Skip to main content

David Edward Cronin's "The Vest Mansion"

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.32 and Acc. 1997.11
Two typescripts (copy) of David Edward Cronin's history of the occupation of Williamsburg during the Civil War entitled "The Vest Mansion, its Historical and Romantic Associations as Confederate and Union Headquarters, 1862-1865."  302 pp.

Cronin served as Provost Marshall during the occupation. The Vest Mansion served as headquarters. Original is in the New-York Historical Society.

Parke Rouse's pencilling of the copy is evident in the manuscript.

Not to be quoted from or published without permission of the New York Historical Society.

Dates

  • 1908-1910

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.50 Linear Feet

Biographical Information:

David Edward Cronin's wrote a history of the occupation of Williamsburg during the Civil War entitled "The Vest Mansion." He served as Provost Marshall during the occupation. The Vest Mansion served as headquarters. He was a Major. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Acquisition Information:

Gifts.
Title
Guide to the David Edward Cronin's "The Vest Mansion"
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Anne Johnson.
Date
2009-10-23
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Revision Statements

  • May 12th, 2017: Accessions intellectually combined in 2009.

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: