and literary works, chiefly 1861-1874, of James Barron Hope (1829-1887), soldier, author (poet, orator, and novelist), and newspaper editor, of Norfolk and Williamsburg, Virginia. The papers deal mainly with his 1849 duel with Jonathan Pembroke Jones; his West Indies naval cruise (1851-1852); his Confederate military service (1861-1865); and the aborted 1874 William Mahone-Bradley Johnson duel, in which Hope was Mahone's second. The majority of correspondence with his family...
Dates: 1820-1923
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

James City County and York County Church Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01183
Scope and Contents

Five photographs of churches and church sites in James City County, Williamsburg, and York County, possibly published in the William and Mary Quarterly. Notations on back of each photograph indicate the following locatins: Third Bruton Parish Church, Site of first York Church, Site of the first and second Charles Church, Site of the second Cheesecake Church, Grace Church, Yorktown.

Dates: circa 1940
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

James Estes Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00119
Scope and Contents Letter written from James Estes to his parents on July 11, 1863 from Yorktown, Virginia.  Estes describes in great detail the events of driving off Confederate troops and batteries around White House Landing and Hanover Junction.  He writes about members from his company (118th New York Infantry) and the 99th New York Infantry sending off skirmishers, advancing on the enemy, and ultimately catching 10 prisoners.  He reported that Company "A" suffered one casualty and 4 wounded, with another...
Dates: 1863 July 11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

James Taylor Drawing of the Wren Building and Yorktown

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00437
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a two-sided drawing of the rear view of the Sir Christopher Wren Building at the College of William and Mary on one side and a drawing of the fortifications at Yorktown on the other.

Dates: 1862 August 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Jones Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 J71
Scope and Contents Papers, 1826-1916, of the Jones family of "Land's End," Gloucester County, Virginia, and related families of Curtis, Taliaferro, Page and Harrison. Includes correspondence, genealogical notes, obituaries, legal files, real estate material, notes concerning Land's End, Petsworth Parish (Gloucester County), Yorktown, and the homes of the Cringan family and the Mackenzie family, and Bible records of the Jones and Fauntleroy families.The first two accessions, which compose the bulk...
Dates: 1826-1916
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

J. Luther Kibler Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV Ad84-97, Ad97A - 97B
Scope and Contents James Luther Kibler was a historian, author, newspaper correspondent and secretary of the Socialist Party in Virginia. Scrapbooks, ca. 1920-ca. 1940, of James Luther Kibler, of Williamsburg, Va. Scrapbooks contains newspaper clippings of current events pasted onto magazine pages, mostly concerning Virginia and the history of the Williamsburg area. Includes some handwritten and typed notes as well as loose mimeographed copies of radio talks, 1942, given by Elwood Street, Director,...
Dates: circa 1920-1940
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Janet C. Kimbrough Williamsburg Area History Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.50, 1991.36 and 1993.06
Scope and Contents

Collection of material about Williamsburg, Virginia area history including Colonial Williamsburg Foundaton, Williamsburg Public Library, "Model" school of Williamsburg, Yorktown Bicentennial, Bundles for Britain and more.  Includes photographs of family and friends, many set in Williamsburg, and photograph of dedication of the Confederate Monument on the Palace Green.

Dates: 1873-1994
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Martin Deland Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00342
Scope and Contents

A letter from Martin Deland in Yorktown, Virginia, Camp Woodberry, to his "Dear Sis", discusses the evacuation of Yorktown.

Dates: 1862 May 4
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Matthew Wills Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Atav1 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1770-1800, of Matthew Wills, merchant, of Warwick County, Va., later used as an account book, 1813-1823, of [his son ?] Matthew Wills, keeper of [Swan Tavern] Yorktown, Va.

Dates: 1770-1823; Majority of material found in 1770-1800
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Morecock Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M81
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1881-1937 and n.d., relating to the history of Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown, Va. collected by members of the Morecock family of Williamsburg, Va. Includes photographs, pamphlets, Christmas cards, postcards, and wood-cut prints depicting the Powder Magazine, Bruton Parish Church, the Courthouse of 1770, the Yorktown Monument, the church tower at Jamestown as well as souvenirs of the Yorktown Centennial, 1881 and the Jamestown Exposition, 1907.

Dates: 1881-1937
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Pleasants Murphy Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D5
Scope and Contents Diary, 1814 September 9-1815 April 23, kept during military service in Captain [?] Otey's Company in War of 1812. The content concerns the line of march from Liberty (now Bedford), Virginia to Richmond and discusses prices of items in Richmond and drills, and rations at the camp at Fairfield. Murphy spent October 9 to November 26, 1814 away from his unit, recovering from a broken arm. The diary concerns a trip back to Bedford County and a trip to Pittsylvania County. The volume...
Dates: 1814-1815
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

N. F. McNorton Record of Whiskey Dispensed

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV M2
Scope and Contents Record ranging in date from 1928-1932, entitled "Physicians Record of Prescriptions" kept by Nelson F. McNorton. The record contains an account of whiskey dispensed for medicinal purposes at Yorktown, Williamsburg, Richmond, and other locations in the Tidewater region of Virginia during Prohibition. Books such as these were supplied by the Treasury Department as part of the National Prohibition Act. Physicians recorded a serial number, date, name and address of patient, the quantity and...
Dates: 1928-1932
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Joseph Keith Newell Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00652
Scope and Contents Diary, 19 March 1862 to 24 August 1862, of Joseph Keith Newell, a captain of the 10th Massachusetts Infantry during the Civil War. Diary runs from March to August of 1862, and describes the life of a Union soldier during the Peninsula Campaign. Describes his trip down the Potomac River from Washington, D.C., to Hampton, Virginia. Also includes a description of the Battle of Williamsburg, 5 May 1862, as well as his observations of the College of William & Mary. Newell also describes his...
Dates: 1862
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Oliver H. Sargent Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00336
Scope and Contents

Letter from Oliver H. Sargent in Yorktown Plains, Virginia to a friend, Hoyt, regarding a battle during the opening seige of Yorktown in which his unit, the 22nd Massachusetts participated. The collection includes a cabinet photograph of Oliver Sargent in uniform. Sargent was possibly killed in action by a Confederate landmine, one of the first Union soldiers to be killed in that manner.

Dates: 1862 April 20
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Estelle and John Pearson Honeymoon Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01456
Content Description Collection of ticket stubs, postcards, and ephemera, related to a honeymoon visit to Williamsburg and surrounding areas from April 28- May 1 of 1959. Ephemera includes restaurant menus and visitor brochures to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Festival Park, and the Yorktown Battlefield. Restaurant menus are from Chowning's Tavern, The Williamsburg Inn, The King's Arms Tavern, and Christiana Campbell's Tavern in Williamsburg as well as paper place mats from the Ivy House and Florentine...
Dates: 1959 April 28- May 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Morris Presson Photograph Album, 1910-1916

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.057
Scope and Contents Photograph album, circa 1910-1916, of John Morris Presson (W&M Class of 1916).  The album contains photographs of William & Mary's campus,  the Virginia Peninsula, and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Included are pictures of President Woodrow Wilson's 1916 visit to campus, the Lord Botetourt statue, male students, the 1916 championship baseball team, Coach Dexter Draper, Bob Newton, as well as campus buildings, including various fraternity houses and the old gymnasium. The...
Dates: 1910-1916
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

J. Randolph Ruffin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.58
Scope and Contents

Papers of J. Randolph Ruffin. Newspaper clippings, brochures, drafts of speeches, correspondence about Virginia history, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and tours directed by J. Randolph Ruffin, Director of Special Events for the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Accessions 1998.58 and 1999.22 WHRA.

Dates: 1956-1993
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

General David Allen Russell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00642
Scope and Contents This collection consists of correspondence, sketches, and other material mostly related to Union General David Allen Russell during the Civil War. Included in the papers are letters from the battlefield, hand-drawn sketches of the battlefield in Yorktown, Virginia and near Petersburg on the Appomattox River, issues of the Baltimore Clipper and the Philadelphia Inquirer  newspapers regarding Fort Monroe and the Battle of...
Dates: 1858-1868 and undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles P. Shepard Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00021
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a letter written by Charles P. Shepard, a private in Co. E, 1st United States and a member of Berdan's Sharpshooters, to his parents during the Siege of Yorktown. The writer describes the food given to the soldiers, artillery shelling, and the prospect of a coming battle.

Dates: 1862 April 12
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Siege of Yorktown Print by C. Bohn

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00008
Scope and Contents Print (18" x 11.25") of the Siege of Yorktown, April 1862, published by C. Bohn (of Washington and Old Point Comfort, Virginia) after an eyewitness drawing by Sgt. Charles Worrett, 20th N.Y. Volunteers. The print shows a bird's-eye view of the Union siege of Yorktown showing the positions of the Union and the Confederacy on the first day of the siege in April 1862. These positions are keyed to twenty-three different locations and show the Confederate gunners firing at the attacking Union...
Dates: 1862
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Augustine Smith Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01261
Scope and Contents

Includes courtship letters between Dr. Augustine Smith of Yorktown, Va. to Alice Grymes Page of "Rosewell," Gloucester County, Va. whom he later married. Also includes correspondence, 1792, between Smith and John Page, seeking permission to marry Alice Page. Also includes a poem by Smith about his love for Alice and a certificate of Smith's course study at University of Edinburgh.

Dates: 1787-1793
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

T.S. Hodgson Letter to Joseph Hodgson

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00616
Scope and Contents

Letter from T.S. Hodgson, a soldier from Company E, 105th Regiment,  Pennsylvania Volunteers,  to his uncle describing the town of Yorktown, Virginia during the Siege of Yorktown in the American Civil War. He described how he just go out of the hospital, firing shots against the rebels at the pickets, General McClellan as the head of the army, and not receiving a package from his uncle.

Dates: 1862 April 14
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tucker-Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 40 T79
Scope and Contents Papers, primarily 1770-1907, of the Tucker and Coleman families of Williamsburg, Winchester, Lexington, Staunton and Richmond, including papers of: St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1784-1851), Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Ann Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter (1779-1813), John Coalter (1769-1838), and John Randolph of Roanoke (commonplace book is in box 64B), as well as other family members. Members of the family were involved in law, politics,...
Dates: 1664-1945; Majority of material found in 1770-1907
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tyler Family Papers, Group B

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group B
Scope and Contents Papers, 1868-1951, of Lyon Gardiner Tyler, his wives Anne Baker Tucker Tyler and Sue Ruffin Tyler and his descendants. Includes personal correspondence and correspondence relating to American Historical Association, Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Colonial Williamsburg, Cooperative Education Commission of Virginia, Equal Suffrage League of Virginia, Jamestown Exposition, New York Southern Society, Sons of the Revolution, Virginia Board of Education, Virginia...
Dates: 1868-1951
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

University Archives Scrapbook Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 335
Scope and Contents This collection contains scrapbooks related to faculty, students, and various programs and events at the College of William and Mary. Acc. 1983.075: twenty-seven scrapbooks, 1934-1943, of newspaper clippings about the College, events, and programs. Acc. 1983.081: scrapbooks, 1919-1938, with clippings about the College, students, and faculty. Acc. 1983.083: two scrapbooks, 1934-1942, with invitations to programs, concerts, plays, parties, and other events...
Dates: 1915-1989; Majority of material found in 1919-1943
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Yorktown (Va.) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 26
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 23
Correspondence 19
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 11
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 10
∨ more
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
Photographs 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 7
Yorktown (Va.)--History--19th century 7
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 6
Yorktown (Va.) 6
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Siege, 1781--Centennial celebrations, etc 6
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 5
Diaries 5
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 5
Letters (correspondence) 5
Pamphlets 5
Scrapbooks 5
Virginia--Description and travel 5
Manuscripts (document genre) 4
Reports 4
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 4
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 4
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives--Union. 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 4
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Siege, 1781 4
Account books 3
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
College of William and Mary--Students 3
Financial records 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Maps 3
Minutes 3
Notebooks 3
Programs 3
Speeches 3
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783--Participation, French 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 3
Yorktown (Va.)--History--18th century 3
Yorktown Monument (Yorktown, Va.) 3
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
Dueling--Virginia 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 2
Fliers (printed matter) 2
Fort Monroe (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Historic sites--Conservation and restoration 2
Jamestown (Va.)--Photographs 2
Jamestown Festival (1957) 2
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 2
Legal documents 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 2
Newspapers 2
Occasion for the Arts 2
Photostats 2
Poets, American--19th century 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 2
Slavery--Virginia--History 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Songs and music 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Drama 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 2
York County (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Yorktown (Va.)--Photographs 2
African American physicians 1
African Americans 1
African Americans--History--19th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--James City County 1
African Americans--Virginia--Yorktown 1
Agricultural exhibitions--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Announcements 1
Antietam, Battle of, Md., 1862 1
Athletics 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Broadsides 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Buildings and Grounds--Sculptures--Statue of Lord Botetourt 1
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 1
Bumper Stickers 1
Calendars 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Certificates 1
Charities--Virginia--Richmond 1
Charles Church (Va.) 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Cheesecake Church 1
Christmas--Virginia 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Coeducation--United States--History--20th century 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni Society 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 60
French 2
German 1
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 5
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 2
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Baseball 2
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 2
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 2
Alexandria gazette 1
American Historical Association 1
Anthony, James 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Yorktown Branch 1
Bohn, C. 1
Born, Leonard L. 1
Bouton, George 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1947 1
Bundles for Britain, Inc 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Churchill, Cassimere, 1840-1861 1
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 1
Coleman family 1
College of William and Mary 1
College of William and Mary--Basketball 1
College of William and Mary--Football 1
College of William and Mary. Dramatic Club 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Cringan family 1
Curtis family 1
Dimmock, Charles H. (Charles Henry), 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles Henry, 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles, d. 1863 1
Douglas, Henry T. 1
Draper, Dexter Wright 1
Educational and Civic Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Equal Suffrage League of Virginia 1
Fauntleroy family 1
Flickinger, B. Floyd, 1905-1992 1
Foster, Adam 1
Gallatin, Baron Gaspard de, b. 1758 1
Granger, Connie 1
Granger, Gilbert 1
Harrison family 1
Hatch, Charles Eldridge, 1913- 1
Helen (Brig) 1
Henderson family 1
Henderson, John W. 1
Hicks family 1
Hill, D. H. (Daniel Harvey), 1821-1889 1
Hill, Daniel Harvey, 1821-1889 1
Hoyt, Henry Martyn 1
Johnson, Ludwell 1
Jones family 1
Jones, Mary Fauntleroy 1
Jones, Mary Throckmorton 1
Jones, Richard P. 1
Jones, Warner Throckmorton 1
Kibler, James Luther, 1867-1953 1
Kimbrough, Janet C 1
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 1
Lamb, Joseph 1
Langborn, William 1
Lee Family 1
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 1
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 1
Macauly, Alexander 1
Mackenzie family 1
Mason, George Carrington 1
Mathews, Mary 1
McNorton, N. F. (Nelson F.) 1
Messick- Ray, Nancy 1
Middle Plantation Agricultural Society (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Miller, Shirley Fout 1
Miss Williamsburg Pageant (Va.) 1
Moore, Franklin 1
Mt. Ararat Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
New York Southern Society 1
Page family 1
Pearson, John and Estelle 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Peninsula Transit Corporation 1
Ponteves, Marie Jean Balthazar, d'Eiroux, d. 1781 1
Presson, John Morris 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 1
Ruffin, J. Randolph 1
Sheldon family 1
Shepard, Charles P. 1
Sinclair family 1
Smith, Augustine 1
Special Collections Research Center 1
Surratt family 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
The Model School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Palace (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 1
+ ∧ less