Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Rouse, Parke Shepherd, Jr.

 Person

Found in 3 Collections and/or Records:

David Edward Cronin's "The Vest Mansion"

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.32 and Acc. 1997.11
Scope and Contents Two typescripts (copy) of David Edward Cronin's history of the occupation of Williamsburg during the Civil War entitled "The Vest Mansion, its Historical and Romantic Associations as Confederate and Union Headquarters, 1862-1865."  302 pp. Cronin served as Provost Marshall during the occupation. The Vest Mansion served as headquarters. Original is in the New-York Historical Society. Parke Rouse's pencilling of the copy is evident in the manuscript. Not to...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / David Edward Cronin's "The Vest Mansion"

Jamestown Festival Park Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.48
Scope and Contents

Scrapbooks of newsclippings and some photographs about Jamestown Festival Park beginning in 1955 for the 350th anniversary of Jamestown.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jamestown Festival Park Scrapbooks

Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 71 R75
Scope and Contents Professional and personal papers of Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. who was a newspaper writer and columnist and an author of books on Virginia. His personal correspondence covers his college years at Washington and Lee University; his years in the Navy during World War II; his early career while working in Richmond, Virginia and Newport News, Virginia; and his business affairs. His college and Navy letters include not only the letters he wrote home, but the letters he received from...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. Papers

Additional filters:

Subject
Photographs 2
Research notes 2
Authors, American--20th century 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
∨ more
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown 350th Anniversary 1
Jamestown Festival (1957) 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Newspaper columns 1
Photocopies 1
Playbills 1
Programs 1
Scrapbooks 1
Theater 1
Typescripts 1
United States. Navy--History--20th century 1
Virginia--History 1
Virginia--History--20th century 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
Virginia--Social life and customs 1
Washington and Lee University 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
∧ less