Skip to main content

Joseph Keith Newell Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00652

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

Diary, 19 March 1862 to 24 August 1862, of Joseph Keith Newell, a captain of the 10th Massachusetts Infantry during the Civil War. Diary runs from March to August of 1862, and describes the life of a Union soldier during the Peninsula Campaign. Describes his trip down the Potomac River from Washington, D.C., to Hampton, Virginia. Also includes a description of the Battle of Williamsburg, 5 May 1862, as well as his observations of the College of William & Mary. Newell also describes his participation in the Seven Days Battles and his time at Harrison's Landing, also known as Berkeley Plantation, in Charles City County, Virginia. Throughout the diary, Newell describes his interaction with slaves who were abandoned as the Union Army approached. There is also a typescript transcription of the complete diary.

Dates

  • Creation: 1862

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Additional Description

Related Materials:

A Guide to Civil War Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

Information about related materials is available at http://guides.swem.wm.edu/civilwar

Processing Information:

Accessioned and processed by Benjamin Bromley in May 2011.

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the Joseph Keith Newell Diary
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Benjamin Bromley, Public Services Archives Specialist.
Date
2011-05-11
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: