Skip to main content

Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 39 Collections and/or Records:

Adam F. Carpenter Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00340
Dates: 1863 June 16
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Thomas L. Alfriend Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00269
Scope and Contents Chiefly letters, 1861-1865, from Thomas L. Alfriend (1843-1901) Sergeant, of Company B, 15th Virginia Infantry and Parken's Battery, Alexander's Battalion, Longstreet's Corps, Army of Northern Virginia, from camps in Virginia and Tennessee to family members in Richmond, Virginia. Includes letter dated May 26, 1861 from Alfriend while stationed in Williamsburg, Virginia.The addition contains 25 typewritten pages of transcripts of letters by Jefferson Davis, James Seddon and others...
Dates: 1843-1901; Majority of material found in 1860-1865
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Pamphlet: The Battle of Williamsburg and the Charge of the 24th Virginia, of Early's Brigade

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00622
Scope and Contents

Copy of an 1880 pamphlet: "The Battle of Williamsburg and the Charge of the 24th Virginia, of Early's Brigade," by Richard L. Maury.

Dates: 1880
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Benjamin Schwartz Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00352
Scope and Contents This collection consists of letters written by or on the behalf of Benjamin Schwartz, who was stationed in Virginia with the 5th Pennsylvania Calvary, Company F. The letters primarily document a brother's concern over his family's health and money he sends to his sister. He includes limited discussion of skirmishes, troop movement, taking and being taken prisoner, and recurrent predictions that the war will end soon. Schwartz mentions that the Union camp at Williamsburg, Virginia, was burned...
Dates: 1861-1869
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Mary Randolph Blain Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00032
Scope and Contents This collection contains two letters written by Mary Randolph Blain during the Civil War. In the first letter, circa 1862 December, Blain wrote about  Union troops patrolling Williamsburg, the College being set on fire, as well as news about local residents such as Mrs. Tucker, Mary Southall, and Thomas Ambler, rector of Bruton Parish Church. The second letter, dated 1863 March 31, described the fire at the Wren Building, news about family, and Union troops stealing goods from Williamsburg...
Dates: 1862, 1863
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Richard Manning Bucktrout Daybook and Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.15
Scope and Contents The following description is from the preface to the digital version of the book and was written by Terry Meyers. Daybook; 1850-1866; of Richard M. Bucktrout, merchant and mortician at Williamsburg, Va. Richard Manning Bucktrout's meticulous entries in his Daybook and Ledger form a diary, a detailed account of daily life and death in a small, but historically important, Virginia town for sixteen years before, during, and briefly after the Civil War....
Dates: 1850-1866
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Bucktrout-Smith Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00142
Scope and Contents Papers of Richard M. Bucktrout, merchant and mortician in Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes correspondence, receipts, financial papers, records of soldiers killed at the Battle of Williamsburg and legal papers, dated 1855 to 1869. List of deaths at the Seminary Hospital from July to November 1861 in Williamsburg, Virginia and coffins made for soldiers dying in Williamsburg in July-August 1861.The business papers of Sydney Smith, dated 1874 to 1929.Lists names of people...
Dates: 1855-1929
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Harriette Cary Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D24
Scope and Contents

Diary, May 6-July 23, 1862, of Harriette Cary which concerns the occupation of Williamsburg, Va. by Union troops following the Battle of Williamsburg. 27 p. Also includes a partial transcription published in Tylers' Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Volume IX (1928) and reprinted by Kraus Reprint Corporation (1967) as well as correspondence with a descendant.

Dates: 1862
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cassimere Churchill Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00406
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters from Cassimere Churchill, a member of Company E, 9th Cavalry Regiment, New York, to his family while stationed in New York, Washington, D.C., and Virginia during the Civil War. He participated in the battles of Yorktown, Virginia, and Williamsburg, Virginia, as an artillery guard. He includes descriptions of Yorktown, Va., Manassas, Va., and Washington, D.C. He writes about camp life and the surrounding area, as well as his opinions of the war and the Union's...
Dates: 1861-1862
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...
Dates: 1856-1940
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles Washington Coleman, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00011
Scope and Contents The collection is arranged into three series and includes correspondence, receipts, insurance documents, and photographs.  Series 1 contains correspondence, which is arranged alphabetically by the surname of the sender. Series 2 contains financial papers and largely includes bills and receipts for the estate of Coleman's father, Thomas.  Series 3 contains general subject/miscellaneous files and covers topics such as the Shelton-Laurel Massacre, Coleman's friend Rear Admiral Robley D. Evans,...
Dates: 1807-1908
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00007
Scope and Contents

The collection contains the papers of Williamsburg resident Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman and includes correspondence, Coleman's personal writings, various publications, legal and financial papers, and artifacts.

Dates: 1834-1928, 1988, undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

David Edward Cronin's "The Vest Mansion"

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.32 and Acc. 1997.11
Scope and Contents Two typescripts (copy) of David Edward Cronin's history of the occupation of Williamsburg during the Civil War entitled "The Vest Mansion, its Historical and Romantic Associations as Confederate and Union Headquarters, 1862-1865."  302 pp. Cronin served as Provost Marshall during the occupation. The Vest Mansion served as headquarters. Original is in the New-York Historical Society. Parke Rouse's pencilling of the copy is evident in the manuscript. Not to...
Dates: 1908-1910
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Eastern State Hospital Records

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01415
Scope and Contents The collection is composed of material, chiefly 1862-1868, relating to Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence, a list of female patients and "coloured" female patients, patient reports, and requisition orders of Dr. Peter Wager, director of the hospital during the Union occupation of Williamsburg. There are also replies, 1956-1957, to inquiries for information about Dr. John de Sequeyera [or Sequeyra], a physician at the hospital from...
Dates: 1862-1868, 1956-1957; Majority of material found in 1862-1868
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...
Dates: 1784-1934; Majority of material found in 1830-1892
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Galt Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13
Scope and Contents Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates: 1745-1892
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Garrett Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 G19
Scope and Contents Correspondence of the Garrett family of Williamsburg, Va., concerning family and social news, politics, and the Civil War. Earlier letters deal mainly with business and political news, as several Garrett family members, including Richard R. Garrett, Alexander C. Garrett, and Dr. Robert M. Garrett, were involved in the politics of 19th century Virginia. Correspondence of Dr. Robert M. Garrett and his brothers Alexander C. Garrett and B. F. Garrett concerning the sale of "Yardley," Northampton...
Dates: 1786-1928
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

General Order Number 11

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00058
Scope and Contents

Letter giving a general order (Number 11) regarding the galloping of horses.  This order was issued from Fort Magruder in Williamsburg, which was under Union occupation at the time on June 14, 1864.

Dates: 1864 June 14
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Ira F. Gensel Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01348
Content Description Four page letter from Union Officer 2nd Lieutenant Ira Fox Gensel of the 4th United States Regular Infantry from a camp near Roper's meeting House in James City County, Virginia dated May 11, 1862. He describes his march into Williamsburg after the battle that took place in that city and the high casualties as a result of that battle. He calls Williamsburg a beautiful city but the court houses, William and Mary College, and all of the churches are used as hospitals and are filled. Gensel...
Dates: 1862-05-11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Maximilian Hartman Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.79
Scope and Contents Two diaries written by Civil War soldier Maximilian Hartman are included as well as a transcription of their contents.  The first diary begins in September of 1861 and continues until February, 1862.  The second diary continues from February, 1862 and ends in May of that same year.  The diaries delineate the travels and military actions of the 93rd Regiment from Pennsylvania as it passes through Baltimore, Washington, D.C., and Virginia.  Of local interest are the descriptions of events in...
Dates: 1861-1862
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Leonard Henley, Jr. Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00935
Scope and Contents 2002.59 This collection is composed of an account book, 1872-1873, kept by Leonard Henley, Jr. a druggist in Williamsburg, Virginia. The account book includes names of residents who had accounts. Henley's store sold other merchandise as well as medicine. 160 p. ; 35 cm. x 21 cm. 2005.19 Leonard Henley artifacts. Civil War artifacts of Dr. Leonard Henley, of Williamsburg, including candle, shoulder strap, $5 Confederate bill, minie ball, Tredegar Iron Works...
Dates: 1872-1873
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henry Alexander Scandrett Civil War Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00144
Scope and Contents Civil War diary of Henry Alexander Scandrett dated 1862. The front of the diary has the entry from January 7, 1862 written through Thursday, January 9, "Monday 5th of May. Was in my first battle today. About 1 o'clock PM our regiment was marched into the field.  We were thrown in advance and through some blunder was not reinforced.  We have lost all our company officers and our field officers are all wounded.  With fifteen others I was taken prisoner and am now in William and Mary College." ...
Dates: 1862
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henry C. Hoar Memorial Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01283
Scope and Contents Manuscripts purchased in memory of Henry C. Hoar, a volunteer in the Manuscripts Department of Swem Library, College of William and Mary from 1966 to 1976. Includes letters, 1861, written to Jane Margaret (Winfree) Brown by Catherine Virginia Winfree concerning the coming of the Civil War and by Virginia A. Brown Winfree concerning the evacuation of Hampton which bears letter of C. V. Winfree concerning the vulnerability of the Peninsula; letters, 1861-1863, from Civil War soldiers such as...
Dates: 1861-1886
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henry T. Douglas Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00355
Scope and Contents

A letter from Henry T. Douglas to Donald W. Davis, American Legion of Williamsburg, Virginia, describes his military experience in the Civil War as an engineer, particularly in Yorktown, Williamsburg, and other parts of Virginia.

Dates: 1938 November 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Ned Hoxie Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00531
Scope and Contents Letters 18 March and 17-30 May 1862, written by Ned Hoxie, Camp Brightwood, Washington, D.C. and Baltimore, [Va.] while serving in a Massachusetts Infantry Regiment during the American Civil War. The letters are to his parents, Mr. and Mrs. B. B. Hoxie, Northampton, Massachusetts and concern the fighting in Virginia, the occupation of a Tyler family home, and also mention picking up weapons from the Battle of Williamsburg. The letterhead is stamped with "The Shield of Liberty, 1776-1861" on...
Dates: 1862 March 18, May 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center